This a great sandwich which is well known here in Chile. Creamy chicken with cooked bell pepper gives this sandwich a nice taste!! You can also make them with cocktail bread for a great appetizer! You can use up to double the mayonnaise for a creamier texture.

Advertisement

Ingredients

2
Original recipe yields 2 servings
The ingredient list now reflects the servings specified

Directions

  • Bring a large pot of water to a boil; add chicken and cook until no longer pink in the center and the juices run clear, about 20 minutes. An instant-read thermometer inserted into the center should read at least 165 degrees F (74 degrees C). Drain, cool and chop.

    Advertisement
  • Bring a small pot of water to a boil; add the bell pepper and cook until soft, about 10 minutes.

  • Combine the bell pepper, chicken, cream, and mayonnaise in a food processor. Blend until mostly smooth. Season with salt and pepper. Spread about half of the mixture on each of two slices of bread and sandwich with the remaining bread.

Partner Tip

Reynolds® Aluminum foil can be used to keep food moist, cook it evenly, and make clean-up easier.

Nutrition Facts

505 calories; 32 g total fat; 78 mg cholesterol; 548 mg sodium. 28.2 g carbohydrates; 25.3 g protein; Full Nutrition


Reviews (35)

Read More Reviews

Most helpful positive review

Rating: 5 stars
02/09/2009
This is SO good! I made it for lunch and had it again for dinner! I had to cheat a little because I didn't have heavy cream. I used a teaspoon of skim milk and about a teaspoon of sour cream to thicken it a bit. Turned out very well. The flavor gets even better after it sits for a while. I ate it with baby spinach leaves for lunch and for dinner I had it on toasted wheat bread. Thank you Katie! This is a keeper! Read More
(36)

Most helpful critical review

Rating: 1 stars
04/20/2010
love chicken salad and red peppers but this did not work for me Read More
39 Ratings
  • 5 star values: 19
  • 4 star values: 13
  • 3 star values: 6
  • 2 star values: 0
  • 1 star values: 1
Rating: 4 stars
06/13/2012
I actually used leftover shredded "mexican" chicken in this recipe and reduced fat mayonnaise. I wanted a little more kick so I tossed in some chopped pickled jalapenos. I made a wrap out of this filling it out a bit with shredded lettuce halved cherry tomatoes and a little shredded sharp cheddar cheese. Simple and delicious. Read More
(75)
Rating: 4 stars
08/18/2010
Sometimes the simplest recipes turn out to be some of the best! I love chicken salad and I had two leftover herb grilled chicken breasts and a lonely red bell pepper that needed to be used up before grocery night. What a pleasant surprise this little recipe turned out to be! I cooked the bell pepper as instructed and put everything into the food processor along with the salt pepper as well as a bit of garlic and onion powders. I didn't have any heavy cream so I used half and half with light mayo (added a little more than called for). I let this chill for an hour before serving. This chicken salad was creamy and delicious. It was perfect on melba toast and next time I might try it in a wrap! Thanks for a really great recipe. Read More
(56)
Rating: 5 stars
02/09/2009
This is SO good! I made it for lunch and had it again for dinner! I had to cheat a little because I didn't have heavy cream. I used a teaspoon of skim milk and about a teaspoon of sour cream to thicken it a bit. Turned out very well. The flavor gets even better after it sits for a while. I ate it with baby spinach leaves for lunch and for dinner I had it on toasted wheat bread. Thank you Katie! This is a keeper! Read More
(36)
Advertisement
Rating: 5 stars
01/03/2009
Yum. This is almost exactly the recipe I use for chicken salad--I usually add diced celery too. It is good with or without the cream with or without the celery but always must have the red pepper. it is amazing and simple. I've used poached chicken and I've used canned chicken (kirkland). It's really really good! Thanks for posting this! Read More
(27)
Rating: 4 stars
03/30/2011
Very interesting recipe one I didn t understand correctly until I started to prepare it. I should know better than to proceed on a recipe before reading it through! The idea of the red pepper really appealed to me (I took a shortcut and microwaved it) - but what threw me was when I (finally) noticed that the chicken was to be blended in the food processor along with the red pepper mayo and cream. With all respect to the submitter that did NOT appeal to me although I understand that foods you grew up with you don t necessarily think of as odd when others not familiar with it might. For me it was I envisioned basically homemade baby food. So instead I pureed the red pepper mayonnaise and cream and it made an exquisitely beautiful sauce but it was pretty blah tasting. I doctored it up with some garlic salt a shot of Worcestershire sauce and some chopped green onion and not only was it an instant fix it was wonderful. I mixed that sauce up with the chicken and I had the chunkiness and flavor I desired. I wanted something a little more interesting than just sandwiching it between two slices of white bread so I used it along with strips of bacon fresh baby spinach and tortillas to make wraps and they were AWESOME good! To complete the meal I served them with a hearty bowl of chicken minestrone. Read More
(24)
Rating: 5 stars
02/09/2009
This is really good. I doubled the recipe and roasted the pepper in the oven (sliced in half layed skin side up on a cookie sheet and broiled about 15 minutes then put in a bowl and covered with a towel for about 15 min to steam then peeled off the skin). I really like the consistency of the pureed chicken. It's a nice change of pace from a lunchmeat sandwich. Read More
(19)
Advertisement
Rating: 5 stars
04/01/2010
This is something I do all the time. I brine skin-on bone-in chicken breasts in salted water overnight. Doesn't have to be real salty but the results are very flavorful and moist chicken. Drain pat dry. Rub with olive oil sprinkle with Cavendars Greek Seasoning and here's the kicker slip 2 or 3 whole basil leaves under the skin. Line a cookie sheet with foil place the chicken on a wire rack on the cookie sheet. Roast in a preheated 425F oven for about 1 hour depending on the size of the breasts. Remove tent with foil and let rest until cooled. Remove the skin debone chop. I love adding roasted red bell pepper golden raisins and depending on my mood maybe some curry powder maybe not. A touch of honey is nice garlic powder black pepper. Just play with it. The combinations are endless. Read More
(11)
Rating: 5 stars
01/11/2010
I have made this about 5 times now and it is now a part of my recipe portfolio. My compliments are to the submitter and too the reviewers for giving great suggestions for modifying the recipe when necessary. Great job! Read More
(9)
Rating: 5 stars
08/17/2009
Oh my this is so good! I love the simplicity of this recipe. I actually boiled my bell peppers together with the chicken removing them in 10 minutes as the recipe stated. I had this on French Bread Rolls to Die For (recipe also on this site) and it was simply delicious. Thanks for sharing your recipe Katie. Definitely one I'll be making often! Read More
(9)