This is the real thing! Because it must only be handled very lightly, it can never be made in a bread machine.

Advertisement

Ingredients

12
Original recipe yields 12 servings
The ingredient list now reflects the servings specified

Directions

  • Preheat oven to 425 degrees F (220 degrees C). Lightly grease two baking sheets.

    Advertisement
  • In a large bowl, stir together whole wheat flour, white flour, rolled oats, baking soda and salt. Gently mix in the buttermilk until a soft dough is formed. Knead very lightly. Divide dough into 4 pieces; form into rounded flat loaves. Mark each loaf with an 'X' and place on prepared baking sheets.

  • Bake in preheated oven until golden brown, about 30 to 45 minutes.

Partner Tip

Reynolds® parchment can be used for easier cleanup/removal from the pan.

Nutrition Facts

165 calories; 1.3 g total fat; 2 mg cholesterol; 354 mg sodium. 33 g carbohydrates; 7.5 g protein; Full Nutrition


Reviews (144)

Read More Reviews

Most helpful positive review

Rating: 5 stars
04/14/2003
I had Irish Brown Soda Bread at an Irish restaurant in Cincinnati and thought it was delicious. I think that they may have sweetened their bread slightly but I prefer not to have my bread sweetened. I have nothing else to compare this recipe to and assume by the comments from Andrea and another reviewer that this is quite authentic. My husband and I both enjoyed this bread quite well and I plan on making it again and again. I served it with whipped sweet butter and a dinner salad. Read More
(129)

Most helpful critical review

Rating: 1 stars
04/14/2003
This just didn't work out for me. Read More
(21)
169 Ratings
  • 5 star values: 91
  • 4 star values: 50
  • 3 star values: 13
  • 2 star values: 9
  • 1 star values: 6
Rating: 5 stars
04/14/2003
I had Irish Brown Soda Bread at an Irish restaurant in Cincinnati and thought it was delicious. I think that they may have sweetened their bread slightly but I prefer not to have my bread sweetened. I have nothing else to compare this recipe to and assume by the comments from Andrea and another reviewer that this is quite authentic. My husband and I both enjoyed this bread quite well and I plan on making it again and again. I served it with whipped sweet butter and a dinner salad. Read More
(129)
Rating: 4 stars
01/25/2004
This bread was so easy to make & tasted great with the Irish stew we had on St Patrick's Day - I used the instant oats & my second batch turned out better because I flattened out the loaves more - they really rise a lot so need to start out at about one inch thick. Read More
(119)
Rating: 4 stars
04/14/2003
At first I thought the dough was too gooey but I stuck with the recipe and the bread turned out great! My 5-year-old son gobbled up 3 pieces fresh out of the oven. And he's a very picky eater. It was even better the next day. This bread is not for people who like a light fluffy bread. Our family has an Irish background so this is just what we were looking for. Great with soup and salad. Read More
(108)
Advertisement
Rating: 4 stars
09/27/2010
Sorry but there are better recipes for irish brown soda bread. This is OK but needs a bit more flavor. Suggest the following: add 1 tsp. baking powderl 3 ozs. butter (not margarine or shortening) and a tablespoon or so of brown sugar. I think you will find it more interesting. I come from Ireland and have made many many types of this bread. Read More
(61)
Rating: 5 stars
04/14/2003
This recipe was fast and easy to make. The taste is exactly as it is in Ireland. The only downside was that my 11 year old did not like it. Read More
(57)
Rating: 5 stars
06/09/2003
AMAING.. Just like my irish Grandmother used to make. Went well with my Irish Lamb Stew Read More
(34)
Advertisement
Rating: 5 stars
04/14/2003
I took this to a work pot luck on St. Patty's day and everyone asked if it was an old family recipe! I will definately make this again! Read More
(33)
Rating: 2 stars
04/14/2003
I had high hopes for this recipe. But it really had no taste. I have made this in the past with butter and it turned out much tastier. I was really disappointed. Read More
(30)
Rating: 4 stars
04/14/2003
I thought this was easy to make and delicious. My family didn't care much for the taste. Definately a "heavy" bread. Read More
(25)