Great with tortilla chips. Serve chilled.

Recipe Summary

prep:
15 mins
additional:
1 hr
total:
1 hr 15 mins
Servings:
10
Yield:
10 servings
Advertisement

Ingredients

10
Original recipe yields 10 servings
The ingredient list now reflects the servings specified
Ingredient Checklist

Directions

Instructions Checklist
  • Mix black beans, corn, red onion, salsa, olive oil, cilantro, garlic, lemon juice, vinegar, cumin, salt, and black pepper in a large bowl. Cover and refrigerate at least 1 hour to 2 days. Serve chilled.

    Advertisement

Nutrition Facts

221 calories; protein 6.9g; carbohydrates 25.3g; fat 11.6g; sodium 805.2mg. Full Nutrition
Advertisement

Reviews (65)

Read More Reviews

Most helpful positive review

Rating: 5 stars
06/11/2012
I used organic black beans and organic canned corn that I rinsed and drained really well before using in this recipe. I cut way back on the cilantro because I had homemade salsa that already had a whole bunch in it. Instead of lemon juice, I used fresh lime juice. Other than that, I kept every thing else the same. This is FABULOUS. I literally could not stop eating it. My oldest son and husband also really liked it, too though my husband did say that he would enjoy this more if he could scoop it up with tortilla chips! Very VERY good. Read More
(62)

Most helpful critical review

Rating: 3 stars
02/09/2014
I thought this recipe was okay but like many reviewers I didn't like so much oil. What I did was to substitute the oil with a half cup of Bolthouse Ranch dressing (only 45 calories for 2 T. Yogurt based found in the refrigerated case at stores). I used 1 can of black beans plus the can of corn and 1 cup of chopped red onions 1/4 cup chopped fresh cilantro coarse ground pepper and 1/4 cup of grated Parmesan cheese. Sometimes I add a cup of jicama chopped for crunch and 1 cup of quartered grape or cherry tomatoes when in season. A squeeze of fresh lime juice and refrigerate. I do not add the garlic and salsa. Read More
(5)
92 Ratings
  • 5 star values: 68
  • 4 star values: 20
  • 3 star values: 2
  • 2 star values: 2
  • 1 star values: 0
Rating: 5 stars
06/11/2012
I used organic black beans and organic canned corn that I rinsed and drained really well before using in this recipe. I cut way back on the cilantro because I had homemade salsa that already had a whole bunch in it. Instead of lemon juice, I used fresh lime juice. Other than that, I kept every thing else the same. This is FABULOUS. I literally could not stop eating it. My oldest son and husband also really liked it, too though my husband did say that he would enjoy this more if he could scoop it up with tortilla chips! Very VERY good. Read More
(62)
Rating: 5 stars
07/04/2012
I liked this recipe but did make a few changes. I decreased olive oil to about 3 tablespoons vs 1/2 cup and used juice of 1 lime vs the lemon. I also added a diced a red pepper a hot pepper and a hint of sugar. I think once it is chilled it will taste even better! So easy! Read More
(43)
Rating: 4 stars
11/06/2012
We really liked this but I used just half the amount of olive oil called for. Also while I did have it sitting out for me to use it was only after I had made the salad that I noticed I forgot to add the salsa. No matter - it was light and delicious without. Read More
(30)
Advertisement
Rating: 5 stars
06/02/2013
Yummy! Headed to a potluck event and pondering thoughts of what dish would hold up and be yummy at the same time. This one works with the assistance of some tweaking. I added one fresh tomato chopped, an English cucumber, chopped and made fresh salsa. FRESH SALSA: One can of stewed tomatoes, half jalapeno,two cloves garlic, 2 Tablespoons of chopped onion, a couple of Tablespoons of cilantro and a dash of salt.Make sure you use stew tomatoes. They add a touch of sweetness. The fresh salsa makes this dish taste really good. Did not add the extra garlic to the salad recipe since it is in the homemade salsa. Read More
(20)
Rating: 5 stars
06/19/2012
I like to brown cumin in a skillet first and use fresh cooked or freezer corn. This dish is amazing w/ a chip on fish tacos chicken or just by itself! Thank you for your share I lost my original recipe which was very similar. Read More
(12)
Rating: 5 stars
08/29/2012
this is fantastic with shrimp added and served over a bed of lettuce and a squeeze of lime juice Read More
(11)
Advertisement
Rating: 5 stars
07/05/2012
The spicy black bean salad was a great success. I used the the not salsa and gave it a real spicy taste. It is a good side dish to add to your menu especially when you have guest who are vegetarian or vegan. It is a good summer salad and not difficult to make. It will be used again this summer. Read More
(10)
Rating: 5 stars
08/13/2012
excellent. I added bell pepper and I couldn't stop eating it. Best if chilled for 4-5 hours. Read More
(10)
Rating: 4 stars
01/03/2013
I tried this recipe as is and it was great! I really like different kinds of beans so the next time I made it I used white beans and pinto beans in addition to the black beans. Like many of the reviews I used less olive oil than the 1/2c called for. I love red onions but the second time I did not use a whole onion as I felt a whole onion was a little over-powering. Great recipe though. I count calories so the only thing that was unclear to me is what serving size is. Read More
(9)
Rating: 3 stars
02/09/2014
I thought this recipe was okay but like many reviewers I didn't like so much oil. What I did was to substitute the oil with a half cup of Bolthouse Ranch dressing (only 45 calories for 2 T. Yogurt based found in the refrigerated case at stores). I used 1 can of black beans plus the can of corn and 1 cup of chopped red onions 1/4 cup chopped fresh cilantro coarse ground pepper and 1/4 cup of grated Parmesan cheese. Sometimes I add a cup of jicama chopped for crunch and 1 cup of quartered grape or cherry tomatoes when in season. A squeeze of fresh lime juice and refrigerate. I do not add the garlic and salsa. Read More
(5)
Advertisement