31 Ratings
  • 5 star values: 25
  • 4 star values: 3
  • 3 star values: 2
  • 2 star values: 1
  • 1 star values: 0

This is the way Mexican cooks prepare chicken - so tender and flavorful! Looks complicated, but it is really so easy. Garnish with chopped avocado, onion, radish or cheese, if you want. You could serve this with Mexican rice and/or beans, or just some fresh fruit (mango, pineapple, papaya, etc.)

Advertisement

Ingredients

6
Original recipe yields 6 servings
The ingredient list now reflects the servings specified

Directions

  • Remove the stems, seeds, and membranes from the ancho chiles and guajillo chiles, then soak in hot water until softened, about 20 minutes.

    Advertisement
  • Meanwhile, bring a pot of water to a boil. Remove the stems from the tomatoes, then cut a shallow X on the bottom. Drop the tomatoes into the water, and cook uncovered until the skin begins to peel off, about 30 seconds. Drain in a colander, then immediately immerse in ice water for several minutes until cold to stop the cooking process. Once the tomatoes are cold, peel the skin off. Drain chiles and transfer to a blender along with the peeled tomatoes, garlic, onion, and chicken broth. Blend until smooth.

  • Heat 1/2 of the corn oil in a saucepan over medium heat. Stir in the chile mixture, then reduce heat to low and simmer for 10 minutes. Season with salt. Heat the remaining corn oil in a large skillet over medium-high heat. Brown the chicken legs in 2 batches and remove from the skillet.

  • Stir the chorizo into the same skillet; cook and stir until the chorizo is evenly browned. Drain any excess oil and stir in 1 cup of the chile sauce. Return the chicken to the skillet, along with the remaining chile sauce. Bring to a simmer and continue cooking until chicken is tender, 1 hour to 1 hour and 15 minutes.

Partner Tip

Try using a Reynolds® slow cooker liner in your slow cooker for easier cleanup.

Nutrition Facts

500 calories; 33.5 g total fat; 133 mg cholesterol; 562 mg sodium. 8.6 g carbohydrates; 40.2 g protein; Full Nutrition


Reviews (24)

Read All Reviews

Most helpful positive review

Rating: 5 stars
12/08/2009
I followed this recipe exactly with the one exception that I did not "salt to taste". It came out perfect. Very delicious and dusky tasting. Served it with Spanish rice. The chili's used in the recipe are not especially hot and work very well to make this an extremely savory dish. If you prefer a hotter dish I would recommend using a hot chorizo sausage as opposed to a mild one. Read More
(30)

Most helpful critical review

Rating: 2 stars
01/20/2010
We really didn't care for this. I had high hopes but it just was not suited to our tastes. The sauce was not spicy at all but the flavour just tasted too much like the dried peppers. Read More
(5)
31 Ratings
  • 5 star values: 25
  • 4 star values: 3
  • 3 star values: 2
  • 2 star values: 1
  • 1 star values: 0
Rating: 5 stars
12/08/2009
I followed this recipe exactly with the one exception that I did not "salt to taste". It came out perfect. Very delicious and dusky tasting. Served it with Spanish rice. The chili's used in the recipe are not especially hot and work very well to make this an extremely savory dish. If you prefer a hotter dish I would recommend using a hot chorizo sausage as opposed to a mild one. Read More
(30)
Rating: 5 stars
05/11/2010
I make my own red chili sauce a lot as I love New Mexican style cooking. I toast the chilis first very briefly in a hot iron skillet to bring out the flavors. It only takes 20-30 seconds on each side but be careful not to burn them. I also toast and grind whole cumin seeds to add to the sauce. You can spice it up a bit too with a variety of chilis. Add a dried chipotle chili to the mix for a smokier and more spicy sauce. Chilis by themselves might tend to make a sauce that's somewhat bitter. You can temper that by adding a small can of tomato sauce if you like. Read More
(23)
Rating: 5 stars
05/17/2010
This was great and very authentic tasting. As a previous post said it has that "dusky" flavor earthy which is what separates real mexican food from a chalupa from taco bell. The dried peppers are the key. One thing I will say is make sure you really grind the peppers finely in your food processor for several minutes. I don't think I did this enough and was left with lots of little pieces of the dried pepper skin in the sauce which are tough and fibrous like having slivers of crab cartalige in your crabcakes if you don't pick over the meat enough. Also add your salt at the end to avoid oversalting if your chorizo is salty. I took the advice of other posts and added one chipotle pepper for heat. Really this was a great sauce as far a flavor goes. I boned and shredded the chicken back into the sauce then served it wrapped in warm flour tortillas. Thanks for the recipe! Read More
(19)
Advertisement
Rating: 5 stars
12/10/2009
This was very good I followed the directions almost exactly. I did add a few extra chile de arbol pepper to make it a little more spicy. I served it with cilantro lime rice and tortillas. Thanks for the great recipe. Read More
(13)
Rating: 5 stars
07/27/2010
Great sauce. My first attempt using dried chiles. The sauce is so good that I think I'm going to skip the chicken next time and just pour it over roasted veggies and rice. Will cook it for the hour first so it will thicken. Thanks for sharing. Read More
(10)
Rating: 5 stars
03/21/2011
Excellent - thanks to the other reviewers for some tips. I toasted the chiles on a cast iron skillet. I then separately chopped them up in a food processor before adding them to the blender. Chorizo? I really couldn't detect where it added a lot of flavor - not sure if I would add it the next time - or maybe add in more Might be good with a tomato salad on the side next time. Excellent flavor - not too difficult to make. Will be having again! Read More
(10)
Advertisement
Rating: 5 stars
12/08/2010
Superb and easy too! I subbed a can of diced tomato and boneless skinless chicken breasts but otherwise followed the recipe. It was so delicious I can't wait to share it! Read More
(9)
Rating: 5 stars
01/19/2011
I would add only 1/4 lb of chorizo because 1 lb made the sauce too thick for my taste but awesome recipe anyways. My husband loved it as is! Thanks MexicoKarin I needed a new chorizo recipe! Read More
(8)
Rating: 5 stars
01/07/2010
This was great! Followed recipe minus the chorizo. Read More
(6)