This dish is based off the Greek chicken my friend Kim taught me. I modified it to use the 6-quart slow cooker in the summer instead of the oven.

Advertisement

Ingredients

6
Original recipe yields 6 servings
The ingredient list now reflects the servings specified

Directions

  • Rinse the chicken, inside and out. Place one half of the lemon and 3 garlic cloves in cavity of chicken. Reserve other half of lemon.

    Advertisement
  • Layer the sliced potatoes and the onions in the crock of a slow cooker. Sprinkle remaining 3 garlic cloves around the inside of the cooker; place chicken onto the vegetables. Pour in the wine and olive oil. Dissolve bouillon in the boiling water, and add to the cooker.

  • Squeeze the juice of remaining lemon half over chicken (strain out seeds); sprinkle with oregano. Season chicken with salt and black pepper.

  • Cover, and cook on Low setting for 8-10 hours, or on High setting 4-6 hours. A meat thermometer, inserted into the thickest part of a thigh, not touching a bone, should read at least 160 degrees F (70 degrees C).

Partner Tip

Try using a Reynolds® slow cooker liner in your slow cooker for easier cleanup.

Nutrition Facts

471 calories; 17.9 g total fat; 96 mg cholesterol; 173 mg sodium. 39.8 g carbohydrates; 36.7 g protein; Full Nutrition


Reviews (53)

Read More Reviews

Most helpful positive review

Rating: 5 stars
04/13/2011
I was very pleased at how this recipe turned out. I was a little wary reading the reviews that stated there was too strong a lemon flavor and that the chicken was dry but I went for it anyway and made the recipe as directed. The only (minor) change I made was that I had to use a chicken that was nearly 4 pounds because I could not find a 3 pound one. It was relatively difficult to get the skin off the chicken but not impossible. I cooked this on low for about 9 hours while we were at work. When I came home the chicken was incredibly tender; as I lifted it out of the cooker it fell totally apart! So I suppose presentation-wise it may not look as nice as would be ideal. The flavor of both the chicken and potatoes was neither too strong nor too light in my opinion. I don't really know that any changes are needed to this recipe except maybe some additional veggies could be thrown in if you like such as carrots. Thanks for the great recipe! Read More
(45)

Most helpful critical review

Rating: 1 stars
04/11/2011
I wanted to like this dish but it just didn't work for me. The lemon overpowered all the other ingredients. The potatoes were soggy. The chicken was also unappealing to the eye. Sorry. Read More
(7)
69 Ratings
  • 5 star values: 24
  • 4 star values: 20
  • 3 star values: 11
  • 2 star values: 7
  • 1 star values: 7
Rating: 4 stars
07/23/2011
Some changes: Lose the lemon! Greeks don't use them. Leave the skin on to keep the breasts moist. Season with Cavender's Greek Seasoning or salt pepper garlic oregano rosemary and thyme. Don't overcook it! The chicken bouillon is loaded with MSG! I don't let it in my kitchen. Read More
(52)
Rating: 4 stars
04/08/2011
Delicious!! The chicken was so tender and moist!! I didn't have any white wine so I added H2O however next time I'll just add chicken broth.. And at the end I needed to add a little more salt but this will definately be made again!!! Thanks for sharing!! Read More
(48)
Rating: 5 stars
04/13/2011
I was very pleased at how this recipe turned out. I was a little wary reading the reviews that stated there was too strong a lemon flavor and that the chicken was dry but I went for it anyway and made the recipe as directed. The only (minor) change I made was that I had to use a chicken that was nearly 4 pounds because I could not find a 3 pound one. It was relatively difficult to get the skin off the chicken but not impossible. I cooked this on low for about 9 hours while we were at work. When I came home the chicken was incredibly tender; as I lifted it out of the cooker it fell totally apart! So I suppose presentation-wise it may not look as nice as would be ideal. The flavor of both the chicken and potatoes was neither too strong nor too light in my opinion. I don't really know that any changes are needed to this recipe except maybe some additional veggies could be thrown in if you like such as carrots. Thanks for the great recipe! Read More
(45)
Advertisement
Rating: 3 stars
07/28/2011
GREEKS DO USE LEMON. They use lots of lemon and lots of salt. Authentic kotopoulo me potates has salt oil lemon and oregano and is baked in the oven. This version is moist but the potatoes are a little too soft. chicken was nice and juicy. Read More
(44)
Rating: 4 stars
01/30/2012
Im giving this 4 stars cuz they have the right idea but this is what I do different. I have the butcher break down the chicken for me and then season with salt and pepper and brown in a skillet in olive oil place in crockpot on top of onion and garlic slices(potatoes sliced too if using we like this over orzo or rice) deglaze pan with wine and pour on top of chicken sprinkle with oregano and top with lemon slices add 1/4 cup chicken stock and cook on low 7hrs or high 3 or 4hrs this is delish! Read More
(34)
Rating: 2 stars
04/14/2011
Greek Slow Cooker Chicken Haiku: "Chicken crockpot fail. I had such high hopes for this. But it was no good." I'll give this 2 stars b/c despite the effort of skinning the chicken (blech) coming home from work to a crockpot meal that's ready is a nice convenience. The potatoes at the bottom absorbed all the flavor and juices (a little overwhelming on the lemon) and were too soggy in my opinion. The breast-side of the chicken was inedible it was so unbelievably Saharan. It was also very visually unappealing. The lower portion of the chicken that sat in more of the broth was moist so I shredded it from the bone and am hoping to salvage it into a pita w/ feta cheese and veggies for lunch today but truth be told most of these leftovers will be getting tossed. Sorry! Read More
(23)
Advertisement
Rating: 5 stars
04/15/2011
I made this with only minor changes. I seasoned the chicken with Cavendar's Greek Seasoning along with the oregano. I cut out the salt and pepper seasoning as the Cavendar's already has it. I also added some good quality Greek olives. I skinned the chicken just as instructed which is much better because the flavors can reach the meat. It was moist and tender. My husband and I thought this was absolutely scrumptious! It's a keeper in my recipe box! Read More
(23)
Rating: 5 stars
07/28/2011
AWESOME! So small things I did differently: I used a 6lb roaster I got on sale (The kind with the pop-up timer)and I did NOT remove the skin and I also added carrots. Since the potatoes are sliced pretty thick I only cut my carrots into thirds. I cooked it on high set for 6 hours but the timer popped after 5. It was falling off the bone and cooked perfectly as were the potatoes and carrots! There was so much juice in the pan I decided to throw together a quick gravy melted about 2 tablespoons of butter in a saucepan and whisked in about 3 tablespoons of flour for the roux then added about a cup of the liquid a little at a time. There's just so many great flavors going on in that juice between the onion and the garlic and the lemon! My only critique is that it probably doesn't need the olive oil or maybe only half as much. The lemon flavor was there but subtle not strong or overpowering at all. I'll definitely make this one again! Read More
(19)
Rating: 4 stars
05/20/2011
Super easy and very good! Only thing I changed was I used skinless boneless breast and no onions. Read More
(17)