159 Ratings
  • 5 star values: 131
  • 4 star values: 24
  • 3 star values: 3
  • 2 star values: 1
  • 1 star values: 0

This is my husband's and my favorite chicken soup, and I love that it is healthy soup.

Advertisement

Ingredients

8
Original recipe yields 8 servings
The ingredient list now reflects the servings specified

Directions

  • Combine chicken broth, onion, celery, carrots, parsley, pepper, thyme, and bay leaf in a Dutch oven; bring to a boil. Reduce heat to low; simmer until the onion and celery begin to soften, 10 to 15 minutes. Stir chicken into the simmering broth; cook until the chicken is no longer pink in the middle, 5 to 10 minutes. Remove and discard bay leaf. Stir rice and lime juice into the broth; cook and stir just until rice is hot and grains separate, about 1 minute. Garnish with lime slices.

    Advertisement

Partner Tip

Reynolds® Aluminum foil can be used to keep food moist, cook it evenly, and make clean-up easier.

Nutrition Facts

167 calories; 2.8 g total fat; 22 mg cholesterol; 998 mg sodium. 18.3 g carbohydrates; 16.1 g protein; Full Nutrition


Reviews (128)

Read All Reviews

Most helpful positive review

Rating: 5 stars
04/01/2013
This recipe is awesome! I used a bit more rice than the recipe called for and to make! it had great flavor and so easy Read More
(45)

Most helpful critical review

Rating: 2 stars
12/31/2018
I hate to be a party pooper but this recipe did not live up to my great expectations based on the reviews. I followed it exactly for 4 servings except adding a cup of hot water since chicken broth is usually only sold in 32oz cartons which is 4 cups and recipe asked for 5 cups or 40oz. I just considered it a low sodium option and added a bit more salt rice and veggies to compensate. I used rainbow carrots which made the soup pink because of the purple carrots but I don't think my changes were drastic enough to mask the core flavor of the soup which should have stood out to me right away. I thought it strange that the recipe didn't even indicate adding "salt and pepper to taste " which rendered it bland and utterly tasteless. I added some Indian cayenne and lots of garlic salt and pepper and it was still just ok. I thought the lime was overpowering so took out the slices of garnish. I've had pho so it reminded me of a wipipo version of that which was strange. I've been making tons of recipes from Allrecipes but I was actually embarrassed to share my soup with anyone this time. Anyway just wanted to give my honest opinion. Read More
(1)
159 Ratings
  • 5 star values: 131
  • 4 star values: 24
  • 3 star values: 3
  • 2 star values: 1
  • 1 star values: 0
Rating: 5 stars
04/01/2013
This recipe is awesome! I used a bit more rice than the recipe called for and to make! it had great flavor and so easy Read More
(45)
Rating: 4 stars
03/14/2013
This is a great recipe. The favor is light and good. I added 1/2 teaspoon of basil (the taste is sweeter). I made my own chicken stock (see all recipes). Because I made my own stock I added 1 teaspoon of salt. My family loves this recipe! Read More
(29)
Rating: 5 stars
12/18/2013
GREAT recipe. I also make my own chicken broth so I added a teaspoon of Old Bay seasoning. Because I was taking this to a soup & bread meal I doubled the recipe and it was perfect for feeding a crowd of hungry Lutherans! Thanks for sharing! Read More
(18)
Advertisement
Rating: 5 stars
01/04/2015
I've made a resolution to stop wasting so much food this year. We had chicken and rice for dinner so a quick search led me to this recipe to use the leftovers in. The soup looks and smells great and was so quick and easy to make being the chicken was pre-cooked. Some quick packaging in mason jars will make for tasty grab and go work lunches this week. Thanks for a great recipe! Read More
(12)
Rating: 5 stars
11/03/2015
Used this as the basis for a pot of "gotta use what I got in the pantry" soup for my ailing mother who said "We'll not be buying chicken and rice soup anymore - this is MUCH better than any can!" Not much more to say is there? Thanks for the recipe AND for helping to make my mom feel a bit better! Read More
(10)
Rating: 5 stars
12/08/2014
I have to say that the ingredients in this recipe are so easy that I really thought that it would end up being just blah like the hundreds of other chicken soup recipes that I've tried that never taste just quite right. This was really good though even my kids liked it which is a miracle! Nice flavor that wasn't too much of this or that and it seems to be a great base if you want to add other stuff to your preference as well. I love that it has simple pronounceable ingredients so that it can be all organic if you so choose. Thanks for sharing! Read More
(9)
Advertisement
Rating: 4 stars
04/19/2015
This recipe is delicious and healthy. I make my own broth boiling the chicken in water and adding onion celery and fresh thyme sprigs. I strain the broth for use in this soup. I added l lb. chicken (boneless breasts) and 3 cups rice because we like more of both. I used fresh bay leaves (3 instead of 1). I also added 1/2 tsp ground sea salt because I felt the flavors needed to stand out more. This is light enough for a fresh summer meal as well as a cold winter night. Enjoy... and thanks for the recipe!!! Read More
(6)
Rating: 5 stars
09/21/2014
I like this soup because it is really healthy - all the ingredients are organic (it is difficult to buy not organic rice or onion) it is fast and delicious. I recommend this soup for everybody who likes healthy and tasty food! Read More
(5)
Rating: 5 stars
10/26/2015
Quick and easy Perfect for when everyone starts getting the colds and the weather starts to turn yucky. If you double the recipe it feeds a family of 5 with enough for everyone to have seconds and some for lunch the next day. Very tasty! Read More
(4)