31 Ratings
  • 5 star values: 22
  • 4 star values: 6
  • 3 star values: 2
  • 2 star values: 0
  • 1 star values: 1

Dried cranberries add a sweet tartness to chicken and vegetable salad. Makes a delightful sandwich filling too. Serve on whole wheat bread with turkey bacon.

Advertisement

Ingredients

16
Original recipe yields 16 servings
The ingredient list now reflects the servings specified

Directions

  • Mix mayonnaise, yogurt, paprika, and seasoned salt together in a bowl; fold in cranberries, celery, apple, grapes, and pecans. Stir in chicken and season with black pepper.

    Advertisement

Nutrition Facts

216 calories; 12 g total fat; 38 mg cholesterol; 411 mg sodium. 14.5 g carbohydrates; 13.5 g protein; Full Nutrition


Reviews (24)

Read All Reviews

Most helpful positive review

Rating: 5 stars
07/31/2013
I omitted the seasoned salt because I thought it would make it too salty. Right after I made it I tasted it but it was bland. BUT WAIT THERE'S MORE the trick is it needs to sit overnight. The next day it was delicious! We are at the river or lake often & you can only have cold cuts for so many days in a row. We ate this for two days on the trip and we were sad when it was gone. I made it into sandwiches and served it on raisin bread and we enjoyed it as a dip too. This is a keeper for sure! Read More
(35)

Most helpful critical review

Rating: 1 stars
05/01/2018
I made this and followed the recipe exactly. I let it sit in the fridge over night so the flavors would all meld. That did not help. I don't know how to describe the flavor other than it was not good. My husband also agreed. I can eat almost anything but this went straight into the trash. Such a lot of food to waste. Read More
31 Ratings
  • 5 star values: 22
  • 4 star values: 6
  • 3 star values: 2
  • 2 star values: 0
  • 1 star values: 1
Rating: 5 stars
07/31/2013
I omitted the seasoned salt because I thought it would make it too salty. Right after I made it I tasted it but it was bland. BUT WAIT THERE'S MORE the trick is it needs to sit overnight. The next day it was delicious! We are at the river or lake often & you can only have cold cuts for so many days in a row. We ate this for two days on the trip and we were sad when it was gone. I made it into sandwiches and served it on raisin bread and we enjoyed it as a dip too. This is a keeper for sure! Read More
(35)
Rating: 4 stars
02/19/2014
I normally don't like chicken salad and I really think we might make this again:-) Even my husband liked it - even without the pepper. We used light Miracle Whip and fat free plain yogurt two cubed chicken breasts from a left over rotisserie chicken and ripe red pear (since we did not have any grapes) and we did not have any nuts so we left them out. I can see this being very good in a whole wheat pita instead of regular sandwich bread like we did tonight. Will be using this one again. Read More
(18)
Rating: 4 stars
07/28/2013
Enjoyed the cranberries and the nuts. The tang of the yogurt can be overwhelming for someone who isn't used to subbing yogurt for mayo. Lucky for us we enjoyed it very much. Great recipe! Read More
(10)
Advertisement
Rating: 5 stars
07/10/2013
I liked the lower fat option of this recipe. Loved the salad - tasted great. Read More
(4)
Rating: 4 stars
11/30/2014
My husband and I both enjoyed this. I don't care for celery so I left it out and used extra apple in its place. Next time I would use less cranberries and more chicken. The canned chicken was easy but roasted or boiled fresh chicken might be tastier. I really liked how light this salad was and was not weighed down by a lot of mayonnaise. Read More
(4)
Rating: 5 stars
04/25/2017
Except for subbing walnuts for pecans and using cold rotisserie chicken I followed the recipe to a tee. Started chopping at 10:30 stuck it in the fridge at 11 served it to the church ladies at noon. It was widely agreed among the group that this is in fact the best chicken salad sandwich ever. I wouldn't add a thing except plenty of pita pockets. Can't wait for leftovers tomorrow! Read More
(2)
Advertisement
Rating: 5 stars
05/11/2015
Great recipe! Made this for a large group and they loved it. I left out the apples and grapes and added red onion a little cayenne powder and some horseradish! Makes a great snack on crackers too! Read More
(2)
Rating: 5 stars
07/09/2016
This chicken salad was awesome. The only change I made was to use leftover chicken. And as another reviewer said it is better left to set overnight. I loved it stuffed in a pita and if I cut the ingredients real small it is good with Ritz crackers. MY brother raves about and he would eat the whole bowl if I let him. Do not change anything with it it is good as is. Read More
(2)
Rating: 5 stars
06/13/2015
First time ever posting a rating. But this was a great recipe. Just happened to have everything. Used some Hormel chicken breasts and left over chicken breasts. Other than that don't change a thing. Read More
(1)