35 Ratings
  • 5 star values: 17
  • 4 star values: 12
  • 3 star values: 4
  • 1 star values: 1
  • 2 star values: 1

Smooth and delicious beef and potato curry with peanuts. I created a slow-cooker version of this famous Thai dish. This is easy to cook and does not take much time to prepare. It goes well with a scented white rice and steamed veggies as a side.

Advertisement

Ingredients

6
Original recipe yields 6 servings
The ingredient list now reflects the servings specified

Directions

  • Place the potatoes and onion in a slow cooker.

    Advertisement
  • Melt the butter in a skillet over medium-high heat. Cook the beef and garlic together in the melted butter until the beef is browned on all sides. Transfer the beef and garlic to the slow cooker while keeping the beef drippings in the skillet.

  • Return the skillet to the medium-high heat. Stir the coconut milk, peanut butter, and curry powder into the reserved beef drippings; cook and stir until the peanut butter melts. Pour the coconut milk mixture into the slow cooker. Turn the slow cooker on to Low; stir the fish sauce, brown sugar, and beef broth into the slow cooker.

  • Cook on Low until the beef is fork-tender, 4 to 6 hours. Stir the peanuts into the curry about 30 minutes before serving.

Partner Tip

Try using a Reynolds® slow cooker liner in your slow cooker for easier cleanup.

Nutrition Facts

545 calories; 40.5 g total fat; 53 mg cholesterol; 1029 mg sodium. 29.3 g carbohydrates; 21.3 g protein; Full Nutrition


Reviews (27)

Read All Reviews

Most helpful positive review

Rating: 5 stars
07/06/2009
Low sodium broth or homemade broth low salt or no-salt-added peanut butter will greatly lower the sodium content. of this recipe.
(18)

Most helpful critical review

Rating: 1 stars
11/02/2014
This recipe turned out amazing! As close to restaurant curry as I've gotten at home. One adjustment: I used chicken instead of beef
35 Ratings
  • 5 star values: 17
  • 4 star values: 12
  • 3 star values: 4
  • 1 star values: 1
  • 2 star values: 1
Rating: 5 stars
07/06/2009
Low sodium broth or homemade broth low salt or no-salt-added peanut butter will greatly lower the sodium content. of this recipe.
(18)
Rating: 2 stars
07/21/2009
Made this tonight exactly per recipe with sushi rice. It was alright although it mainly just made me crave a local Thai restaurant. It's not very spicy. I think it could be improved but I probably won't make it again. If I were to make it again I'd cut back on the beef broth. The sauce was a bit thin.
(13)
Rating: 4 stars
07/23/2009
We loved this. The flavor is very mild - not at all spicey. Worked wonderfuly with a peanut noodle dish and a super spicey cucumber salad. I didn't peel the potatoes before chunking them up which helped them hold up to the long cooking process. This will be a go to meal on busy weeknights.
(11)
Advertisement
Rating: 5 stars
02/14/2011
I cheated a little-- I added a little bit of cayenne for kick and cashew paste to make it a little thicker then served it over rice.. super easy and yummy!
(7)
Rating: 5 stars
08/19/2009
Great recipe the only alteration I made was using a low-sodium broth and cutting back a bit on the sugar. I added a bit of spice by chopping up a couple of dried red chillies and it worked out pretty good.
(5)
Rating: 5 stars
08/30/2010
This was just as good as the Mussaman Curry at the Thai restaurant we frequent! Fabulous!
(4)
Advertisement
Rating: 4 stars
01/20/2016
For reviews who stated this recipe is bland I researched MUSSAMAN curry: it's supposed to be a RICH MILD curry. Caveat Thai mild is not USA mild! This recipe is a solid base and can be 5 stars (maybe not Thai 5 star) with a few adjustments: When browning meat: add garlic cloves & pepper of your choice ( I used 5 dried chile de arbol). Tip: If chiles are not cut open exposing seeds it really lessens the spiciness. High quality peanut butter matters!! Use fresh grind or an unsweet type (I used "Tree of Life" crunchy PB). I used a generous helping of PB and increased coconut milk by about a 1/2 can. To the crock pot I added: 1 stick cinnamon and 4 dried lime leaves (Keffir if you can find) also kept those dried chiles in. Added 1 more large fresh garlic clove to pot with 1 hour of cook time left. More optional pot adds: white pepper tamarind paste fresh lemongrass (I didn't have these on hand). When cooking is finished discard the chiles. SERVING TOPPINGS: try pickled ginger cilantro or roasted peanuts. I chose to serve steamed broccoli and carrots on the side with this dish. The whole dish was flavorful rich and super delicious. I will make it again!
(4)
Rating: 4 stars
05/17/2010
Very good I substituted Thai red curry paste for the curry powder otherwise made it as is.
(4)
Rating: 5 stars
02/02/2011
Thank you! Finally was able to make a curry that was edible. lol It was really good not quite as good as my fav thai place but i'm sure she knows a bit more about making curry than i do. I didn't have thai fish sauce so i used worcheshire sauce also just cooked on stove top all day. man did it smell wonderful in my house
(3)