104 Ratings
  • 5 star values: 72
  • 4 star values: 27
  • 3 star values: 3
  • 1 star values: 1
  • 2 star values: 1

Tired of green bean casserole? Try this fresh green bean dish that is worthy of the holidays! When I make this at Thanksgiving I double or triple it depending on the number of people coming.

Eric
Advertisement

Ingredients

5
Original recipe yields 5 servings
The ingredient list now reflects the servings specified

Directions

  • Cook the bacon in a large, deep skillet over medium-high heat until crisp, about 10 minutes. Remove the bacon with a slotted spoon and drain on a paper towel-lined plate; return the skillet with the reserved bacon grease to the stove.

    Advertisement
  • Cook the onion in the bacon drippings until soft, 5 to 7 minutes. Stir in the green beans and red pepper flakes; cook another 2 minutes. Pour the boiling water into the skillet and cover the skillet immediately; steam for about 15 minutes, shaking the skillet occasionally to keep the beans from sticking to the bottom. Add the butter, lemon juice, salt, and pepper; cook and stir until the butter is melted, 3 to 5 minutes. Sprinkle the cooked bacon over the beans to serve.

Partner Tip

Reynolds® Aluminum foil can be used to keep food moist, cook it evenly, and make clean-up easier.

Nutrition Facts

105 calories; 7.5 g total fat; 14 mg cholesterol; 116 mg sodium. 7.8 g carbohydrates; 3.1 g protein; Full Nutrition


Reviews (79)

Read All Reviews

Most helpful positive review

Rating: 5 stars
05/11/2009
Wow. These were really delicious and so easy to prepare. Next time I will probably omit the butter as it didn t really add to the taste but it did add to the calories.
(55)

Most helpful critical review

Rating: 1 stars
08/22/2012
Weird mix of flavors. Too much going on.
104 Ratings
  • 5 star values: 72
  • 4 star values: 27
  • 3 star values: 3
  • 1 star values: 1
  • 2 star values: 1
Rating: 5 stars
05/11/2009
Wow. These were really delicious and so easy to prepare. Next time I will probably omit the butter as it didn t really add to the taste but it did add to the calories.
(55)
Rating: 5 stars
06/30/2009
Note: The 2 slices of bacon is a typo it was originally 2 ounces of slab bacon (although I have used sliced bacon with equally god results as well). Thanks for the reviews!
(36)
Rating: 5 stars
06/25/2009
What a fabulous recipe!!! Made these several times and there were no left overs. On one occasion I omitted the bacon and they were just as delicious without it. A delicious recipe for green beans and an easy one to prepare. Will make these many more times in the future.
(30)
Advertisement
Rating: 5 stars
10/05/2010
I only made half a recipe since it was just for Hubs and me so it didn't require 15 minutes to cook the beans until crisp/tender and for them to retain their brilliant color. Bacon makes any vegetable better and I include it frequently but I found the minced onion and lemon to be nice additions that really perked this up. I left out the red pepper flakes and didn't miss it - I don't think including it or not makes these beans any better one way or the other. They'd be delicious either way.
(23)
Rating: 5 stars
08/24/2009
I made this today with fresh picked green beans. I used pork sausage pattie grease instead of bacon and chicken broth instead of water. It was so fun to make and delicious! I will definately make this again and again!
(22)
Rating: 4 stars
04/01/2010
My go-to green bean recipe for nice dinners or when we have people over. The trick is not to overcook!
(14)
Advertisement
Rating: 5 stars
12/23/2010
I made this for a work Christmas party and it was very well recieved--enough that I didn't get to sample it myself! I heard varying comments on the spice from "just enough kick" to "too spicy for me". However the overall opinion was excellent dish. Maybe 1/2 the red pepper flakes for those with spice sensitivities.
(12)
Rating: 4 stars
01/20/2013
I have been making this recipe for a long time but an easier way is to cook the bacon with the onions dry on paper towel save til later. Steam the fresh green beans with garlic salt and pepper until dark green but still crispy. Pour water out from steamer or double broiler return beans to the pan and add the bacon onion mixture stiring until blended. Add some sliced almond on top. I also make these with redskins in one pan as they show on the picture. The bacon seeps into the potatoes and it is a meal in itself.
(11)
Rating: 5 stars
12/07/2011
Excellant! I did leave out the butter to make it a bit healthier. One note I will say if you use frozen "fresh" beans (like those you've frozen out the garden) you do not need nearly the boiling water. I ended up with very watery beans scooping some out for dinner and leaving the rest in the pan while the water reduced. This made the beans get a bit grayer than I'm sure they're supposed to be. But very very yummy! I will be making these for our family Christmas.
(8)