53 Ratings
  • 5 star values: 29
  • 4 star values: 12
  • 3 star values: 11
  • 2 star values: 1
  • 1 star values: 0

Chicken is slow-cooked in two sauces, then shredded. Served on rolls with your favorite hot sauce, sour cream, and shredded cheese. YUM! Use your favorite cheese and rolls to customize to your tastes.

Advertisement

Ingredients

6
Original recipe yields 6 servings
The ingredient list now reflects the servings specified

Directions

  • Combine the frozen boneless chicken breast, prepared pizza sauce, and salsa verde in a slow cooker. Cover the cooker, and cook on Low 8 to 10 hours.

    Advertisement
  • Use 2 forks to pull the chicken meat apart until completely shredded. Stir 1/2 cup sour cream into the chicken mixture. Place the chicken mixture onto the rolls. Top each sandwich with 1 ounce shredded Cheddar cheese, 1 ounce sour cream, and 2 dashes hot sauce to serve

Partner Tip

Try using a Reynolds® slow cooker liner in your slow cooker for easier cleanup.

Nutrition Facts

523 calories; 24.2 g total fat; 129 mg cholesterol; 922 mg sodium. 30.8 g carbohydrates; 42.6 g protein; Full Nutrition


Reviews (39)

Read All Reviews

Most helpful positive review

Rating: 5 stars
11/23/2011
This was absolutely delicious!! Since one of the previous reviews stated that the chicken was a little bland i added a packet of taco seasoning! This was perfect! The other thing i did differently was I shredded the chicken after 6-7 hrs and let it simmer for 1 extra hour so that it could absorb more of the flavors. This will be something I will be serving at home more often. Read More
(18)

Most helpful critical review

Rating: 3 stars
01/30/2012
As written this recipe would be bland. I took the advice of others before me and added additional seasoning. Salt onion and garlic powder chili powder and cilantro and added some red hot sauce into the mixture. You would think with all of the added seasoning it would be strong but I still felt like it was missing something. I think I will attempt again but try the taco seasoning packet that another reviewer used. I believe this recipe has potential with the additional add ins. Read More
(13)
53 Ratings
  • 5 star values: 29
  • 4 star values: 12
  • 3 star values: 11
  • 2 star values: 1
  • 1 star values: 0
Rating: 5 stars
11/23/2011
This was absolutely delicious!! Since one of the previous reviews stated that the chicken was a little bland i added a packet of taco seasoning! This was perfect! The other thing i did differently was I shredded the chicken after 6-7 hrs and let it simmer for 1 extra hour so that it could absorb more of the flavors. This will be something I will be serving at home more often. Read More
(18)
Rating: 5 stars
11/03/2011
These are amazing...my picky kids are even eating them as we speak!!for the hot sauce i used franks...im glad i made extra so we can have it for lunch tomorrow!! Read More
(13)
Rating: 3 stars
01/30/2012
As written this recipe would be bland. I took the advice of others before me and added additional seasoning. Salt onion and garlic powder chili powder and cilantro and added some red hot sauce into the mixture. You would think with all of the added seasoning it would be strong but I still felt like it was missing something. I think I will attempt again but try the taco seasoning packet that another reviewer used. I believe this recipe has potential with the additional add ins. Read More
(13)
Advertisement
Rating: 5 stars
02/10/2013
I wanted to keep the theme of "mexican" so I swapped out pizza sauce for enchilada sauce. I served these sandwiches with shredded lettuce. chopped tomato and the shredded cheese. The boys thought this was a great dinner! Great spin on our usual mexican themed dinner night. Read More
(11)
Rating: 5 stars
01/10/2012
quick and easy "on the way out the door" recipe I think it made more like 8 large servings. I served with sautéed onions and peppers. The guys ate theirs as sandwiches and I just I put mine in a bowl without the bread to cut the calories and carbs. Great recipe for a busy day or when everyone gets home for dinner at a different time. Read More
(9)
Rating: 3 stars
11/17/2011
I tried this recipe and thought it was a little bland. However when I took the cold leftovers and combined with fresh spinach garbanzo beans and shredded cheese it made a great salad. If I made this recipe again I would probably up the amount of pizza and hot sauce and maybe throw in some spices to add more flavor. Read More
(8)
Advertisement
Rating: 3 stars
04/27/2012
This was a good cheap and easy recipe. It was not really good as a sandwich. I made some rice with black beans tomatoes and green onions and piled this on top and that was really good. Read More
(4)
Rating: 5 stars
12/13/2011
Easy & delicious. Will definitely be making again. Highly recommend Read More
(4)
Rating: 5 stars
11/15/2011
AWESOME!! Had this with spicy sweet potaoe fries and pumpkin casserole one night when guests were over. Topped it all off with cheesy apple crisp. Everyone loved it! Thanks for sharing! Read More
(4)