Rating: 4.18 stars
11 Ratings
  • 5 star values: 4
  • 4 star values: 5
  • 3 star values: 2
  • 2 star values: 0
  • 1 star values: 0

My daughter makes this candy every Christmas and is always asked for the recipe. It is really good.

Gallery

Recipe Summary test

prep:
5 mins
cook:
10 mins
total:
15 mins
Servings:
10
Yield:
10 servings
Advertisement

Ingredients

10
Original recipe yields 10 servings
The ingredient list now reflects the servings specified
Ingredient Checklist

Directions

Instructions Checklist
  • In a pan, melt butterscotch chips and peanut butter. Stir in rice cereal when the peanut butter and chips have melted. Stir in peanuts if desired. Transfer mixture into an 8x8 inch casserole dish.

    Advertisement
  • In the top of a double boiler, melt the chocolate chips. Pour the melted chocolate over the top of the candy in the dish and swirl with a fork. Chill and cut into squares to serve.

Nutrition Facts

263 calories; protein 3g; carbohydrates 26.5g; fat 15.1g; sodium 99mg. Full Nutrition
Advertisement

Reviews (11)

Most helpful positive review

Rating: 5 stars
06/06/2003
This is a superior Tiger Butter recipe. Not only were the butterscotch chips far more flavorful than the white chocolate used in other recipes but the appearance was outstanding also with the chocolate chips swirled into it. Great recipe extremely easy and highly recommended!! Helpful hint: Line the 8x8 pan with waxed paper first. After candy is hardened lift waxed paper out. This makes both slicing the candy and clean-up easier. Read More
(21)

Most helpful critical review

Rating: 3 stars
08/29/2002
I made this for my sons cubscout banquet. It was extremely easy to make and my son and husband loved it. It looked very nice. I do recommend using wax paper. And cut into small pieces as it is extremely sweet. Read More
(5)
11 Ratings
  • 5 star values: 4
  • 4 star values: 5
  • 3 star values: 2
  • 2 star values: 0
  • 1 star values: 0
Rating: 5 stars
06/06/2003
This is a superior Tiger Butter recipe. Not only were the butterscotch chips far more flavorful than the white chocolate used in other recipes but the appearance was outstanding also with the chocolate chips swirled into it. Great recipe extremely easy and highly recommended!! Helpful hint: Line the 8x8 pan with waxed paper first. After candy is hardened lift waxed paper out. This makes both slicing the candy and clean-up easier. Read More
(21)
Rating: 5 stars
08/29/2002
This recipe has a great flavor and consistency but it is for the extreme sweet toothe only!! Read More
(9)
Rating: 3 stars
08/29/2002
I made this for my sons cubscout banquet. It was extremely easy to make and my son and husband loved it. It looked very nice. I do recommend using wax paper. And cut into small pieces as it is extremely sweet. Read More
(5)
Advertisement
Rating: 5 stars
12/28/2008
I WAS LOOKING FOR AN EASY RECIPE FOR A GATHERING AND LET ME TELL YOU I HAD EVERYONE TELLING ME THAT THEY NEED THIS RECIPE AND IT IS THE BEST THEY HAD EVER HAD... Read More
(5)
Rating: 4 stars
08/29/2002
I used a little less butterscotch chips and 1 1/2 cups of rice cereal. I didnt cut the cooled candy I just broke it with my hands. Very yummy! Thanks! Read More
(4)
Rating: 5 stars
08/29/2002
I made this for Christmas to give as gifts but there wasn't any left so I had to make another batch. It's really good. I added some peanut butter chips along with the butterscotch chips and it turned out great. I think I'll be making this throughout the year. Thanks Mary Ann. Read More
(3)
Advertisement
Rating: 4 stars
06/10/2011
This was a good start but needs at least 1/2-1 cup more of the crisp rice cereal and probably more peanut butter to butterscotch chips. Like other reviewers I thought they were too sweet but I think with these changes they would be great. Also I forgot the wax paper tip (line the pan with wax paper before spreading the mixture) and deeply regretted it. Next time! Read More
(3)
Rating: 4 stars
08/29/2002
This was quick easy and had good flavor but was way too sweet for my taste. Read More
(2)
Rating: 3 stars
11/28/2011
Good but a little too sweet. Read More
(1)