Delicious white bean chili. Cha Cha says: 'It's kinda spicy, so watch out!' Substitute mild green chiles for the jalapenos if you're scared! Use more chicken and cheese as desired.

Cathy
Advertisement

Ingredients

4
Original recipe yields 4 servings
The ingredient list now reflects the servings specified

Directions

  • Heat the oil in a large saucepan over medium-low heat. Slowly cook and stir the onion until tender. Mix in the garlic, jalapeno, green chile peppers, cumin, oregano and cayenne. Continue to cook and stir the mixture until tender, about 3 minutes. Mix in the chicken broth, chicken and white beans. Simmer 15 minutes, stirring occasionally.

    Advertisement
  • Remove the mixture from heat. Slowly stir in the cheese until melted. Serve warm.

Partner Tip

Reynolds® Aluminum foil can be used to keep food moist, cook it evenly, and make clean-up easier.

Nutrition Facts

684 calories; 16.8 g total fat; 102 mg cholesterol; 1896 mg sodium. 74.9 g carbohydrates; 59.1 g protein; Full Nutrition


Reviews (1806)

Read More Reviews

Most helpful positive review

Rating: 5 stars
01/28/2007
This is a great recipe. Based on my preferences and from previous feedback I made some modifications. My husband and I like spicy food but I found this recipe as is is a little too spicy. I only use a 1/2 of the jalapeños and cayenne pepper. I use 2 cans of the green chilies. I wanted my chili a little thicker so I pureed one can of the white beans and only used 2 cups of chicken broth. I also added a can of black beans and a can of corn. And finally since the cheese adds a lot of fat rather than mixing it all in I just sprinkle a little on top before eating. This is really delicious. Everyone I serve it too raves about it. Read More
(998)

Most helpful critical review

Rating: 1 stars
02/28/2014
Way way way too spicy. Read More
(3)
2346 Ratings
  • 5 star values: 1741
  • 4 star values: 477
  • 3 star values: 91
  • 2 star values: 28
  • 1 star values: 9
Rating: 5 stars
01/28/2007
This is a great recipe. Based on my preferences and from previous feedback I made some modifications. My husband and I like spicy food but I found this recipe as is is a little too spicy. I only use a 1/2 of the jalapeños and cayenne pepper. I use 2 cans of the green chilies. I wanted my chili a little thicker so I pureed one can of the white beans and only used 2 cups of chicken broth. I also added a can of black beans and a can of corn. And finally since the cheese adds a lot of fat rather than mixing it all in I just sprinkle a little on top before eating. This is really delicious. Everyone I serve it too raves about it. Read More
(998)
Rating: 4 stars
09/10/2003
We loved this recipe but it is soooooo hot! Per a previous review I cut down to 2 cans of beans and only used 1/4 tsp of cayene pepper and added some sour cream to cool it down but still...HOT! I will make again but I will eliminate the jalapeno peppers altogether (I'm not a huge fan of them anyways) cut the cumin down to 1 tsp and omit all cayenne pepper. Really the taste is fabulous...if your not weak of tongue. I was practically sweating just eating a bowl! Still will make again with my alterations. Read More
(449)
Rating: 5 stars
02/18/2009
First of all Excellent the tase is quite unique. Two helpful hints. I put everything together before I even turned on the flame on my big pot. Also I put the cheese in last so that it would not burn on the bottom of the pot. Made it both ways and frankly both ways turned out the same with the surprise when you eat it the next day. WOW! Read More
(362)
Advertisement
Rating: 5 stars
06/09/2008
I added a can of corn used a can of cream of chicken in place of one can of chicken broth used all mild green chilies instead of jalapenos (it came out perfectly spiced) and threw everything into the crockpot on high for 4 hours. I hand-shredded the chicken at the end and put it back in. Delicious! Oh and I also pureed one can of the white beans and that really helped to thicken things up. Read More
(304)
Rating: 5 stars
12/29/2003
This chili is outstanding. My husband isn't a big fan of chili so I thought maybe a white chicken chili would interest him instead. Ten bowls later I can assure you he (and everyone else) loves it! Serve with a dollop of sour cream and a scoop of salsa on top...it tastes great once it's stirred in. But be careful if you don't like hot foods or are serving to people who don't. It is considerably hot (and this is coming from someone who eats jalapenos out of the jar wasabi with a spoon and puts cayenne pepper in her green bean casserole). Cool it off with less jalapenos (replace with mild green chiles) if you need to. I also like to serve this chili over a serving of rice (sounds strange but it's really really good!). Read More
(174)
Rating: 5 stars
01/11/2004
OH MY GOSH! This was great!!! I used skinless boneless chicken tenders instead of the cooked chicken. I sauted them until they were no longer pink then added the onions fresh garlic chiles and spices to the same saute pan...Then I dumped everything into a big stew pot and simmered it for an hour or so. I also added about 2 tsps of Chili Powder and substituted shredded Colby/Jack cheese...This recipe got rave reviews from everyone! I served it with warm flour tortillas and a huge salad. YUM! Will make this again!. Read More
(102)
Advertisement
Rating: 5 stars
01/08/2007
This soup is nothing short of awesome. My husband raved about this soup for 2 days. I did brown the cooked chicken w/ the onions didn't have white beans just used 1 can navy beans & 1 can dark red kidney beans added some frozen corn and 1 can of cream of chicken. Then since it was EXTREMELY spicy (quite a kick) and sort of thin I added some diced potatoes to absorb some of the broth and "kick". My husband was getting it out of the pot before I even added the cheese which I'm sure is just as good sprinkled on top later. This recipe really surprised me on how it tasted like something you would get @ a pricey restaurant. It smells really good when cooking and would be an awesome soup to serve @ a party (and impress your guests). Way to go! Read More
(73)
Rating: 5 stars
10/16/2002
This is the BEST chili! By far my new favorite. It's the perfect amount of spice very warm! I used pepperjack cheese and replaced 1 can of white beans with black beans. I added 1/2 c. sour cream at the end and topped with tomatoes. This is absolutely wonderful chili thanks for a GREAT recipe! Read More
(68)
Rating: 5 stars
06/04/2006
This is SO good! I just made it and am waiting for my husband to get home; if he doesn't hurry it will be too late.:-) We like hot spicey foods but we don't like it so overpowering that the heat takes over the flavor. SO! I used only 2 tablespoons of the jalapenos and chopped them up very finely so they would be well-distributed throughout the dish. I also used 1/4 tsp of cayenne pepper. This is perfect seasoning for us. I also only put in one can of chicken broth on the advice of other reviewers and I added a 4th can of beans to thicken it up a bit. Thank you Cathy! It is great! Read More
(60)