27 Ratings
  • 5 star values: 21
  • 4 star values: 4
  • 3 star values: 2
  • 2 star values: 0
  • 1 star values: 0

An easy and delicious slow cooker recipe! Serve over linguine.

Advertisement

Ingredients

4
Original recipe yields 4 servings
The ingredient list now reflects the servings specified

Directions

  • Place the chicken breast pieces into the bottom of a slow cooker. Pour in water, and stir in the salad dressing mix. Cover the cooker, set on low, and cook 3 or more hours (see note).

    Advertisement
  • With an electric mixer, beat the soup, cream cheese, and mushrooms in a bowl until thoroughly combined. Mix with the chicken and any juices in the slow cooker. Cover and cook 1 more hour.

Cook's Notes

You can cook it slow all day with the first step as long as you add enough water and keep the chicken breasts whole until ready to do the next steps.

I add more or less water based on using fresh mushrooms or not. I like it creamy but not too runny or too thick.

Partner Tip

Try using a Reynolds® slow cooker liner in your slow cooker for easier cleanup.

Nutrition Facts

375 calories; 25.9 g total fat; 107 mg cholesterol; 1965 mg sodium. 11.8 g carbohydrates; 23.2 g protein; Full Nutrition


Reviews (19)

Read All Reviews

Most helpful positive review

Rating: 5 stars
01/20/2012
I make this recipe often and my family loves it! I mostly serve it with noodles but it's great over rice too! Pretty rich but fabulous! It's good even without the mushroom pieces as well. Read More
(29)

Most helpful critical review

Rating: 3 stars
03/06/2013
We were expecting better it was WAY too rich for our taste could have done without the cream cheese. I have made two other recipes that are very similar in the crock that I like a lot more. (Ranch Pork Chops and Easy Chicken) Basically the same recipe minus the cream cheese and switch the Italian packet with a Ranch packet... Read More
27 Ratings
  • 5 star values: 21
  • 4 star values: 4
  • 3 star values: 2
  • 2 star values: 0
  • 1 star values: 0
Rating: 4 stars
01/20/2012
I've made this recipe a few times and my family loves it. The only thing I would say keeps it from getting 5 stars is it is very salty...without adding any salt. I serve this dish over egg noodles with a side of Normandy style veggies. YUM! Read More
(41)
Rating: 5 stars
01/20/2012
I make this recipe often and my family loves it! I mostly serve it with noodles but it's great over rice too! Pretty rich but fabulous! It's good even without the mushroom pieces as well. Read More
(29)
Rating: 5 stars
01/24/2012
There are 4 hungry Man/Boys (ages 17-22) at my table inhaling this. I asked; "How many stars?" They said; "Ten!" I would give this a 4 - kinda reminds me of cafeteria food. Not my thing. The man/boys are happy! I cooked this with 3 large frozen chicken breasts & knew I would be gone all day at work. It got 7 hours in the crock pot on low & I shredded the chicken instead of cubing it because it started out frozen. Added almost 1/2 tsp. of red pepper flakes & some black pepper because that is our thing. It tastes good - I would tweak it with veggies & onions next time. Good base! Thanks! Read More
(16)
Advertisement
Rating: 5 stars
01/22/2012
i make something like this. i use cream of chicken soup and italian herb cooking cream (cream cheese). serve it on buns. i cook it in the crockpot for 6-8 hours. yummmy. Read More
(13)
Rating: 5 stars
02/01/2012
My husband and I love this dish. It is so easy to make he could even do it. Tee hee. Read More
(6)
Rating: 5 stars
11/19/2014
I found this recipe on here and have been making it for over a year now. It has become a staple in my household. It's one of the few things all my kids and I enjoy. Over time I have found that when I take the chicken out of the slow cooker to cut up I can add the cream cheese (cut into 6 or 8 smaller pieces) and the soup to the hot Italian mix and just whisk by hand right in the slow cooker. This saves me from dragging out the mixer. I then add frozen peas the cubed chicken and a little seasoning. I let it warm up about another 30 minutes. It's really wonderful over rice. Thanks for the great recipe! Read More
(4)
Advertisement
Rating: 5 stars
12/25/2012
Sour cream would probably make it more like a stroganoff. I prefer the flavor of cream cheese. The picture posted is not one I put there. I use linguini noodles. Read More
(4)
Rating: 5 stars
06/23/2014
I have made this before and would have only given it 2 stars BUT I did the following the second time around and made it a 5 star winner: Sear 1.5-2 pounds of chicken thighs in olive oil salt pepper and garlic powder on both sides remove from skillet and cut into chunks. Add to slow cooker and cook as directed. Use one small box baby bella sliced mushrooms instead of canned sauteed in olive oil salt pepper and garlic with 1/2 cup diced onion until soft (5-7 min). Set aside. Proceed with recipe as directed adding the mushrooms after adding the cream cheese mixture (don't beat the mushrooms). WOW!! This was spectacular! Solved the very bland taste I got the first time. Read More
(4)
Rating: 4 stars
04/30/2013
I have actually made this recipe once before and neither my husband nor I really liked it. However I decided to make it again with some modifications and it turned out quite nice. I used a can of Progresso vegtable classics creamy mushroom soup 1/3 of the cream cheese (as the first time it was unbearable) added some onion powder parsley fresh black pepper and a little parm on top. I used two frozen chicken breasts and just watched it. I served it over egg noodles and some boiled potatoes. Read More
(4)