34 Ratings
  • 5 star values: 25
  • 4 star values: 5
  • 3 star values: 2
  • 2 star values: 2
  • 1 star values: 0

A sweet marinade that is just so easy to make! I use this recipe whenever we bring dinner to another couple's house. I marinate it at home, then just cook it there. It's great with white rice.

Advertisement

Ingredients

4
Original recipe yields 4 servings
The ingredient list now reflects the servings specified

Directions

  • Combine soy sauce, sugar, vinegar, cornstarch, cold water, ginger, garlic, and black pepper in a bowl.

    Advertisement
  • Add chicken breasts to marinade and stir to coat.

  • Pour the marinade and chicken into a 9x9-inch square baking dish.

  • Cover and marinate chicken in the refrigerator for 1 hour.

  • Preheat oven to 325 degrees F (165 degrees C).

  • Bake chicken in marinade until meat is no longer pink in the center and juices run clear, about 40 minutes, turning midway through cooking.

Partner Tip

Reynolds® Aluminum foil can be used to keep food moist, cook it evenly, and make clean-up easier.

Nutrition Facts

248 calories; 1.4 g total fat; 66 mg cholesterol; 1878 mg sodium. 29.7 g carbohydrates; 28.3 g protein; Full Nutrition


Reviews (30)

Read All Reviews

Most helpful positive review

Rating: 5 stars
03/13/2012
Delicious - perfect balance of flavors. I scaled the recipe back and cut the chicken breasts into medallions; therefore I marinated the medallions for 45 minutes and baked it for 30 minutes at 325º. I served the chicken medallions over mixed greens so I used the marinade that had cooked and thickened during the baking process as the salad dressing. I didn t have fresh ginger so I substituted dried ginger and used cider vinegar. Perfect - can t get any easier or tastier than this. Added note: I made this again cutting them into medallions only this time I grilled them on the grill with excellent results. It's a fast easy and tasty dish. Read More
(39)

Most helpful critical review

Rating: 2 stars
07/15/2015
This is NOT sweet and sour like I was expecting. Its totally different. Read More
(3)
34 Ratings
  • 5 star values: 25
  • 4 star values: 5
  • 3 star values: 2
  • 2 star values: 2
  • 1 star values: 0
Rating: 5 stars
03/13/2012
Delicious - perfect balance of flavors. I scaled the recipe back and cut the chicken breasts into medallions; therefore I marinated the medallions for 45 minutes and baked it for 30 minutes at 325º. I served the chicken medallions over mixed greens so I used the marinade that had cooked and thickened during the baking process as the salad dressing. I didn t have fresh ginger so I substituted dried ginger and used cider vinegar. Perfect - can t get any easier or tastier than this. Added note: I made this again cutting them into medallions only this time I grilled them on the grill with excellent results. It's a fast easy and tasty dish. Read More
(39)
Rating: 5 stars
02/29/2012
I made the marinade the day before and let the chicken sit in it over night. Then I just popped it in the oven to cook. Super easy absolutely delicious! And mine wasn't black (as happened to a previous reviewer) it cooked up beautifully! In fact I'm having the leftovers for lunch right now!! Read More
(23)
Rating: 5 stars
02/24/2012
This was very good. I added a little sesame oil because I like the flavor in chinese style dishes and a few drops of chinese hot oil to give it a little heat. Yummy! Read More
(19)
Advertisement
Rating: 5 stars
03/15/2012
I scaled the recipe down for two breast for just the husband and I. When I went to get sugar I realized we were out of white sugar...like that ever happens? So I used brown sugar instead. I used Balsamic vinegar since it wasn't specified what kind to use. We grilled our breast on charcoal and I cooked the leftover marinade on the stove top to thicken and baste the chicken. I forgot the tablespoon of water wasn't needed. Next time I make I might put in a teaspoon of chili sauce and add some minced onion for more flavoring. Read More
(8)
Rating: 4 stars
03/18/2012
The weather has been surprisingly warm for the month of March in Ohio so I decided to make this recipe but in order to take advantage of the nicer weather we grilled it rather than baking it. I made half the marinade for two chicken breast halves but I only added the cornstarch to half of it. I marinated in the half without the cornstarch. I heated the other half that included the cornstarch on the stovetop until thickened and bubbly. Hubs grilled the chicken basting with the thickened sauce during the last few minutes which produced some beautiful looking chicken coming off the grill. While we thought this was quite good it may not be our absolute favorite a little too heavy on the soy sauce flavor for us. But that didn t stop us from polishing off every bite! Read More
(6)
Rating: 3 stars
02/27/2012
This recipe was not what I was expecting - it didn't taste anything like sweet & sour chicken. It reminded me of an Asian bottle marinade that we use. All you could taste was soy sauce and it wasn't even sweet or sour for that matter. The color was not appealing either it was almost black (like soy sauce) when it came out of the oven. Sorry just didn't care for this receipe. Read More
(5)
Advertisement
Rating: 2 stars
07/15/2015
This is NOT sweet and sour like I was expecting. Its totally different. Read More
(3)
Rating: 5 stars
04/11/2012
Great on a sandwich or salad the next day. Read More
(3)
Rating: 5 stars
04/21/2012
Sooo good!!!! made this for dinner with chinese vegetable fried rice. So wonderful hubby could not wait for the leftovers for lunch the next day. Will make again. Read More
(3)