25 Ratings
  • 5 star values: 20
  • 4 star values: 3
  • 1 star values: 1
  • 3 star values: 1

Jagic is an Assyrian cheese spread that is served on a soft flat bread called lavosh (you can use pita too). It has a refreshing taste of herbs and dill.

Advertisement

Ingredients

20
Original recipe yields 20 servings
The ingredient list now reflects the servings specified

Directions

  • Beat the butter and cottage cheese together in a bowl with a whisk or fork until smooth. Stir in the green onions, celery, jalapeno, dill, and cilantro. Season with salt.

    Advertisement

Partner Tip

Reynolds® Aluminum foil can be used to keep food moist, cook it evenly, and make clean-up easier.

Nutrition Facts

119 calories; 10.8 g total fat; 30 mg cholesterol; 209 mg sodium. 1.3 g carbohydrates; 4.5 g protein; Full Nutrition


Reviews (21)

Read All Reviews

Most helpful positive review

Rating: 5 stars
03/25/2009
This was a REALLY good dip for pita bread & pita chips especially after sitting for an hour so that flavors could meld. It would also be excellent as a sandwich spread. I used a mini food processor to get a creamy smooth texture which I preferred to the small curds version. I tried it 3 ways: as written; with 1/3 less butter and with yogurt instead of butter. The yogurt version's consistency was more liquid & lacked the rich taste of butter. It was still VERY good in its own right though. An excellent & healthy alternative for those who want/need to reduce butter consumption. The other 2 ways were so similar in taste & texture that I'd make this again with only half the butter. We tasted it as recipe was written; all of us really liked the fresh herby taste. Later I added more cilantro & jalapeno for stronger flavor. I agree with Josephine that this could accompany a Greek meal or any Middle Eastern meal for that matter (especially if yogurt is used for some or all of the butter).
(13)

Most helpful critical review

Rating: 1 stars
03/01/2010
barely ok
(1)
25 Ratings
  • 5 star values: 20
  • 4 star values: 3
  • 1 star values: 1
  • 3 star values: 1
Rating: 5 stars
03/25/2009
This was a REALLY good dip for pita bread & pita chips especially after sitting for an hour so that flavors could meld. It would also be excellent as a sandwich spread. I used a mini food processor to get a creamy smooth texture which I preferred to the small curds version. I tried it 3 ways: as written; with 1/3 less butter and with yogurt instead of butter. The yogurt version's consistency was more liquid & lacked the rich taste of butter. It was still VERY good in its own right though. An excellent & healthy alternative for those who want/need to reduce butter consumption. The other 2 ways were so similar in taste & texture that I'd make this again with only half the butter. We tasted it as recipe was written; all of us really liked the fresh herby taste. Later I added more cilantro & jalapeno for stronger flavor. I agree with Josephine that this could accompany a Greek meal or any Middle Eastern meal for that matter (especially if yogurt is used for some or all of the butter).
(13)
Rating: 5 stars
03/30/2009
And the winner is... This is so different from what I susally make my guests were pleasantly surprised. I reduced the amount of butter I used because of health reasons. That's the only change I made. We are definitely dill fans and the dill flavor was very refreshing. I don't do hot so I made two versions. One as written with a mild amount of minced jalapeno pepper and the second dish had only a slight amount. Since more of the spicier version was eaten I think my guests may have perferred the spicier one. I put the spread in the center of my Lazy Susan and around it I placed triangles and other shapes of a variety of very flavorful breads. I used Dill Rye Sundried tomato & Basil bread Smoked Swiss cheese bread. I had bread sticks pita triangles and several kinds of crackers. The spread has almost a summery back yard taste. This certainly is a keeper for our family.
(11)
Rating: 5 stars
08/12/2009
I made this with "Peppy's Pita Bread" and it was DELICIOUS! The taste was very refreshing for a warm spring day. My husband bought large curd cottage cheese so I had to add milk to make it less chuncky. Also I only used 1/4 jalapeno because 4 and 1 year old were eating it too. Lastly I added a squirt of lemon. Wonderful dish! Although its not Greek I think this would be a lovely addition to my Greek themed meals. Thank you Traci B for sharing such a unique recipe. UPDATE Next time I'll try this with "Syrian Bread."
(11)
Advertisement
Rating: 5 stars
04/06/2009
I didn't change a thing. However unless I am entertaining next time I will cut it in half just for myself. I don't care for Pita chips so I used the 2 x 2 inch deli breads. I had pumpernickel a light rye and whole wheat. Fantastic Traci B.
(6)
Rating: 5 stars
03/30/2009
This was so good. My boys really loved it. I only used half a jalapeno because I can't handle heat and didn't know if it would be too hot it came out perfect for me. Also my store was out of pita bread and I didn't have time to make lavosh so I toasted some tortillas and served it with those and some Club crackers. Thanks for the recipe. I'll be making this again.
(5)
Rating: 5 stars
03/23/2009
I admit I had never heard of Jagic...until I hit this site looking for something new to try. I really loved it. I'm giving it 5 stars because I really enjoyed the flavor combos-exactly my taste. A keeper for me thanks for sharing!
(4)
Advertisement
Rating: 5 stars
08/19/2009
I can't believe I didn't leave a review when I made this! I served this at a Christening party and it was very well received. I had made whole wheat pita bread chips and the combination was excellent. Thanks Traci.
(4)
Rating: 5 stars
03/03/2010
Note from Recipe Submitter: The amounts in this recipe can be played with; this was submitted according to the traditional recipe my Mom has written but I like to "up" the dill and hot peppers.. I also pulse in a micro blender for a few seconds to give it a smoother apprearance.:)
(3)
Rating: 4 stars
03/31/2009
I made this for chips--potato and tortilla for a get together with old friends. I blended up the cottage cheese and the butter along with the jalapeno and herbs. I don't like the texture of cottage cheese too much and wanted it to be more like a chip dip. It worked great people were surprised that it was cottage cheese and butter. The first tastes that day were pleasant like having something very fresh it was after you swallowed that the jalapeno pleasantly hit your taste buds. This made so much that I took it to another get together the next day were the jalapeno and other herbs it was more incorporated. The men folk loved it and people did want to know what was in it.
(2)