1439 Ratings
  • 5 star values: 1107
  • 4 star values: 255
  • 3 star values: 49
  • 2 star values: 18
  • 1 star values: 10

Chicken wings are egged and fried in butter, then baked in a tangy sauce of soy sauce, water, sugar, vinegar, garlic powder and salt. Delicious, sticky chicken wings!

TLTRN
Advertisement

Ingredients

6
Original recipe yields 6 servings
The ingredient list now reflects the servings specified

SAUCE

Directions

  • Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C).

    Advertisement
  • Cut wings in half, dip in egg and coat with flour.

  • Heat butter in a large, deep skillet over medium-high heat. Fry wings until deep brown. Place in a shallow roasting pan.

  • In a small bowl combine soy sauce, water, sugar, vinegar, garlic powder and salt. Pour over wings.

  • Bake in preheated oven for 30 to 45 minutes, basting wings with sauce often.

Partner Tip

Reynolds® Aluminum foil can be used to keep food moist, cook it evenly, and make clean-up easier.

Nutrition Facts

675 calories; 44.3 g total fat; 158 mg cholesterol; 1112 mg sodium. 51.4 g carbohydrates; 18.9 g protein; Full Nutrition


Reviews (1108)

Read All Reviews

Most helpful positive review

Rating: 5 stars
02/06/2006
I oven fried my wings (seasoned them with season salt garlic and pepper) and floured them. I didnt use the egg instead after I floured them I sprayed them with pam. They came out nice and crispy I baked them at 400. After they were "fried" in the oven I added the sauce and it was perfect. Great recipe and I was glad that I was able to make them healthier by oven frying them. I will definitely make them again. Read More
(766)

Most helpful critical review

Rating: 1 stars
07/30/2007
Well i gotta tell you I was soo disappointed with the results of this. I even followed the suggestions. I halved the sugar and it just gave it an overwhelming vinegar taste which pretty much ruined it for me. I gave this a 1 because i had to but in my opinion it doesnt even deserve that. We just ended up ordering pizza which was a total bummer. Read More
(5)
1439 Ratings
  • 5 star values: 1107
  • 4 star values: 255
  • 3 star values: 49
  • 2 star values: 18
  • 1 star values: 10
Rating: 5 stars
02/06/2006
I oven fried my wings (seasoned them with season salt garlic and pepper) and floured them. I didnt use the egg instead after I floured them I sprayed them with pam. They came out nice and crispy I baked them at 400. After they were "fried" in the oven I added the sauce and it was perfect. Great recipe and I was glad that I was able to make them healthier by oven frying them. I will definitely make them again. Read More
(766)
Rating: 5 stars
09/12/2003
These are soooo good! I had a chicken wing night in which I prepared these the Restaurant-Style Buffalo Chicken Wings and the Honey Lime Chicken Wings. They all were great but these Japanese Chicken Wings were our favorite. So sweet so flavorful so crispy so moist! One word of caution... line your roasting/baking pan with sturdy aluminum foil. The sugar/vinegar sauce gets very gooey near the end of the baking portion of the recipe and can be tough to clean up. Read More
(428)
Rating: 5 stars
01/07/2004
I did not fry my wings. I baked the wings with a little seasoning salt on both sides for about 30 to 45 minutes. Then I poured the sauce on them and baked them for an add'l 30 to 45 minutes. Make sure you baste the wings w/the sauce during baking. They were EXCELLENT!! Thanks Tracy. Read More
(382)
Advertisement
Rating: 4 stars
04/09/2007
I definitely suggest making this recipe without the egg flour or frying. I don't like to fry food unless it is really necessary to improve the taste and in this case it isn't necessary and in my opinnion does not inprove taste. To make my chicken I used wings cut them up and put them in a bowl. I then poured about 1-2 teaspoons of extra virgin olive oil on them and made sure all the wings had a light coating of oil. I then placed the wigs on a broiler pan and put them in the oven (set to broil) until the wings were brown on one side and then I browned the other side. This is much faster than frying uses much less oil and is much healthier. I then put the wings in a baking dish with the sauce mixture from the recipe (I only used half a cup of sugar) and cooked them in the oven like the recipe says. This way tasted much better than frying (in my opinion). But also this way the wings are less crispy. If you want crispy wings you better fry them. Read More
(213)
Rating: 5 stars
06/06/2008
WOW this recipe is awesome. I first tried it about 3 months ago and have been making it all the time since then. I did tweak it a little though-i placed the wings in a pan and sprinkled them generously with garlic powder and paprika-then sprayed them with pam. I baked them at 375 for 35 min-then i flipped them respiced them and baked them for another 25 min. After that i poured on the sauce and baked them another 20-25 min. I find this recipe very quick and easy and it is always a hit with my guests. You wont regret trying this recipe!! Read More
(176)
Rating: 5 stars
11/13/2008
Awesome! I used only 1/2 of the sugar recipe calls for and used half white vinegar and half seasoned rice vinegar found in Asian markets. I tried 3 different cooking variations: 1)followed the recipe's cooking method using butter to fry in before putting it in the oven. This was good but I felt the butter overpowered the goodness of the sauce -btw I LOVE butter but frying the wings in butter was a step you can definitely omit and save the calories on. 2) I followed reviewers suggestions and oven-fried. I coated with egg & flour and baked @ 400 for 25 min turning once then added sauce and baked additional 30 min @ 350. This was by far the best. The skin was nice and crispy and the sauce was fabulous. 3) I coated with egg and panko flakes baked @400 for 25 turning once added sauce baked addition 30 @350. This was also good and my second favorite. the panko really soaks up the sauce and gives the wing a more sweet-sticky coat then a crispy-sticky. so it depends on your taste. For all 3 variations once the sauce was added (lined baking sheet with foil for easier cleanup) I turned the wings a few times and then removed the wings from the sauce and placed on fresh foil over baking sheet for the last 5 min.Can't wait to make it again! I forgot to add the sesame seeds like the pictures show and really wish I didn't. I'm sure the sesame seeds are a perfect touch.. Read More
(168)
Advertisement
Rating: 2 stars
10/03/2006
Sorry to have to give this one a negative rating. While the finished product looked and smelled wonderful and was relatively easy to prepare the taste was overpoweringly sweet. I should have known better but given the high ratings thought that all these reviewers can't be wrong. Some mentioned adding cayenne pepper to "balance the sweetness" but in retrospect I'm rather inclined believe that there's something a little wrong with a chicken dish that has as much sugar in it as an average dessert. Perhaps I'd use it again as an appetizer where you'd only eat one or two but as a main dish for already sugar-addicted kids I'd vote no. Read More
(159)
Rating: 5 stars
08/22/2011
Great recipe! i fried them because that's how wings should be done! If people want something healthier than type salad in the search bar! Read More
(156)
Rating: 5 stars
02/10/2004
These were FABULOUS!!!!! i did try something different though when i made this in order to at least try and cut some of the fat. Instead of frying the wings i simply washed them patted them dry seasoned and put them under the broiler. I turned them over and over again and they end up very crispy. I then drained the fat and followed by adding the sauce. With the added corn starch the sauce ends up very thick and rich Served it with coconut rice and grilled veggies. Amazing! Read More
(95)