182 Ratings
  • 5 star values: 141
  • 4 star values: 31
  • 3 star values: 6
  • 2 star values: 4
  • 1 star values: 0

Easy and very kid-pleasing.

Advertisement

Ingredients

7
Original recipe yields 7 servings
The ingredient list now reflects the servings specified

Directions

  • Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C).

    Advertisement
  • In a large mixing bowl combine onion, sour cream, soup, cheese, salt and pepper. Press the excess water out of the hash browns and then add them to the soup mixture and mix well. Transfer to a 9x12 inch casserole dish. Sprinkle potato chips on top, then drizzle with butter.

  • Bake in preheated oven for 45 minutes to 1 hour, until golden brown.

Partner Tip

Reynolds® Aluminum foil can be used to keep food moist, cook it evenly, and make clean-up easier.

Nutrition Facts

650 calories; 56.1 g total fat; 101 mg cholesterol; 768 mg sodium. 40.7 g carbohydrates; 15.4 g protein; Full Nutrition


Reviews (143)

Read All Reviews

Most helpful positive review

Rating: 5 stars
03/18/2009
So yummy! This is a favorite of ours. I never buy frozen potatoes to make this though. I always just use my own potatoes peeled diced and par-cooked on stove-top before baking. I must have made a hundred times already and probably will make a few hundred more.
(91)

Most helpful critical review

Rating: 2 stars
03/08/2010
Not sure where I went wrong? It was not a hit in my house. My kids said it had too much onion flavor and I thought the chips on top were gross. I did use fresh potatoes because I had a ton of them in the pantry. Maybe you have to use frozen for it to taste right? Oh well...too bad.
(3)
182 Ratings
  • 5 star values: 141
  • 4 star values: 31
  • 3 star values: 6
  • 2 star values: 4
  • 1 star values: 0
Rating: 5 stars
03/18/2009
So yummy! This is a favorite of ours. I never buy frozen potatoes to make this though. I always just use my own potatoes peeled diced and par-cooked on stove-top before baking. I must have made a hundred times already and probably will make a few hundred more.
(91)
Rating: 5 stars
03/07/2005
oh my gosh I just had this and it is sooooo good. Comfort food at it's best. I even used all lowfat/nonfat ingredients (fat free sour cream fat free condensed soup 1 cup fat free sharp cheddar 1 cup 2% sharp cheddar Simply Shredded frozen shredded potatoes lowfat wheat thins made into crumbs in the food processor 1/4 cup melted Smart Balance trans fat free margarine) and it was still SUPERB. I divided the mixture into 2 8"x8" pans and topped one with 1/2 the crumbs and 1/2 the melted margarine and baked it. The other pan is in the freezer with a baggy of the crumbs on top ready to bake for another scrumptious meal. YUM!
(70)
Rating: 5 stars
10/04/2003
This was a really good casserole. The potatoes were very moist and had lots of flavor. As my son puts it the potatoes had yummy goop. I omitted the onion and it was great. I would say next time I am going to mix the butter in though because when you get the potatoes from the oven there is a inch of grease sitting on top that is very unappealing. So next time I will mix the butter instead of just drizzling it on top. Great recipe though and I will defiantly make it again!
(63)
Advertisement
Rating: 5 stars
10/27/2003
Very good! My family puts french fried onions on the top instead of the crushed potato chips. This adds a great flavor!
(42)
Rating: 5 stars
09/09/2005
Unbelievable!! Delicious!! I added a can of Campbell's Pepperjack cheese soup instead of the cream of chicken and used cornflakes instead of potato chips. Have made it twice now and everyone still rants! Don't forget to top it off with a little garlic salt! Thank you Bea!!
(32)
Rating: 5 stars
09/05/2006
I prepared this recipe with fat free sour cream Health Request Chicken soup and fat free Lays chips. It was delicious and it got rave reviews from my spouse and son. It was great warmed up the second time too. Will definately make this again.
(23)
Advertisement
Rating: 5 stars
07/24/2003
My aunt makes a casserole similar to this every year... all I can say is YUMMY! The potato chips really add to the whole potato theme and enhance the dish overall. A highly recommended indulgence!
(16)
Rating: 5 stars
08/08/2003
Excellent! I made this using the french fried onions as one other reviewer suggested and it was wonerful! (something not to make while on a diet though!)
(14)
Rating: 5 stars
10/24/2011
I make a version of this that my husband's side of the family asks me to make EVERY year for Christmas...they call them "those amazing potatoes". I buy the o'brien style of shredded hashbrowns that have the onion & green pepper in them. If you can't find them put in your own onion&green pepper...it adds alot of flavor. I never add butter to this dish with all the cheese sour cream & cream soup it's not necessary and you won't miss it trust me! I also like to add fresh minced garlic to the mix...and I also never bother thawing out the hashbrowns as this recipie implies (with the need to press out the excess water) just mix it all together with the hashbrowns in their frozen state. Other soups work nicely too. We have a vegetarian in the family so instead of cream of chicken I use cream of onion (great flavor booster!) cream of celery or cream of potato. Since I always double this for a crowd I use two different types of soup. Cr. of onion is my favorite though! If you want crispy browned edges remove the foil or lid half way through baking. When it's all bubbly & browned around the edges it's done. It takes a little over an hour and when doubled takes more like 1 1/2 hrs. or so. I also think the chips make it too greasy. 2 cups of coursely crushed corn flakes (cereal) mixed with 1/2 c. melted butter is better I think. If you use durkee fried onions put them on the last 10-15 min. or they will burn! Don't forget to spray baking dish w/nonstick spray!!!!
(14)