A friend of mine got this recipe while traveling in Italy. Chicken, mushrooms, and tortellini in rich cream sauce. Delicious! Serve sprinkled with parsley and cheese.

Advertisement

Ingredients

6
Original recipe yields 6 servings
The ingredient list now reflects the servings specified

Directions

  • Bring a large pot of lightly salted water to a boil. Add tortellini. Cook, stirring occasionally, until tortellini float to the top and the filling is hot, about 5 minutes. Drain.

    Advertisement
  • Heat vegetable oil in a large skillet over medium heat; cook and stir chicken breast in hot oil until no longer pink in the center, about 10 minutes. Remove from heat.

  • Melt butter in another skillet over medium heat; cook and stir mushrooms and garlic powder until mushrooms begin to soften, about 3 minutes. Stir heavy cream into mushrooms and bring to a boil. Reduce heat to medium-low and simmer until slightly thickened, about 3 minutes. Add Parmesan cheese, parsley, and salt. Continue to cook until cheese is melted, about 1 minute.

  • Stir tortellini and chicken into mushroom-cream sauce. Simmer until heated through, about 2 minutes.

Nutrition Facts

686 calories; 46.9 g total fat; 201 mg cholesterol; 843 mg sodium. 38.4 g carbohydrates; 30.2 g protein; Full Nutrition


Reviews (25)

Read More Reviews

Most helpful positive review

Rating: 5 stars
02/27/2015
Couldn't believe I could make something this good so simply. My husband "our cook" was impressed. I used coconut oil as my vegetable oil added bell peppers and used some minced jar garlic when cooking the vegetables. Seasoned the chicken with garlic powder and seasoned salt when cooking. Otherwise used this wonderful recipe as stated. We aren't on the "cream" will kill you bandwagon but cheap vegetable oils might:) Such a versatile recipe you could choose your meat veggie or pasta into many variations change up some herbs. If I could give it a 10 I would. Of course cream tastes good on a bumper. Thank You! Read More
(11)

Most helpful critical review

Rating: 3 stars
05/23/2015
nice Read More
33 Ratings
  • 5 star values: 22
  • 4 star values: 9
  • 3 star values: 1
  • 2 star values: 1
  • 1 star values: 0
Rating: 4 stars
02/26/2014
Family really liked this dish although I did sub green & red peppers for the mushrooms as we are not mushroom eaters. I had chicken in the freezer that I had diced and cooked. That worked great and helped me get the meal on the table quickly. A nice use for tortellini. Thanks Lisa for sharing your recipe. Read More
(22)
Rating: 4 stars
03/05/2014
Very easy recipe. I baked the chicken and shredded it rather than pan cook. Much more tender chicken. I substituted Shiitake mushrooms as well. Even my children liked it! Read More
(17)
Rating: 5 stars
02/27/2015
Couldn't believe I could make something this good so simply. My husband "our cook" was impressed. I used coconut oil as my vegetable oil added bell peppers and used some minced jar garlic when cooking the vegetables. Seasoned the chicken with garlic powder and seasoned salt when cooking. Otherwise used this wonderful recipe as stated. We aren't on the "cream" will kill you bandwagon but cheap vegetable oils might:) Such a versatile recipe you could choose your meat veggie or pasta into many variations change up some herbs. If I could give it a 10 I would. Of course cream tastes good on a bumper. Thank You! Read More
(11)
Advertisement
Rating: 5 stars
03/01/2015
I know do not make changes. But I used rotisserie chicken that I had and subbed in skim milk thickened with flour to reduce the calories. Also used minced garlic when sautéing the mushrooms. This was great. Will make this again. Good for lunch the next day. Yum. Read More
(7)
Rating: 4 stars
02/26/2015
Came out great I added some fresh spinach to the mushrooms and some Pecorino Romano to give the sauce a little something extra and oh man! the wife and kids loved it. Only suggestion I might make for next time is to instead of chicken use bacon or prosciutto. Read More
(5)
Rating: 4 stars
09/15/2015
I tried this awhile ago since I had all the ingredients needed. I just added onion and garlic powder and some salt on the chicken so that it won't be blant since we're dealing with chicken breast. I also made the sauce a bit salter than the normal taste because the pasta doesn't have that much taste. It was sooo gooddddd! Read More
(3)
Advertisement
Rating: 5 stars
03/05/2015
This was very good but I wish I'd have added some shallots and minced garlic to it. I did add some spinach a 10 oz bag which I wilted with the mushrooms. Good idea Cochina. Thanks Read More
(3)
Rating: 5 stars
03/01/2015
This was so easy to make and it tastes amazing! Thank you so much for sharing! Read More
(1)
Rating: 4 stars
03/10/2015
This turned out great and it was very easy to make. I just used regular fettuccine pasta instead of the cheese tortellini and I also used dried parsley flakes instead of fresh. Read More
(1)