Popular within the sailing community, the dark 'n' stormy is also the national drink of Bermuda. The simple mixture of dark rum and ginger beer makes for a great cocktail in any weather.

Recipe Summary

prep:
5 mins
total:
5 mins
Servings:
1
Yield:
1 cocktail
Advertisement

Ingredients

1
Original recipe yields 1 servings
The ingredient list now reflects the servings specified
Ingredient Checklist

Directions

Instructions Checklist
  • Combine rum and ginger beer in an old-fashioned glass. Add ice and stir.

    Advertisement

Editor's Note:

For a true Bermudan experience, look for Gosling's Black Seal® rum.

Nutrition Facts

180 calories; proteing; carbohydrates 13.2g 4% DV; fatg; cholesterolmg; sodium 6mg. Full Nutrition

Reviews (31)

Read More Reviews

Most helpful positive review

Rating: 5 stars
07/20/2012
I used a good local beer in this cocktail, Appalachian Ginger Beer. One of the best goshdarn cocktails I've had in a LONG time. This might just be my new favorite drinks. Read More
(41)

Most helpful critical review

Rating: 3 stars
03/07/2016
I used Myers dark rum (arguably the best) and Bundaberg ginger beer (you can get it at World Market). Not bad. Moscow Mule is better. I can find better uses for ginger beer and rum. Read More
(3)
37 Ratings
  • 5 star values: 28
  • 4 star values: 5
  • 3 star values: 2
  • 2 star values: 1
  • 1 star values: 1
Rating: 5 stars
07/20/2012
I used a good local beer in this cocktail, Appalachian Ginger Beer. One of the best goshdarn cocktails I've had in a LONG time. This might just be my new favorite drinks. Read More
(41)
Rating: 5 stars
08/29/2013
Be sure it's GOSLINGS dark rum not just any dark rum! Read More
(16)
Rating: 5 stars
07/17/2012
Simple yet delicious! Read More
(9)
Advertisement
Rating: 4 stars
02/15/2015
I use Goslings Rum then I squeeze some fresh lime over the rum and ice.. I add the ginger beer shake and stir serve over fresh ice...and one more squeeze of lime...but the real way to make it look "dark n stormy " is to pour the ginger beer over the ice then pour the rum it creates a dark cloud.... It looks cool but the first sip is all rum.. Read More
(6)
Rating: 5 stars
11/16/2013
Please take the advice about using Gosling's Black Seal Rum and Gosling's Ginger Beer. This is a great drink with the proper ingredients. It is one of my favorites. Read More
(5)
Rating: 5 stars
02/05/2013
This drink starts out with a wallop then grows on you! It's delicious --as my friend Ann said "a good sipping cocktail." And such an attractive drink too! Read More
(4)
Advertisement
Rating: 5 stars
03/01/2013
This recipe deserves a 5 star rating if you use Gosling's Black Seal Rum (80 proof). I was introduced to this delicious cocktail many years ago when I vacationed in Bermuda and it is my favorite adult beverage. Read More
(4)
Rating: 3 stars
03/07/2016
I used Myers dark rum (arguably the best) and Bundaberg ginger beer (you can get it at World Market). Not bad. Moscow Mule is better. I can find better uses for ginger beer and rum. Read More
(3)
Rating: 5 stars
11/19/2015
Fantastic I am so hooked on this one its a race between Grey Goose Dirty martini's and this Read More
(2)