55 Ratings
  • 5 Rating Star 36
  • 4 Rating Star 12
  • 3 Rating Star 3
  • 1 Rating Star 2
  • 2 Rating Star 2

A special popover recipe to serve at your next brunch. Eggy and rich but not too sweet and quite impressive, but simple. Please try the lemon juice and powdered sugar on the top. It really adds to the total flavor!

prep:
10 mins
cook:
30 mins
total:
40 mins
Servings:
6
Max Servings:
6
Advertisement

Ingredients

Directions

  • Preheat oven to 375 degrees F (190 degrees C).

  • Put a piece of butter into each of 6 large muffin cups.

  • Put muffin tin in preheated oven until butter melts, about 5 minutes. Set aside.

  • Beat milk, eggs, 1/4 cup sugar, and vanilla together in a large bowl. Whisk flour into the milk mixture until you have a batter. Divide batter between muffin cups. Drop even amounts of blueberries into each batter portion. Stir 1 tablespoon sugar and cinnamon together in a small bowl; sprinkle evenly over the batter portions.

  • Bake in preheated oven for 5 minutes. Reduce heat to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C) and continue baking until popovers are no longer moist in the center, about 25 minutes. Dust tops of popovers with confectioners' sugar. Squeeze lemon juice over popovers. Serve warm.

Nutrition Facts

258.44 calories; 6.8 g protein; 36.13 g carbohydrates; 1.09 g dietary-fiber; 18.88 g sugars; 9.82 g fat; 5.22 g saturated-fat; 112.33 mg cholesterol; 349.81 IU vitamin-a-iu; 3.01 mg niacin-equivalents; 0.07 mg vitamin-b6; 4.64 mg vitamin-c; 53.84 mcg folate; 69.36 mg calcium; 1.51 mg iron; 13.28 mg magnesium; 137.28 mg potassium; 92.93 mg sodium; 0.2 mg thiamin; 88.38 calories-from-fat; 55 percent-of-calories-from-carbs; 33 percent-of-calories-from-fat; 10 percent-of-calories-from-protein; 17 percent-of-calories-from-sat-fat


Reviews (49)

Read All Reviews

Most helpful positive review

Anonymous
08/09/2014
After reading previous tips this recipe actually serves 12 so I divided the butter into fourth's (cause I just couldn't make myself put in that much butter) and put one in each cup and only filled each tin 1/2 way. I did not think it was too eggy. Thought it was very similar to a mini version of German Oven Pancake. I opted not to do the cinnamon sugar topping but will try next time. I also by accident baked it at 375 the whole time which I think helped it not be as runny as others had mentioned. Turned out beautifully and tasted yummy! I'm keeping it in my recipe file.:)
(32)

Most helpful critical review

Anonymous
07/14/2015
Way too much butter for the bottom of the muffing cups! I would use half the amount recommended. Mine deflated immediately then stuck to the bottom of the pan because of the cinnamon sugar mix. Not doing this again! Too many other good popover recipes available that are far less work and turn out nicer. They tasted eggy as described by some of the other reviewers.
55 Ratings
  • 5 Rating Star 36
  • 4 Rating Star 12
  • 3 Rating Star 3
  • 1 Rating Star 2
  • 2 Rating Star 2
Anonymous
08/09/2014
After reading previous tips this recipe actually serves 12 so I divided the butter into fourth's (cause I just couldn't make myself put in that much butter) and put one in each cup and only filled each tin 1/2 way. I did not think it was too eggy. Thought it was very similar to a mini version of German Oven Pancake. I opted not to do the cinnamon sugar topping but will try next time. I also by accident baked it at 375 the whole time which I think helped it not be as runny as others had mentioned. Turned out beautifully and tasted yummy! I'm keeping it in my recipe file.:)
(32)
Anonymous
08/15/2014
I'm 13 and this was very fun to make i made for my brother and i and we put maple syrup with it and didn't put lemon on it though. this was so easy to make! but I'm thinking next time instead for sprinkling the cinnamon and the sugar I'm going to mix it in the batter so that i can get more of an cinnamony taste. defiantly going to make this agian!
(27)
lutzflcat
07/01/2014
I've never had a popover with fruit in it before and these were a bit heavier in texture than I expected. They fell almost immediately after taking out of the oven and maybe that's what they're supposed to do just don't know. They rose VERY high in the oven and I almost wondered if this should have been 8 popovers instead of 6. The muffin cups were filled right up to the top of the pan. They are not the prettiest popovers I've ever had they're definitely eggy but they are tasty and very easy to make.
(24)
Anonymous
08/06/2014
In liked these. I used grandmother's old large square shaped muffin pan so only put butter in every other square then filled those six with the batter. Had not thawed my blueberries so I may next time but these were still very good popovers. Mine did not collapse and I followed recipe exactly even to the fresh lemon juice and powdered sugar. Served warm with Irish Tea and they were excellent.
(6)
BOOKIE
07/14/2014
I liked these but will probably play with it or choose another recipe next time. I only added 1T sugar to the batter & that was enough. 'Didn't do the cinnamon & sugar & confec after - just the confec sugar about 1T. The recipe seemed off temperature-wise according to experience & other recipes for popovers. I really like popovers. These didn't look like a hot air balloon but they did "pop " but immediately deflated. I'm blaming the blueberries. No biggie. Anyone who hadn't had popovers before wouldn't know & they're still good. This made twelve regular size muffin-tin size. Huh?:D I divided the 3T butter among the 12 & they weren't totally stick-free but close.:)
(5)
Anonymous
09/09/2014
My son is lactose intolerant so I used coconut oil instead of butter and almond/coconut milk instead of whole milk. The changes I believe gave it a wonderful flavor! They did fall as soon as they came out of the oven and they stuck to my pan more then I thought they would making them not very pretty to serve. Wonderful flavor will try to repeat and modify to get better results.
(5)
Anonymous
05/12/2013
I have to agree with the other reviewer on this recipe. It was very easy which made a nice Mother's Day breakfast but they were pretty eggy. I understand that with three eggs they're going to be eggy but I just felt like they could use a little more sweetness in them. I used some melted butter and the remaining cinnamon sugar mixture and poured that over the top of them once I plated them and that did make them pretty sweet. For next time I thought about using two eggs and then putting some vanilla flavored coffee creamer and a few spices incorporated into the batter like nutmeg and cinnamon sugar and instead of using white sugar maybe brown sugar. I'm not sure. I'm not saying this is a bad recipe at all because it's not I just would prefer a little less egg texture and a little more sweetness. With some tinkering around I think this could be wonderful.
(5)
Anonymous
03/11/2018
Delicious great alternative for pancakes...and quicker! The recipe definitely makes 12 if using a regular muffin tray not 6. I used frozen blueberries (thawed) and drizzled syrup when they were done. As they pop over in the pan the butter does drip over the sides so I used a tray to catch underneath. Don t be afraid to really whip your batter this is very similar to a Dutch Baby/German pancake...if the flour isn t really whipped in they won t rise as high and will be heavier.
(4)
Anonymous
05/14/2015
Love this recipe! The only thing I will do next time is spray the bottom of my tin before putting the butter in as my popovers stuck to the bottom. Will definitely make these again!
(4)