10 Ratings
  • 5 star values: 7
  • 4 star values: 2
  • 3 star values: 1
  • 2 star values: 0
  • 1 star values: 0

Brining a chicken with soy sauce makes a juicier and more flavorful chicken. Great for baked, grilled or fried chicken.

Advertisement

Ingredients

6
Original recipe yields 6 servings
The ingredient list now reflects the servings specified

Directions

  • Remove giblets from chicken cavity, rinse chicken inside and out.

    Advertisement
  • In a large stock pot or container, mix water, sage, celery seed, thyme, salt, sugar and soy sauce to create brine. Stir well until the sugar and salt are dissolved. Place the chicken in the brine, cover and refrigerate for at least 4 hours or overnight.

  • Remove chicken from the brine and rinse well inside and out. Sprinkle with 2 tablespoons of seasoned salt. Bake the chicken at 400 degrees F for 45 minutes.

Tips

Editor's Note: The nutrition data for this recipe includes the full amount of the brine ingredients. The actual amount of the brine consumed will vary.

Nutrition Facts

626 calories; 28.7 g total fat; 228 mg cholesterol; 14333 mg sodium. 27 g carbohydrates; 61.4 g protein; Full Nutrition


Reviews (7)

Read All Reviews

Most helpful positive review

Rating: 5 stars
08/07/2013
The brine results some very tender chicken for my dinner. Read More
(3)

Most helpful critical review

Rating: 3 stars
07/23/2014
The chicken was juicy yes. But there was no discernable flavor imparted by the brine. Full disclosure: I forgot to add the seasoned salt. But if that's the only thing that added flavor then I'd rather use a different recipe. Read More
(1)
10 Ratings
  • 5 star values: 7
  • 4 star values: 2
  • 3 star values: 1
  • 2 star values: 0
  • 1 star values: 0
Rating: 5 stars
08/07/2013
The brine results some very tender chicken for my dinner. Read More
(3)
Rating: 3 stars
07/23/2014
The chicken was juicy yes. But there was no discernable flavor imparted by the brine. Full disclosure: I forgot to add the seasoned salt. But if that's the only thing that added flavor then I'd rather use a different recipe. Read More
(1)
Rating: 5 stars
05/25/2014
I used this brine before grilling chicken halves. The meat was probably the BEST chicken I have ever grilled. Period. It was moist flavorful perfect. I brined my chicken for about 8 hours. I will definitely use this recipe again! Read More
(1)
Advertisement
Rating: 5 stars
07/06/2014
very good recipe. thanks. Read More
(1)
Rating: 5 stars
05/06/2014
I have recently discovered the value of brining chicken and my kids have also fallen in love with it. We started with a rather sweet recipe that they enjoyed but then I found this one and they equally loved it and appreciated that it wasn't as sweet as their other favorite. This will be our other go to for brine! Read More
Rating: 4 stars
08/22/2013
This was great! I decreased salt/sodium a bit & sugar due to family members with health issues - but you have to use enough to allow the flavored liquids to get into the meat. Used "Red Robin" seasoning salt for that ingredient; Used chopped celery - didn't have celery seed. I was only able to brine for 2 hrs. I did both split chicken parts & boneless/skinless chicken breasts. Conv roasted the split whole chicken; grilled the chicken breasts. Everyone loved the flavor & the juiciness. Read More
Advertisement
Rating: 5 stars
06/02/2014
We brined a large chicken and I let it sit on the fridge overnight. We split the chicken up the back and flattened it and cooked it indirect on the Webber and it was wonderful. This is the best brine that we have tried. Read More