20 Ratings
  • 5 star values: 12
  • 4 star values: 7
  • 1 star values: 1

Delicious and easy to make! You want to have a morning snack like pancakes but the syrup has A LOT of sugar? Well, this has only honey!

sweets3
Advertisement

Ingredients

1
Original recipe yields 1 servings
The ingredient list now reflects the servings specified

Directions

  • Combine the milk and vanilla extract in a bowl.

    Advertisement
  • Heat the honey and butter together in a microwave-safe bowl in the microwave for 30 seconds; stir into the milk mixture. Allow to cool completely before use. Chill in refrigerator if too hot.

Nutrition Facts

166 calories; 8.3 g total fat; 22 mg cholesterol; 63 mg sodium. 18.9 g carbohydrates; 0.5 g protein; Full Nutrition


Reviews (16)

Read All Reviews

Most helpful positive review

Rating: 5 stars
07/13/2010
This is not the typical syrup but I really did like it. I put it on buttermilk pancakes and found it to be a light pleasing taste. I did use 1 teaspoon of vanilla becuae 2 seemed too much. I could always add more I decided. For me 2 would have been too much. Do try!
(18)

Most helpful critical review

Rating: 1 stars
01/31/2013
Oh my vanilla! The syrup was verrrry liquidy...I put it in the freezer to try and get it to congeal...it only helped a little. The biggest issue here is the amount of vanilla. I made 4 servings of this and my gut told me 2tbs & 2tsp of vanilla sounded absurd but I did it anyway
(3)
20 Ratings
  • 5 star values: 12
  • 4 star values: 7
  • 1 star values: 1
Rating: 4 stars
06/09/2011
This had a very nice flavour. After chilling in the fridge for awhile though mine was still completely liquid not syrup at all. I made it exactly as the recipe stated but perhaps I measured my butter incorrectly or something. No matter even though it was liquid I put it on my oatmeal pancakes and it tasted great! UPDATE: I also recently made this to put on Strawberry Vanilla Pancakes from this site and that was a great flavour combo! Was still very liquidy again but not a big deal.
(18)
Rating: 5 stars
07/13/2010
This is not the typical syrup but I really did like it. I put it on buttermilk pancakes and found it to be a light pleasing taste. I did use 1 teaspoon of vanilla becuae 2 seemed too much. I could always add more I decided. For me 2 would have been too much. Do try!
(18)
Rating: 5 stars
01/21/2011
yum! the perfect light syrup with a delicious flavour.
(14)
Advertisement
Rating: 4 stars
06/13/2011
I upped this recipe to four servings. I used buttermilk instead of regular milk. That was the only change I made. We had this over Herman pancakes and it was so good--though it had a LOT of vanilla. Quadrupled it was two tablespoons and two teaspoons of vanilla! I'd like to make this again cutting back a bit on the vanilla and with a touch of cinnamon. Very simple and a good fill in for when you're out of pancake syrup.
(11)
Rating: 4 stars
06/20/2011
Very good. Used coconut milk because I didn't have regular milk on hand. Used only one teaspoon of vanilla extract. Not very thick but tasty.
(6)
Rating: 4 stars
07/15/2011
I did a test run on this syrup without having a reason to use it but I tasted delicious and I'll definitely whip them up the moment I'm in need of a syrup.
(4)
Advertisement
Rating: 4 stars
08/22/2011
I made pancakes one morning and realized that we did not have any syrup. I looked this up & had all of the ingredients & it turned out great! We really enjoyed this. very easy to make.
(3)
Rating: 1 stars
01/31/2013
Oh my vanilla! The syrup was verrrry liquidy...I put it in the freezer to try and get it to congeal...it only helped a little. The biggest issue here is the amount of vanilla. I made 4 servings of this and my gut told me 2tbs & 2tsp of vanilla sounded absurd but I did it anyway
(3)
Rating: 5 stars
01/11/2014
Excellent recipe. Of course you will have to adjust it to your liking like any other recipe. However I utilized the ingredients asked for and did as the recipe asked. The only thing I did that was DIFFERENT was not mix everything up once the honey and butter was done in the microwave melting. Instead I poured a little bit of the milk and vanilla (mixed up already) into the honey and butter. I did not feel the need to let it sit in the refrigerator. It was great this way. Of course I through some of the milk and vanilla mix away because I only wanted to use a little bit which kept it from being so watery. Such a lovely taste. Thank you so much.
(3)