A juicy breast of chicken that even the kids will enjoy.

Advertisement

Ingredients

4
Original recipe yields 4 servings
The ingredient list now reflects the servings specified

Directions

  • Preheat the oven's broiler and set the oven rack about 6 inches from the heat source. Line a 10x12 inch pan with aluminum foil.

    Advertisement
  • Use the tip of a sharp boning or paring knife to cut 3 small slits into the side of each chicken breast; insert a slice of garlic into each slit.

  • Mix the rosemary, thyme, and sage together on a shallow dish; roll and press each chicken breast into the herb mixture to coat.

  • Arrange the breasts close together on the foil-lined pan. Place carrots and red potatoes in a layer around chicken and fold up edges of foil approximately 1 inch. Drizzle carrots and red potatoes with olive oil, salt, and pepper.

  • Cook in the preheated oven for 7 minutes; turn the chicken and cook until no longer pink in the center and the juices run clear, 7 to 10 minutes more. An instant-read thermometer inserted into the center should read at least 165 degrees F (74 degrees C).

Partner Tip

Reynolds® Aluminum foil can be used to keep food moist, cook it evenly, and make clean-up easier.

Nutrition Facts

212 calories; 6.3 g total fat; 65 mg cholesterol; 392 mg sodium. 12.8 g carbohydrates; 25 g protein; Full Nutrition


Reviews (22)

Read More Reviews

Most helpful positive review

Rating: 5 stars
01/05/2010
Actually baked instead of broiling added red pepper and onion strips in addition to carrots. Used boneless chicken breast pieces instead of and substituted minced garlic for the garlic powder. Also added a little lemon juice as suggested in a review. Baked at 400 covered for 40 minutes then added the carrots red peppers and onions; reduced heat to 350 and finished cooking (20 minutes) uncovered. Was delicious!! I am definitely going to make this again! Read More
(73)

Most helpful critical review

Rating: 1 stars
08/08/2019
This recipe is Ill-conceived. The chicken dries out and the veggies are undercooked. My partner (for whom I do the cooking) commented Well at leas t you didn t poison us. Next time I ll bake it in some chicken stock to ensure flavor absorption and even doneness. This recipe in its current form should be removed. Read More
30 Ratings
  • 5 star values: 14
  • 4 star values: 11
  • 3 star values: 2
  • 2 star values: 1
  • 1 star values: 2
Rating: 5 stars
01/05/2010
Actually baked instead of broiling added red pepper and onion strips in addition to carrots. Used boneless chicken breast pieces instead of and substituted minced garlic for the garlic powder. Also added a little lemon juice as suggested in a review. Baked at 400 covered for 40 minutes then added the carrots red peppers and onions; reduced heat to 350 and finished cooking (20 minutes) uncovered. Was delicious!! I am definitely going to make this again! Read More
(73)
Rating: 5 stars
05/04/2009
The ingredients are simple the time to prepare and cook it is minimal and the taste is above average. 5 stars in my book. I did give it an extra five or so minutes through to ensure the potatoes we cooked through and browned up. Read More
(21)
Rating: 4 stars
01/01/2010
I loved the veggies in this-they were delicious-since they're cut up to 1" pieces they do cook in time. My chicken was a bit dry...the breasts were thick so I butterflied them but it still took a while to get them cooked-maybe an extra 3 minutes but then it was too much. Next time I'll try to get actual 4 oz chicken breasts and maybe pound them a little first. Overall easy fast and good. Read More
(12)
Advertisement
Rating: 5 stars
10/15/2010
This was FANTASTIC! Normally I don't keep cloves in the house or sage. Asked my husband to pick them up on the way home. So glad I did! Everyone raved about this. Added yellow and red pepper strips to the carrots. Used leftover small cooked red and white potatoes just added them in at the first turning. Based on comments I was worried about it drying out. But without lemon juice in the house I put a small glob of margarine atop each breast and everything turned out perfect! Fabulous! Will definitely make again and sooo pleased to have chicken done so quickly!!! Read More
(8)
Rating: 4 stars
01/25/2011
Fabulous recipe but I baked instead of broiling. I baked under tinfoil at 400 for 40 minutes and then without for 20. I added the veggies for the last 20 minutes. The chicken was a little dry and I think next time I'll cook it for less time. Read More
(6)
Rating: 5 stars
02/20/2012
We are chicken lovers and this went over well with my husband and 3 kids. I used Italian Seasoning instead of the fresh rosemary thyme and sage because I didn't have it on hand. I sprinkled it over the breasts and veggies (of which I added sliced bell pepper and onions) while in the pan. Drizzled EVOO over all and sprinkled garlic salt and ground pepper. This is instead of inserting garlic into the chicken. Squeezed half a lemon over chicken. Placed pan about 8 inches from heat source cooked 10 min and then flipped chicken and seasoned the other side in same manner as the first side. Cooked an additional 12-16 minutes. They were thick breasts and I kept checking them with the instant therm. so I didn't overcook them. As soon as all four breasts read 165 I declared them done. My husband didn't even use any salt or pepper to season what he dipped up. Said it had great flavor already. A previous review said the seasoning slide off and left a bland flavorless chicken. That didn't happen to my dish in the slightest and the chicken was very moist not dry. Love Love how quick and easy this dish was to fix and cook. Read More
(6)
Advertisement
Rating: 4 stars
08/06/2009
Veggies were awesome but the chicken was a bit dry next time I will try basting the chicken half way thru to see if that helps but it was all still very delicious! Read More
(5)
Rating: 5 stars
02/29/2012
Really Really Good. I followed the advice of some of these reviews & baked it instead. Also I didn't have fresh herbs so I rolled the chicken in poultry seasoning & dry herbs - turned out heavenly. I also used 2 boneless skinless organic & free-range thighs in addition to 2 boneless & skinless breasts...I assure you the thighs were by leaps & bounds more delicious. Read More
(5)
Rating: 5 stars
05/27/2009
This was really good. i didn't have sage so I used basil instead. We will make this again for sure! I cooked it a little longer then it said too but I wont next time it was way to long.just follow the time they say too. Read More
(4)