34 Ratings
  • 5 star values: 24
  • 4 star values: 7
  • 3 star values: 2
  • 2 star values: 1

I love grits, which is strange since I was raised in Wisconsin. My husband on the other hand hates them and he was raised in the south. He however loves these garlicky, cheesy grits. This is a great dish to serve with barbequed ribs or chicken

Advertisement

Ingredients

5
Original recipe yields 5 servings
The ingredient list now reflects the servings specified

Directions

  • Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C). Grease a 2 quart casserole dish.

    Advertisement
  • Bring water to a boil in a large saucepan with garlic and salt. Stir in grits, reduce heat to low, and cook until thick, about 5 minutes, stirring frequently. Remove from heat and stir in cheese and butter until melted. In a small bowl, whisk together egg and milk, then stir into grits. Pour grits mixture into greased casserole dish.

  • Bake in preheated oven for 20 to 25 minutes, until firm.

Nutrition Facts

378 calories; 24.2 g total fat; 93 mg cholesterol; 1181 mg sodium. 26.5 g carbohydrates; 13.7 g protein; Full Nutrition


Reviews (25)

Read All Reviews

Most helpful positive review

Rating: 5 stars
08/30/2005
Very good recipe. The grits was very creamy with just a hint of garlic....just right to me. If you like a stronger garlic flavor you will want to increase the amount. Being from the South however and having cooked grits many times I can tell you that the grits will be less lumpy if you put them into the water before you bring it to a boil.
(31)

Most helpful critical review

Rating: 3 stars
04/07/2015
Baking time was 50 minutes plus 10 minutes under the broiler. I love regular grits but had never tried them baked/as a casserole. I thought they were just okay but hubby liked them (he doesn't like regular grits).
34 Ratings
  • 5 star values: 24
  • 4 star values: 7
  • 3 star values: 2
  • 2 star values: 1
Rating: 5 stars
08/30/2005
Very good recipe. The grits was very creamy with just a hint of garlic....just right to me. If you like a stronger garlic flavor you will want to increase the amount. Being from the South however and having cooked grits many times I can tell you that the grits will be less lumpy if you put them into the water before you bring it to a boil.
(31)
Rating: 5 stars
08/14/2011
I know that there are Velveeta haters out there but honestly folks it works well in this recipe. I used the "light" version it melted quickly and gave these grits a mellow cheesy taste. The garlic flavor is subtle and was just right. The grits were really runny at 25 minutes so I baked an additional 15 minutes. I made this to serve with a dinner entree so I didn't want grits that needed to be spooned out of the dish...that's OK for breakfast but not what I wanted for a dinner side dish. The consistency at 40 minutes was perfect: firm but still very moist and creamy.
(15)
Rating: 5 stars
04/12/2011
I like reviewer Joni made Garlic Cheese Grits for years using the Kraft Garlic Cheese Roll. Kraft discontinued making the garlic cheese roll and I went into mourning. This recipe is very similar very good. The only changes I made were using two eggs instead of one and using 1/4 tsp. garlic powder instead of the chopped garlic. Hint 1: To make smooth grits as opposed to lumpy grits when the water comes to a boil slowly add grits while continuously stirring with a whisk. don;t forget to add the salt. Whisk until grits come to a boil then turn temp to low until grits are thickened and cooked stirring frequently. I place a lid loosely over the grits because when the grits start to thicken the mixture can "pop up" and burn your arm. Hint 2: It is important to temper the egg(s) before adding to the hot grits or there will be scrambled egg pieces in the grits. To temper egg(s) whisk egg(s) in a small bowl thoroughly. Pour some of the grit mixture about 1/2 cup into another small bowl or measuring cup. While whisking eggs slowly pour the grit mixture until all is incorporated. Then add this mixture to the grits. Lastly I do prefer the processed cheese product for this recipe. (I know.)
(12)
Advertisement
Rating: 5 stars
12/15/2005
My family has used a recipe just like this for the several years. It has become a standard at every holiday meal. We all love it including my preschoolers.
(11)
Rating: 5 stars
03/28/2011
Excellent fast easy side dish! I made bbq tilapia tonight and had this as my side dish. I am not a lover of processed cheese and like to keep calories low so I used taco flavored shredded cheese (1/2 cup tops). I only used 2 T butter and I sauteed the garlic in it and added it to the cooked grits. I mixed in the rest and baked. Even my picky husband loved it!
(7)
Rating: 5 stars
07/24/2003
This recipe was easy and goodness it is good couldn't wait for the next meal to eat the leftovers!
(7)
Advertisement
Rating: 5 stars
07/24/2003
Delicious. With some minor personal changes (used less garlic so it would not overpower the children)...these came out very good. My son loved it and requested I make grits like this all the time. Thanx.
(7)
Rating: 5 stars
06/27/2005
these were delicious! i brought them to a supper club and several people who said that they normally hate grits actually went back for seconds!
(5)
Rating: 5 stars
02/09/2006
Excellent! Used two cloves of garlic and it was VERY garlicky. I might add another egg next time because we were hoping it would be a little fluffier. It was perfect (to us) the next day however. Definite keeper!
(4)