This is our busy family's go-to recipe for delicious chicken meat that can be used to make enchiladas, tacos, burritos, nachos, even over rice and beans. So easy to prepare, and the enchilada sauce is to die for. I normally put this together at lunch and serve it after work. Use in your favorite Mexican recipes. Pork or beef can be substituted for the chicken.

Advertisement

Ingredients

10
Original recipe yields 10 servings
The ingredient list now reflects the servings specified

Directions

  • Blend chicken broth, tomatoes, chili powder, flour, garlic, cumin, oregano, salt, and cayenne pepper in a blender until smooth.

    Advertisement
  • Put chicken breast in bottom of a slow cooker; pour blended enchilada sauce over the chicken.

  • Cook on Low 8 to 9 hours (or 4 to 6 hours on High). Shred the chicken with 2 large forks and stir into the sauce.

Partner Tip

Try using a Reynolds® slow cooker liner in your slow cooker for easier cleanup.

Nutrition Facts

93 calories; 1.8 g total fat; 23 mg cholesterol; 359 mg sodium. 8.8 g carbohydrates; 10.4 g protein; Full Nutrition


Reviews (58)

Read More Reviews

Most helpful positive review

Rating: 5 stars
07/17/2013
I substituted a can of RoTel tomatoes and chilis for the diced tomatoes and added a can (undiluted) of cream of chicken soup and a small can of minced green chilis (drained). Loved it! Read More
(36)

Most helpful critical review

Rating: 1 stars
02/06/2017
Did not like flavor was way too overpowering with chili powder. Won't make again. Read More
(1)
72 Ratings
  • 5 star values: 41
  • 4 star values: 22
  • 3 star values: 5
  • 2 star values: 1
  • 1 star values: 3
Rating: 4 stars
08/19/2012
Not bad. The chicken turns out very tender. The sauce is ok but not my favorite. Next I will cook the chicken in green chile sauce. I bet that will be even better. Read More
(38)
Rating: 5 stars
07/17/2013
I substituted a can of RoTel tomatoes and chilis for the diced tomatoes and added a can (undiluted) of cream of chicken soup and a small can of minced green chilis (drained). Loved it! Read More
(36)
Rating: 5 stars
11/09/2012
Great recipe will use again! Read More
(24)
Advertisement
Rating: 5 stars
02/02/2014
My husband and I loved this recipe. Great filling for enchiladas. I used rotel tomatoes and chilis instead of tomatoes as that is what I had at home. I wanted a extra sauce so I used 3 chicken breasts but kept the other ingredients the same as written. After cooking the chicken in the slow cooker I rolled it in 10-10 inch tortillas placed them in a casserole dish poured the additional sauce over top covered with foil and baked at 375 for about 40 mins. Next time though I need to remember to save some of the sauce to the side before shredding the chicken and adding it back to the crockpot. We love cumin probably my favorite spice so I enjoyed the flavor and did not find it too overwhelming. Will definitely make again. Read More
(23)
Rating: 4 stars
04/10/2013
I made this even easier and faster by substituting taco seasoning for the spices. It was quite yummy in my enchiladas tonight. Served it to friends and everyone loved it. Read More
(12)
Rating: 4 stars
09/15/2012
This was easy and pretty good but I think the cumin was a little strong for our taste. It saved well and I used it to make a corn tortilla layered casserole. I added black olives shredded monterey jack and baked for 30minutes at 350 degrees. Topped with a tiny bit of sour cream and salsa and my husband loved it. Read More
(10)
Advertisement
Rating: 5 stars
02/04/2014
This was delicious! I am so happy to know how to make enchilada sauce now. I accidentally forgot the cayenne but it was spicy enough for our mid-west pallets. I did and a can of green chiles. Turned into great enchiladas. Read More
(9)
Rating: 4 stars
11/09/2013
easy and a lot yummier than canned enchilada sauces! i substituted chili powder with chipotle chili powder and added a can of fire roasted green chilies 1 large diced red pepper and a small bag of frozen corn. low for 8 hours really let the flavors develop and the chicken shredded easily. this made about 12 (large) enchiladas so I had enough leftover to freeze. I think the filling would have frozen nicely even without wrapping it in tortillas first. good recipe! Read More
(8)
Rating: 3 stars
09/18/2012
We enjoyed meal but it wasn't our favorite. Rolled up tortilla with meat mixture and melted cheese on top. Not sure if I would make again and will look for another recipe. Read More
(6)