25 Ratings
  • 5 Rating Star 20
  • 4 Rating Star 3
  • 1 Rating Star 1
  • 3 Rating Star 1

Jagic is an Assyrian cheese spread that is served on a soft flat bread called lavosh (you can use pita too). It has a refreshing taste of herbs and dill.

prep:
25 mins
total:
25 mins
Servings:
20
Max Servings:
20
Advertisement

Ingredients

Directions

  • Beat the butter and cottage cheese together in a bowl with a whisk or fork until smooth. Stir in the green onions, celery, jalapeno, dill, and cilantro. Season with salt.

    Ads will not print with your recipe

Tip

Aluminum foil helps keep food moist, ensures it cooks evenly, keeps leftovers fresh, and makes clean-up easy.

Nutrition Facts

118.6 calories; 4.47 g protein; 1.34 g carbohydrates; 10.77 g fat; 29.52 mg cholesterol; 209.03 mg sodium.Full Nutrition


Reviews (21)

Read All Reviews

Most helpful positive review

Rhianna
03/25/2009
This was a REALLY good dip for pita bread & pita chips especially after sitting for an hour so that flavors could meld. It would also be excellent as a sandwich spread. I used a mini food processor to get a creamy smooth texture which I preferred to the small curds version. I tried it 3 ways: as written; with 1/3 less butter and with yogurt instead of butter. The yogurt version's consistency was more liquid & lacked the rich taste of butter. It was still VERY good in its own right though. An excellent & healthy alternative for those who want/need to reduce butter consumption. The other 2 ways were so similar in taste & texture that I'd make this again with only half the butter. We tasted it as recipe was written; all of us really liked the fresh herby taste. Later I added more cilantro & jalapeno for stronger flavor. I agree with Josephine that this could accompany a Greek meal or any Middle Eastern meal for that matter (especially if yogurt is used for some or all of the butter).
(13)

Most helpful critical review

Anonymous
03/01/2010
barely ok
(1)
25 Ratings
  • 5 Rating Star 20
  • 4 Rating Star 3
  • 1 Rating Star 1
  • 3 Rating Star 1
Rhianna
03/25/2009
This was a REALLY good dip for pita bread & pita chips especially after sitting for an hour so that flavors could meld. It would also be excellent as a sandwich spread. I used a mini food processor to get a creamy smooth texture which I preferred to the small curds version. I tried it 3 ways: as written; with 1/3 less butter and with yogurt instead of butter. The yogurt version's consistency was more liquid & lacked the rich taste of butter. It was still VERY good in its own right though. An excellent & healthy alternative for those who want/need to reduce butter consumption. The other 2 ways were so similar in taste & texture that I'd make this again with only half the butter. We tasted it as recipe was written; all of us really liked the fresh herby taste. Later I added more cilantro & jalapeno for stronger flavor. I agree with Josephine that this could accompany a Greek meal or any Middle Eastern meal for that matter (especially if yogurt is used for some or all of the butter).
(13)
Josephine Roeper
08/12/2009
I made this with "Peppy's Pita Bread" and it was DELICIOUS! The taste was very refreshing for a warm spring day. My husband bought large curd cottage cheese so I had to add milk to make it less chuncky. Also I only used 1/4 jalapeno because 4 and 1 year old were eating it too. Lastly I added a squirt of lemon. Wonderful dish! Although its not Greek I think this would be a lovely addition to my Greek themed meals. Thank you Traci B for sharing such a unique recipe. UPDATE Next time I'll try this with "Syrian Bread."
(11)
Kitten
03/30/2009
And the winner is... This is so different from what I susally make my guests were pleasantly surprised. I reduced the amount of butter I used because of health reasons. That's the only change I made. We are definitely dill fans and the dill flavor was very refreshing. I don't do hot so I made two versions. One as written with a mild amount of minced jalapeno pepper and the second dish had only a slight amount. Since more of the spicier version was eaten I think my guests may have perferred the spicier one. I put the spread in the center of my Lazy Susan and around it I placed triangles and other shapes of a variety of very flavorful breads. I used Dill Rye Sundried tomato & Basil bread Smoked Swiss cheese bread. I had bread sticks pita triangles and several kinds of crackers. The spread has almost a summery back yard taste. This certainly is a keeper for our family.
(11)
BevF
04/06/2009
I didn't change a thing. However unless I am entertaining next time I will cut it in half just for myself. I don't care for Pita chips so I used the 2 x 2 inch deli breads. I had pumpernickel a light rye and whole wheat. Fantastic Traci B.
(6)
Rae
03/30/2009
This was so good. My boys really loved it. I only used half a jalapeno because I can't handle heat and didn't know if it would be too hot it came out perfect for me. Also my store was out of pita bread and I didn't have time to make lavosh so I toasted some tortillas and served it with those and some Club crackers. Thanks for the recipe. I'll be making this again.
(5)
BigShotsMom
08/19/2009
I can't believe I didn't leave a review when I made this! I served this at a Christening party and it was very well received. I had made whole wheat pita bread chips and the combination was excellent. Thanks Traci.
(4)
Annie47803
03/23/2009
I admit I had never heard of Jagic...until I hit this site looking for something new to try. I really loved it. I'm giving it 5 stars because I really enjoyed the flavor combos-exactly my taste. A keeper for me thanks for sharing!
(4)
Traci-in-Cali
03/03/2010
Note from Recipe Submitter: The amounts in this recipe can be played with; this was submitted according to the traditional recipe my Mom has written but I like to "up" the dill and hot peppers.. I also pulse in a micro blender for a few seconds to give it a smoother apprearance.:)
(3)
cooks4forty
06/22/2009
This is seriously delicious. I added most of the herbs and the celery to the food processor with the butter and cottage cheese. I also did a hand mince on some of the onions and herbs. That way the dip was a lovely pale green and had little chunks of the ingredients. I only used one and a half sticks of butter and will probably only use one next time. Thanks Traci B's Kitchen so sharing something delicious and unique with all of us!
(2)