Delicious salad! You can use lemon juice in place of the cider vinegar. Also can use Gorgonzola or shaved Parmesan cheese in place or in addition to feta!

Advertisement

Ingredients

4
Original recipe yields 4 servings
The ingredient list now reflects the servings specified

Directions

  • Whisk the vinegar, honey, salt, pepper, and oregano in a bowl until the honey has dissolved. Whisk in the olive oil until evenly blended. Place the kale, Swiss chard, chicken, feta cheese, raisins, and walnuts into a bowl. Toss with the dressing to serve.

    Advertisement

Nutrition Facts

752 calories; 52 g total fat; 123 mg cholesterol; 1009 mg sodium. 31 g carbohydrates; 43.9 g protein; Full Nutrition


Reviews (37)

Read More Reviews

Most helpful positive review

Rating: 5 stars
10/06/2010
Loved this salad! What a great alternative to eating empty lettuce that's all water whereas kale and chard have so many great vitamins and minerals! I followed the other reviews in cutting the amount of vinegar in half in the dressing and it came out perfectly. Read More
(28)

Most helpful critical review

Rating: 1 stars
06/12/2015
I thought this had too much vinegar I added strawberries and that made it into a great salad! But it needs the strawberries. Read More
54 Ratings
  • 5 star values: 38
  • 4 star values: 13
  • 3 star values: 1
  • 2 star values: 1
  • 1 star values: 1
Rating: 5 stars
10/06/2010
Loved this salad! What a great alternative to eating empty lettuce that's all water whereas kale and chard have so many great vitamins and minerals! I followed the other reviews in cutting the amount of vinegar in half in the dressing and it came out perfectly. Read More
(28)
Rating: 4 stars
04/22/2010
Great salad; but I would cut the vinegar to 1/4 cup to 1/2 cup of oil. I added 1 tsp sugar Craisins and toasted pine nuts. Read More
(25)
Rating: 4 stars
07/26/2010
Great recipe but way too much vinegar. I will cut in half next time. I had to add sugar to each bowl of my salad in order to get this down - way too much vinegar for me but I liked the recipe otherwise. My husband on the other hand loved this recipe and ended up eating majority of it! Read More
(17)
Advertisement
Rating: 5 stars
06/12/2011
This was delicious. I thought the vinegar was fine be sure you use apple cider vinegar. I substituted the walnuts for candied walnuts goes great with the feta and raisins. Next time I may try dried cranberries. I like that this is a nice change from the usual romaine lettuce getting plenty of leafy greens..makes it for a hearty salad chock full of nutrients. Read More
(10)
Rating: 5 stars
01/19/2011
This is one excellent salad with a nutritional quality that surpasses ANY lettuce salad. I would double or triple the raisins and especially the walnuts (if you can afford them lol). Read More
(8)
Rating: 5 stars
04/11/2011
This salad is amazing! I didn't have any swiss chard so I substituted a herb mix. I kept the same amount of vinegar as what the recipe asked for but I used Light Corn Syrup instead of honey (didn't have any and it added more sweetness to cut the vinegar). Really good! Definitely a keeper! Read More
(7)
Advertisement
Rating: 5 stars
09/05/2011
My husband claimed it was the best salad he's ever had. We replaced the chicken with seitan since we don't eat meat and the raisins with Craisins. Super yummy! Read More
(6)
Rating: 5 stars
05/12/2013
This is a beautiful delicious salad. I subbed spinach for the chard and left out the cheese. Also used garlic olive oil and fresh oregano. I didn't measure the dressing ingredients just put a tiny bit of each into a bowl and added enough greens for one salad. I ended up adding another dash of cider vinegar. I used rosemary paprika and red pepper roasted chicken. I thought I wouldn't care for the raisins but they were perfect- salty and sweet. The salad would be still be great without the chicken. This reminds me of the salads served at an upscale restaurant where I used to work. Greens fruit chicken or fish cheese a sweet and tangy vinaigrette and nuts all combined perfectly to make so many delicous salads! Read More
(5)
Rating: 5 stars
05/18/2013
Love this! I did follow the advice of the other reviews and cut the vinegar in half but only after I tasted the exact recipe. Other than that I followed it exactly! It's a great "house salad" dressing. The kale Swiss chard and feta tasted amazing with this dressing!! Thanks for sharing! Read More
(5)