48 Ratings
  • 5 star values: 39
  • 4 star values: 4
  • 2 star values: 3
  • 1 star values: 1
  • 3 star values: 1

A new twist for mashed potatoes. I usually add a dash of onion and garlic powder. I also do a taste test prior to baking to see if they need more salt. Potatoes are combined with cream cheese, sour cream, chives, butter, and paprika...Delicious!!

Advertisement

Ingredients

8
Original recipe yields 8 servings
The ingredient list now reflects the servings specified

Directions

  • Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C).

    Advertisement
  • Place potatoes in a large pot of water. Bring to a boil, then reduce heat to medium-low, cover, and simmer until tender, about 20 minutes. Drain.

  • Combine hot potatoes, cream cheese, sour cream, butter, and salt together in a large bowl. Mash until creamy.

  • Spoon potato mixture into a 2-quart casserole dish. Sprinkle with chives and paprika.

  • Bake in preheated oven until bubbling, about 30 minutes.

Partner Tip

Reynolds® Aluminum foil can be used to keep food moist, cook it evenly, and make clean-up easier.

Nutrition Facts

425 calories; 27.4 g total fat; 74 mg cholesterol; 338 mg sodium. 39.3 g carbohydrates; 7.5 g protein; Full Nutrition


Reviews (35)

Read All Reviews

Most helpful positive review

Rating: 5 stars
03/11/2012
This is one of my most favorite ways to make mashed potatoes. I like to add a little sauteed fresh minced garlic too. Whenever I make this there's NEVER any leftovers. NOTE: This is a great base for colcannon too. Just steam your cabbage and cook your bacon to a crisp and crumble then fold the cabbage and bacon in. It's seriously heavenly.
(64)

Most helpful critical review

Rating: 1 stars
11/02/2013
I made these last night to take to a pot luck today. They were like soup! I had to go to the store and buy double the potatoes I'd already cooked last night. Still way to runny. Flavor nothing special.
(1)
48 Ratings
  • 5 star values: 39
  • 4 star values: 4
  • 2 star values: 3
  • 1 star values: 1
  • 3 star values: 1
Rating: 5 stars
03/11/2012
This is one of my most favorite ways to make mashed potatoes. I like to add a little sauteed fresh minced garlic too. Whenever I make this there's NEVER any leftovers. NOTE: This is a great base for colcannon too. Just steam your cabbage and cook your bacon to a crisp and crumble then fold the cabbage and bacon in. It's seriously heavenly.
(64)
Rating: 5 stars
05/11/2012
I don't know what it is that makes it so but there's something about taking relatively ordinary mashed potatoes and baking them that transforms them into something extraordinary. Hubs said this is remiminscent of what you'd you'd get in fine restaurants. Since I was making this for just the two of us I piped the potatoes with a large open star tip into 6 oz. ramekins which made this elegant as well as delicious.
(34)
Rating: 5 stars
08/18/2012
Absolutely disgracefully delicious. In a pathetic attempt to make it less horrible for you I halve the amount of cream cheese. This then allows me to justify sprinkling a couple of handfuls of grated extra-sharp Cheddar cheese on top. Plan on making it this Thanksgiving as it will HORRIFY my health-conscious MIL. Heh!
(18)
Advertisement
Rating: 5 stars
03/16/2012
VERY delicious. I didn't change anything. My husband is a huge potato loving guy and loved it. I did cover the casserole for the first 20 min and took the cover off for the remaining 10 min. my oven tends to over bake and I didn't want it to be dried out. I served it with corned beef instead of the usual boiled potatoes. Will be a new tradition.
(13)
Rating: 5 stars
04/08/2013
5 stars are not nearly enough for this recipe. Cooked this recipe exactly as stated like I always do. This recipe was simple perfect and easy. People couldn't beileve it didn't take a long time to make. I had planned on taking some leftovers for lunch; however there weren't any. Made this dish with Chef John's meatloaf and mushroom gravy. Talk about an absolutely perfect and satisfying meal. Thanks BAWHITE1. I will definitely be making these again. I am a potato fiend and these really hit the spot.
(10)
Rating: 5 stars
06/15/2014
This is one of our favorite potato recipes. I've even made it using instant potatoes and it came out good. Also I like to mix the chives into the mashed potatoes rather than on top.
(8)
Advertisement
Rating: 5 stars
03/14/2013
These mashed potatoes are so delicious!!! I just made it in preparation for our St Patrick's Day family feast. I had to put some aside to have for dinner tonight! The only minor change is that I cook my potatoes in salted water with garlic and some chicken broth (or I use bouillon cube if I don't have stock handy). I plan to add some crumbled bacon on top for the meat lovers.
(6)
Rating: 5 stars
04/08/2012
Awesome casserole. I made this last night and baked it today for Easter dinner. We always have potato casserole with hashbrowns and cream of chicken soup... you all know which one I'm talking about. I thought I'd try something different this year and I'm so glad I did. This rocked and everyone said they want this casserole from now on!! Only change I made was adding 1/4 cup crumbled bacon!
(6)
Rating: 2 stars
04/18/2013
The cream cheese was overpowering. It tasted like potatoes mixed with cream cheese. I won't be making this again.
(5)