I am not generally a fan of chimichangas at restaurants, but this had me going back for seconds. It is easy to prepare the meat ahead of time and then have a very quick meal in a pinch.

Advertisement

Ingredients

8
Original recipe yields 8 servings
The ingredient list now reflects the servings specified

Chicken filling:

Sour cream sauce:

Directions

  • Place the chicken breasts into a large saucepan. Pour in the water, and season with chili powder, 1/2 teaspoon salt, cumin, 1/4 teaspoon black pepper, garlic powder, onion powder, and cayenne pepper. Bring to a simmer over high heat, then reduce heat to medium-low, and simmer 15 minutes. After 15 minutes, stir in 4 ounces of green chiles, onion, and garlic; continue simmering until the liquid has reduced to 1 cup. Reserve remaining 3 ounces of chopped green chilies. Remove the chicken, shred with two forks, and return to the onion mixture.

    Advertisement
  • Meanwhile, melt the butter in a small saucepan over medium heat. Stir in the flour, and cook for 1 minute. Whisk in the water and bouillon cube until the water has thickened and the bouillon cube has dissolved, about 4 minutes. Whisk in reserved 3 ounces of green chilies and the sour cream; season to taste with salt and pepper. Keep warm.

  • Heat oil in a deep-fryer or large saucepan to 375 degrees F (190 degrees C).

  • Place a tortilla onto your work surface, then spoon about 1/3 cup of the chicken filling halfway between the bottom edge and the center of the tortilla. Flatten the filling into rectangle shape with the back of a spoon. Sprinkle about 1 ounce of the Monterey Jack cheese over the filling. Fold the bottom of the tortilla snugly over the filling, then fold in the left and right edges. Roll the chimichanga up to the top edge, forming a tight cylinder; secure the ends with wooden toothpicks. Repeat with the remaining ingredients.

  • Cook the chimichangas, 2 at a time, in the hot oil until they are crisp and golden brown on both sides, about 1 minute per side. Drain on a paper towel-lined plate, and remove toothpicks. Top with sour cream sauce to serve.

Partner Tip

Reynolds® Aluminum foil can be used to keep food moist, cook it evenly, and make clean-up easier.

Nutrition Facts

506 calories; 30 g total fat; 72 mg cholesterol; 1043 mg sodium. 33.3 g carbohydrates; 25.7 g protein; Full Nutrition


Reviews (468)

Read More Reviews

Most helpful positive review

Rating: 5 stars
09/25/2011
AMAZING! Followed the recipe to the tee with the exception of baking at 425 degrees for 15 minutes vs. deep frying. Read More
(357)

Most helpful critical review

Rating: 1 stars
06/12/2018
620 Ratings
  • 5 star values: 492
  • 4 star values: 105
  • 3 star values: 17
  • 2 star values: 4
  • 1 star values: 2
Rating: 5 stars
09/25/2011
AMAZING! Followed the recipe to the tee with the exception of baking at 425 degrees for 15 minutes vs. deep frying. Read More
(357)
Rating: 5 stars
09/15/2010
This was very good. I was patient and let the sauce cook down. I added some green Tabasco sauce to the sour cream sauce too. Instead of frying I brushed the whole thing with olive oil and baked in my convection toaster oven at 400 degrees for 5 minutes turned over and baked 5 more minutes. So good!! Read More
(180)
Rating: 5 stars
05/24/2010
This turned out really really well. I knew the sour cream sauce had to be good but wasn't too sure what to expect otherwise. I would recommend frying them a little longer than 1 minute on each side--they came out a little bit cool so I threw them in for another minute per side. If you end up going with the full 3 cups of water it will take a while to boil down but it is totally worth the wait. Will definitely be making again. Read More
(135)
Advertisement
Rating: 5 stars
11/11/2010
i followed the recipe almost..i doubled the seasonings and tossed the chicken breasts in a ziploc bag and let them sit for a couple of hours. i used all the water which i also seasoned before putting in the chicken breasts to simmer. i shredded the chicken while it was reducing in the pan to absorb more of the flavors while cooking. i also wrapped them and sprayed them with low-fat cooking spray and cooked them in the oven at 400 degrees. for the sauce i used chicken broth instead of the bouillion cube i also added some of the "sauce" from the cooked chicken as well as some adobo and lemon juice for a little tang to compliment the spice..served with yellow rice and black beans and garlic. BIG HIT with the men in my house! thank you for the recipe i loved it!!!! Read More
(84)
Rating: 5 stars
01/05/2012
This recipe is insane! Took the following (4) user reviews and combined them as follows: "doubled seasonings"..."cut water in half"..."fresh garlic instead of powder"..."more cayenne less chili powder"...THEN I added my own twist by replacing green chiles with jalepenos. THERE ARE NO WORDS! (...not to mention splashing an occasional bite down with a sip of a fresh margarita) Read More
(76)
Rating: 4 stars
05/18/2010
This is an excellent recipe. The sour cream sauce made it even better. I doubled the spice ingredients and it still wasn't too over-powering. I would recommend to use less than 3 cups of water with the chicken because it took a while to evaporate. Overall it was easy to make and a great hit! Read More
(72)
Advertisement
Rating: 5 stars
11/16/2011
My family loves this receipe!! We just roll it put them in a baking dish and pour the sauce over top. We didn't really like it deep fried. Excellet family dinner Read More
(54)
Rating: 4 stars
01/25/2011
This is a really great recipe! We had extra large tortillas so I used 3 chicken breasts instead of two and doubled the spices. The filling has great flavor and the sauce compliments the chimis really well. Next time I think I will try baking the chimis instead of frying. Hopefully this will make the leftovers a little less soggy (and a little healthier). Read More
(33)
Rating: 5 stars
03/07/2011
This is a great and easy recipe! I did use fresh garlic instead of powder and because I didn't have bouillon cubes I used chicken broth and didn't add water. Will definately make this again! Thanks for sharing:) Read More
(32)