Rating: 4.8 stars
81 Ratings
  • 5 star values: 69
  • 4 star values: 9
  • 3 star values: 2
  • 2 star values: 1
  • 1 star values: 0

I found this recipe just lying around so I decided to make it. They are so much fun to make! They taste really good too!

Recipe Summary test

prep:
4 hrs 15 mins
cook:
20 mins
total:
4 hrs 35 mins
Servings:
24
Yield:
2 dozen
Advertisement

Ingredients

24
Original recipe yields 24 servings
The ingredient list now reflects the servings specified
Ingredient Checklist

Directions

Instructions Checklist
  • In a medium bowl, cream together the butter and sugar until smooth. Beat in the water and vanilla. Stir in the flour and pecans until well blended. Cover dough and chill for at least four hours.

    Advertisement
  • Preheat oven to 325 degrees F (165 degrees C). Shape dough into walnut sized balls or crescents. Place 2 inches apart onto unprepared cookie sheets.

  • Bake for 18 to 20 minutes in the preheated oven, until golden. Roll in confectioners' sugar while still warm.

Nutrition Facts

153 calories; protein 1.6g; carbohydrates 12.4g; fat 11g; cholesterol 20.3mg; sodium 54.7mg. Full Nutrition
Advertisement

Reviews (86)

Most helpful positive review

Rating: 5 stars
12/29/2008
This cookie is the most requested cookie I bake. I have had this recipe for many years and have been making them every year for Christmas for over a decade. I have to make about 9 batches of batter to accommodate all of the people on my cookie list, some of which start asking for these cookies around the end of November. This recipe is great as it is written and the key is the sifted flour and refrigerating the batter for a few hours, it makes them tender and fluffy. A tip for working with the chilled dough would be to roll the dough prior to chilling and put parchment between the layers so they don’t stick to each other while in the refrigerator. I let them cool completely before rolling them in the powered sugar so they don’t get too sticky and this also keeps them from falling apart. There is so much butter in this recipe that even completely cooled they absorb the powered sugar and this also keeps them from becoming overly sweet. They are melt in your mouth delicious!! Read More
(64)

Most helpful critical review

Rating: 3 stars
01/21/2019
This recipe matches one that has been passed down in my family; we omit the water and chill the dough for only two hours. I haven't made them in decades but when I made them today they came out flat like a typical cookie instead of in a round ball. Anyone know what I did wrong? Read More
81 Ratings
  • 5 star values: 69
  • 4 star values: 9
  • 3 star values: 2
  • 2 star values: 1
  • 1 star values: 0
Rating: 5 stars
12/29/2008
This cookie is the most requested cookie I bake. I have had this recipe for many years and have been making them every year for Christmas for over a decade. I have to make about 9 batches of batter to accommodate all of the people on my cookie list, some of which start asking for these cookies around the end of November. This recipe is great as it is written and the key is the sifted flour and refrigerating the batter for a few hours, it makes them tender and fluffy. A tip for working with the chilled dough would be to roll the dough prior to chilling and put parchment between the layers so they don’t stick to each other while in the refrigerator. I let them cool completely before rolling them in the powered sugar so they don’t get too sticky and this also keeps them from falling apart. There is so much butter in this recipe that even completely cooled they absorb the powered sugar and this also keeps them from becoming overly sweet. They are melt in your mouth delicious!! Read More
(64)
Rating: 5 stars
09/28/2002
These are great cookies. I used 2 cups of minced pecans instead of 1, the consistency was perfect. I made alot of them and put most in a container in the freezer. When company stops by I take a handful out and they thaw in minutes! Read More
(49)
Rating: 5 stars
12/13/2006
Melt-in-your mouth goodness! These tender and flavorful cookies are very easy to make. The dough is easy to handle. I used pecans purchased online direct from a grower ($2 cheaper per pound than at the grocery store!), and double-strength pure vanilla extract. I have tried other recipes through the years in a quest to find THE BEST Mexican Wedding Cakes/Russian Tea Cakes/Viennese Crescents...with the discovery of this recipe, my search is over. Read More
(31)
Advertisement
Rating: 5 stars
12/14/2002
I made this recipe as gifts this year for Christmas just as my grandmother and I would do years ago with the same recipe when I was a child. It's excellent and the cookies are always well received. Everyone loves and enjoys them! Read More
(17)
Rating: 5 stars
08/26/2010
I had never had these freshly baked. I've only had the Sandies that are store bought. I decided to make them for my boyfriend, since he loves the store bought ones, and I think I just secured an engagement ring.. lol They came out awesome! I didn't alter one thing. It does seem like a lot of butter, but they came out great, so I don't want to mess with a good thing. Read More
(17)
Rating: 5 stars
10/10/2006
These were good quick and easy. I ran out of butter so I used 1/2 butter and 1/2 margarine and they came out fine. I chilled the dough in the freezer for about 45 minutes (until firm enough to roll) instead of the fridge for 4 hours. Read More
(12)
Advertisement
Rating: 5 stars
12/08/2006
This recipe was really tasty. I was surprised that such a small amount of sugar could taste sweet. I did make mines 1/2c of sugar though. I like the cookies even without the powdered sugar. And I did not sit the dough in fridge for 4 hours. M butter was softened room temp. and the dough was stiff enough to cook after mixing. And while the first batch cooked, I put the remains in the freezer. So part of it chilled for the 20 mins. of cook time for the first batch. They are really yummy. I will make this for christmas! Read More
(11)
Rating: 5 stars
04/21/2003
I used almonds instead of pecans and made these for Easter and they were such a hit. I also made sure I had plenty of powdered sugar to really coat the cookies. These are great!!! Read More
(11)
Rating: 5 stars
12/10/2011
Excellent! Made for Christmas party - quick & easy. Rolled part of the sandies in confectioners' sugar and part I decorated with chocolate chips which I had placed in a plastic bag microwaved for about 40 seconds snipped corner and drizzled the melted chocolate on the sandies. Topped with ground pecans. Delicious! These are addictive! Read More
(8)
Rating: 3 stars
01/21/2019
This recipe matches one that has been passed down in my family; we omit the water and chill the dough for only two hours. I haven't made them in decades but when I made them today they came out flat like a typical cookie instead of in a round ball. Anyone know what I did wrong? Read More