17 Ratings
  • 4 star values: 7
  • 5 star values: 7
  • 3 star values: 2
  • 1 star values: 1

Chicken breasts lightly seasoned with salt and pepper, then baked in a creamy mushroom mixture. A great chicken dinner that makes its own gravy. It came from my cook when I was a little girl named Leddie.

Advertisement

Ingredients

6
Original recipe yields 6 servings
The ingredient list now reflects the servings specified

Directions

  • Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C).

    Advertisement
  • Place chicken in a lightly greased 9x13 inch baking dish and season with salt and pepper to taste. Melt butter in a small saucepan over low heat; add green onion and saute for 1 minute, then stir in soup and water. Mix well and pour mixture over chicken.

  • Bake at 350 degrees F (175 degrees C) for 60 minutes, or until chicken is cooked through and no longer pink inside.

Nutrition Facts

244 calories; 13.5 g total fat; 88 mg cholesterol; 444 mg sodium. 4 g carbohydrates; 25.6 g protein; Full Nutrition

Reviews (11)

Read All Reviews

Most helpful positive review

Rating: 5 stars
01/24/2003
Yum!! This was a great dish. It was so easy. We had it with mashed potatoes and it worked great. It made really good gravy also. The green onions really added flavor. This was a great and easy recipie. Thanks!!
(10)

Most helpful critical review

Rating: 3 stars
10/18/2006
The chicken came out so tenter and soft. It tasted ok nothing special. My family liked it so i would make it again. Instead of 1/4 cup of butter I used 1/8. I give 3 and half stars.
(2)
17 Ratings
  • 4 star values: 7
  • 5 star values: 7
  • 3 star values: 2
  • 1 star values: 1
Rating: 5 stars
01/24/2003
Yum!! This was a great dish. It was so easy. We had it with mashed potatoes and it worked great. It made really good gravy also. The green onions really added flavor. This was a great and easy recipie. Thanks!!
(10)
Rating: 4 stars
08/15/2003
I liked the flavor of this dish and my husband who doesn't like chicken much liked it. The only thing I would do differently is cut back on the water so the sauce will be thicker.
(9)
Rating: 5 stars
05/12/2010
Simple yet surprisingly delicious! I used finely chopped white onion instead of the green sliced the chicken and served over white rice it was absolutely great!
(6)
Advertisement
Rating: 4 stars
01/24/2003
Very good a keeper!
(4)
Rating: 4 stars
03/18/2007
This smelled W-O-N-D-E-R-F-U-L!!! I made some brown rice and peas to accompany the dish. All the flavors blended well together!!
(3)
Rating: 5 stars
09/10/2008
This was a big hit in my home. My husband was not sure about it because it had cream of mushroom but as soon as he tried it he loved it. I did add just a little bit of cornstarch to gravy to make it thicker and a little less water. It is great with mashed potatoes.
(2)
Advertisement
Rating: 3 stars
10/18/2006
The chicken came out so tenter and soft. It tasted ok nothing special. My family liked it so i would make it again. Instead of 1/4 cup of butter I used 1/8. I give 3 and half stars.
(2)
Rating: 5 stars
06/22/2005
We made this then shredded the chicken mixed it back in with the gravy/sauce and served it on top of the "Classic Waffles" recipe in here. It was a really really good combo. I didn't add the green onion because my daughter doesn't like them. this is definately comfort food!
(2)
Rating: 5 stars
11/01/2010
The simplicity of this recipe is what makes it so great! I used cream of chicken instead of mushroom because I didn't have any and it still came out great. Make good gravey for the garlic mashed potatoes I served with it! Enjoyed by all.
(1)