A delicious New Mexican enchilada that we had every year for our Christmas Eve dinner. Serve 2 to 3 enchiladas on a plate and surround with lettuce and tomatoes. Top with your choice of guacamole or sour cream or both.

Kate
Advertisement

Ingredients

6
Original recipe yields 6 servings
The ingredient list now reflects the servings specified

Directions

  • Preheat an oven to 400 degrees F (200 degrees C). Grease a 9x13 inch baking dish. Combine the chicken, sour cream, salt, and pepper in a bowl; set aside.

    Advertisement
  • Heat the oil in a skillet over medium-high heat. Dip the corn tortillas into the hot oil one at a time until softened, about 10 seconds each. Spoon a heaping tablespoon of chicken mixture onto each tortilla, spread down the center and roll into a cylinder. Place seam side down into the prepared baking dish. When all tortillas are filled and rolled, sprinkle the green chiles over all and top with the shredded Monterey Jack cheese.

  • Bake in the preheated oven until the cheese has melted and the enchiladas are hot, 12 to 15 minutes.

Partner Tip

Reynolds® Aluminum foil can be used to keep food moist, cook it evenly, and make clean-up easier.

Nutrition Facts

434 calories; 26.1 g total fat; 85 mg cholesterol; 540 mg sodium. 24.4 g carbohydrates; 26.1 g protein; Full Nutrition


Reviews (142)

Read More Reviews

Most helpful positive review

Rating: 5 stars
11/18/2009
This was very easy fast and delicious! I sauted some garlic and olive oil and added some salsa to the sauce for more flavor. My family loved it! Read More
(48)

Most helpful critical review

Rating: 1 stars
12/15/2009
dID NOT CARE FOR THESE AT ALL VERY BLAND AND TASTELESS Read More
(2)
194 Ratings
  • 5 star values: 98
  • 4 star values: 53
  • 3 star values: 24
  • 2 star values: 13
  • 1 star values: 6
Rating: 5 stars
11/18/2009
This was very easy fast and delicious! I sauted some garlic and olive oil and added some salsa to the sauce for more flavor. My family loved it! Read More
(48)
Rating: 3 stars
01/30/2012
I really wish I'd read the reviews (all of them) before I made these. It seems that a lot of people who rated this a four or five altered the recipe and added flavor. I found that this lacked flavor. I followed the recipe exactly as far as ingredients were concerned. I did use some of the cheese and chilies in the filling but still found that these were incredibly bland and somewhat dry. The toppings are what made them taste good. I topped mine with sour cream and guacamole and added more of each as I ate my serving. My husband on the other hand doesn't care for guacamole and passed on the sour cream. He didn't finish his portion. It does make a beautiful presentation but I probably won't make this one again. Read More
(30)
Rating: 5 stars
11/20/2009
WOW! This was delicious! I made it exactly as stated only I used reduced fat sour cream and 2% monterey jack cheese to cut calories a little. My daughter who is super picky about her food raved about it! I made the whole tray and there was none left! Awesome! Read More
(26)
Advertisement
Rating: 5 stars
12/07/2009
This was a lot better than I expected! I used up the last of our thanksgiving turkey on it and added a little chili powder and cumin to it to wake it up a bit. I didn't have the chili peppers so I used sauteed green peppers instead and used flour tortillas since that's what I had on hand. Definately fry the tortillas in the oil like the recipe states I was a little hesitant about that -calorically speaking- but I think that was a HUGE part in getting the correct flavor/texture. A great and easy way to use up my leftovers! Thank you! Read More
(17)
Rating: 5 stars
11/23/2009
Wow... this is great! My family loved this. I definitely added more seasoning to the chicken-sour cream mixture. I diced one small onion and two small Roma tomatoes and mixed it into the chicken mixture. Also I added about 1/2 teaspoon more of salt and I added about 1/2 teaspoon of Badia complete seasoning. Yummy.... Read More
(16)
Rating: 4 stars
01/06/2010
Good stuff! I recommend using 3/4 cup sour cream and 1/4 - 1/2 cup salsa. Read More
(16)
Advertisement
Rating: 2 stars
03/16/2011
I am disappointed this wasn't better (sorry). It's very dry & I added extra sour cream & chilies. Needs more liquid - perhaps salsa or a cream-based soup. If you like spice you will need to add more spices than listed. Read More
(15)
Rating: 3 stars
08/16/2018
The recipe itself is obviously BLAND but thankfully I read other reviews and knew enough about seasoning to modify for more flavor. I added the following the filling; chopped tomatoes for color and liquid half an onion 1 clove of chopped garlic 1/2 of the can of diced green chilies 1/2 cup cheese more salt cumin paprika. On top I added salsa the other 1/2 can of green chilies and the cheese. It was delicious!! I think you need the tomatoes for the filling and the salsa on top or it would have been dry. Read More
(10)
Rating: 5 stars
11/17/2009
I LOVE this! My husband did too! It was easy and fast so my family didn't have to wait for an hour or 2 for dinner! Thanks!! Read More
(9)