Open, sesame! This is a family favorite. For a variation, you can also use bone-in chicken pieces, but be sure to increase the cooking time in this case. Tip: To toast sesame seeds, place in a baking dish in a heated oven for about 5 to 10 minutes, watching carefully not to burn.

Advertisement

Ingredients

4
Original recipe yields 4 servings
The ingredient list now reflects the servings specified

Directions

  • Preheat oven to 400 degrees F (200 degrees C).

    Advertisement
  • Place soy sauce in a 9x13 inch baking dish. On a piece of wax paper, mix together the sesame seeds, flour, salt and pepper. Dip the chicken pieces in the soy sauce to coat, then dredge in the sesame seed mixture. Arrange in baking dish in a single layer, then drizzle with melted butter.

  • Bake at 400 degrees F (200 degrees C) for approximately 40 minutes, or until chicken is cooked through and tender and juices run clear. Baste with drippings once during cooking time. Garnish with extra sesame seeds if desired, and serve.

Partner Tip

Reynolds® Aluminum foil can be used to keep food moist, cook it evenly, and make clean-up easier.

Nutrition Facts

252 calories; 13.1 g total fat; 82 mg cholesterol; 697 mg sodium. 5.9 g carbohydrates; 27.1 g protein; Full Nutrition


Reviews (293)

Read More Reviews

Most helpful positive review

Rating: 5 stars
01/26/2004
My entire family enjoyed this even my 8-year old daughter who rarely eats anything new. To eliminate the problem several reviewers mentioned of the sauce burning in the bottom of the baking dish I put it in a separate bowl and dipped the chicken in that. I used a tablespoon each of regular soy sauce and low-sodium teriyaki sauce and added a shake or two of garlic powder to that. I didn't use salt or pepper in the flour/sesame seed mixture. When I basted the chicken about halfway through baking I DID add a couple of shakes of the teriyaki sauce to the pan mixed it with the butter and spooned that over the chicken. I baked this for 30 minutes only and it was perfectly done and the sauce didn't have time to burn since I added it halfway through. Yummy! Read More
(97)

Most helpful critical review

Rating: 1 stars
01/28/2004
Sure it's chicken and it also contains sesame seeds - but let's face it: this is NOT what you'd think of as sesame chicken (unless you've never stepped foot in a Chinese restaurant). For one it's baked (sesame chicken is fried) and two it's just coated in soy sauce (sesame chicken has a thick red slightly sweet sauce). Save yourself some effort and just order Chinese take-out -- it's SO much better! Read More
(5)
411 Ratings
  • 5 star values: 145
  • 4 star values: 153
  • 3 star values: 69
  • 2 star values: 26
  • 1 star values: 18
Rating: 5 stars
01/26/2004
My entire family enjoyed this even my 8-year old daughter who rarely eats anything new. To eliminate the problem several reviewers mentioned of the sauce burning in the bottom of the baking dish I put it in a separate bowl and dipped the chicken in that. I used a tablespoon each of regular soy sauce and low-sodium teriyaki sauce and added a shake or two of garlic powder to that. I didn't use salt or pepper in the flour/sesame seed mixture. When I basted the chicken about halfway through baking I DID add a couple of shakes of the teriyaki sauce to the pan mixed it with the butter and spooned that over the chicken. I baked this for 30 minutes only and it was perfectly done and the sauce didn't have time to burn since I added it halfway through. Yummy! Read More
(97)
Rating: 4 stars
01/26/2004
I love reading everyone's reviews and getting ideas of how to improvise and modify recipes to get the taste you like best! I used this recipe as my basic guide and did the following: 1.Marinated small pieces ofboneless chicken breasts in a combo of soy teriyaki and thick maple syrup. 2.Coated the chicken pieces with the flour pepper sesame seed mixturs. 3.Browned the chicken pieces in a little sesame oil. 4.Added more soy teriyaki sesame seeds and maple syrup to the frying pan and cooked slowly until the chicken was done and the sauce was nice and thick and sticky. My husband and I loved this and thought it was very close to chinese restaurant sesame chicken. Read More
(85)
Rating: 4 stars
07/23/2003
I followed previous reviewers' advice and doubled the mixture for the coating which was just enough for 4 chicken breasts. Read More
(47)
Advertisement
Rating: 5 stars
03/25/2003
Very easy and flavorful. I omitted the butter for less fat and after 15 minutes of cooking added about 1/2 cup water to the pan because the soy sauce started burning. It was done in about 28 minutes. Next time I will double the coating ingredients - barely enough for 3 breasts and it calls for 4. I served it with carrot rice (also found on this site) and green peas - great combination! Thanks for the recipe! Read More
(34)
Rating: 5 stars
06/08/2003
Everyone must try this one. It is the best chicken recipe ever. I don't add the salt or pepper though and it still tastes great. Toasting the seeds beforehad is a must for maximum flavor. The chicken is always very moist. So easy to make. Read More
(25)
Rating: 5 stars
02/21/2004
Great - easy simple and tasty. And quick too! Just one suggestion - using just soy sauce makes it too salty. Add some duck sauce or sweet-and-sour sauce (about 1/3 amount of soy sauce) to increase the taste. Sesame seeds can be purchased toasted from the Oriental food market. If there are none in your area toast on the stove in the frying pan but STIR CONSTANTLY; once the seeds start changing yellowish switch the heat off under the pan but KEEP STIRRING - the pan will hold enough heat to finish toasting. Read More
(19)
Advertisement
Rating: 5 stars
01/24/2003
I really liked this recipe. It was extremely easy to make. I did think it was a bit too salty. My daughter thought it was salty too but my son thought it was great. My son thought it should get higher than five stars!! Next time I will leave out the salt. I will definitely make it again. Read More
(19)
Rating: 3 stars
06/08/2003
This recipe had it's share of problems. It also had it share of joys. The mixture was NOT enough to coat maybe even 4 breasts..by the third I had to scrounge of every last bit. I constantly had to add flour and other ingedients to make it through. You also needed to add more soy sauce to the bottom of the pan. It was a bit dry the funny thing is my dad liked it and I did not! Overall I think that I will possibly try it again and will definately add more things to it. This is a good "mess with" recipe...and that is all that it is good for at this point. Suggestion: Try some slices of green pepper on top...do not make this recipe the way that it is noted...you may not like it as well...definatley double even triple on the ingredients!!! Read More
(16)
Rating: 4 stars
02/10/2004
This was a great concept but seemed to be lacking a couple of things. I added some sugar garlic and oyster sauce to the soy sauce mixture. That really put it over the top. Thanks for the good low fat recipe! Read More
(13)