I hate Brussels sprouts, but love this recipe! Brussels sprouts with grapes, green onions and garlic will make you shout 'Gobble gobble!' at first bite!

Advertisement

Ingredients

5
Original recipe yields 5 servings
The ingredient list now reflects the servings specified

Directions

  • Place the Brussels sprouts, water and salt in a medium saucepan and bring to a boil. Boil 10 minutes, or until sprouts are tender but firm.

    Advertisement
  • Over medium low heat in a large saucepan, mix the olive oil, garlic and green onions. Slowly cook and stir 5 minutes, until the green onions are soft. Mix in the Brussels sprouts, grapes and butter. Cover and simmer 20 minutes.

Nutrition Facts

310 calories; 20.9 g total fat; 24 mg cholesterol; 592 mg sodium. 29.4 g carbohydrates; 8.2 g protein; Full Nutrition


Reviews (30)

Read More Reviews

Most helpful positive review

Rating: 5 stars
10/26/2010
This was fabulous! All of my family loved it. Just a couple of tweaks; I used frozen Brussel Sprouts and let them thaw in the fridge. They were just right for tossing in without the boiling stage (big time saver) plus they're smaller so no need to slice into halves and they were a nice size with the large red grapes. I also followed the advice of another review and used walnuts (large chop) at the very end just before serving EXCELLENT touch! I used jar chopped garlic and since there were no green onions in the house I used chives from the garden. I let mine sit long enough to get a bit of a carmelized effect on the sprouts for huge flavor. This was the best you just have to be brave and give it a go. Read More
(18)

Most helpful critical review

Rating: 1 stars
07/23/2009
Wow sorry Honeywoman.... Not good in any way just weird and strange. And I really thought "how could it be bad with green onions garlic and butter....". Well it was. Read More
38 Ratings
  • 5 star values: 16
  • 4 star values: 14
  • 3 star values: 5
  • 2 star values: 2
  • 1 star values: 1
Rating: 4 stars
10/24/2003
A great recipe but I found you can cut out most of the butter to reduce fat and still maintain the great flavours. Read More
(28)
Rating: 4 stars
12/30/2007
What a nice change from the usual brussels sprouts with bacon! I sliced mine in half and boiled them for about 10 mins but will shorten that for next time since I like them a little more crisp. I used red grapes garlic less butter and olive oil and omitted the onions. I sprinkled a little parmesan and bread crumbs before serving but I think next time I'll try some goat cheese or gorgonzola. Last week I had dinner at a Lebanese restaurant in NY and one of our appetizers was this dish! They used green grapes and it was also delicious. However I believe the restaurant's version was oven-roasted and there was a cheese sprinkled on top if I remember correctly. I will definitely make this one again! Read More
(26)
Rating: 5 stars
10/26/2010
This was fabulous! All of my family loved it. Just a couple of tweaks; I used frozen Brussel Sprouts and let them thaw in the fridge. They were just right for tossing in without the boiling stage (big time saver) plus they're smaller so no need to slice into halves and they were a nice size with the large red grapes. I also followed the advice of another review and used walnuts (large chop) at the very end just before serving EXCELLENT touch! I used jar chopped garlic and since there were no green onions in the house I used chives from the garden. I let mine sit long enough to get a bit of a carmelized effect on the sprouts for huge flavor. This was the best you just have to be brave and give it a go. Read More
(18)
Advertisement
Rating: 2 stars
02/10/2005
Hmm... although my husband liked it this will not be a "do over". There's a time and a place for brussel sprouts and grapes but the same pot is not it. To put it another way... I like chocolate and I also like niblet corn but I'm not going to cook them together either. Read More
(8)
Rating: 4 stars
09/25/2003
This is great tasting - even for those who don't like Brussel Sprouts. My 2 year old liked it especially the grapes! Read More
(8)
Rating: 5 stars
09/26/2003
This is the first time I have been able to get the bitter taste out of brussels sprouts. A totally fantastic recipe. I almost ate the whole pan myself! Read More
(6)
Advertisement
Rating: 3 stars
10/12/2010
This was good but a little heavy on the fat side. The garlic is the predominant flavour here along with the butter. The grapes realy balance this vegetable dish. I thought it was so odd I had to try it. I served it at our Thanksgiving dinner and had surprised reviews on it...from Wow gapes and brussel Sprouts..to...I don' like brussel sprouts but this is interesting. It was a fun dish to serve. I bet it wd taste even better with a little lemon juice. I would do it again...but I would like to experiment with another recipe for brussel sprouts until I find the perfet combination of spices for these little baby cabbages!! Read More
(6)
Rating: 4 stars
02/03/2004
I made this recipe for the first time and took it to a holiday party. It was well-liked everyone wanted the recipe. I didn't use any butter but did add more olive oil. Read More
(4)
Rating: 5 stars
08/12/2010
Thought this recipe would be wierd but it was great. We both love brussel sprouts and grapes but couldn't imagine them together. I used some white onions and omitted the butter. The results were great. I'll definitely make again. Read More
(4)