Rating: 4.4 stars
4204 Ratings
  • 5 star values: 2539
  • 4 star values: 1112
  • 3 star values: 318
  • 2 star values: 148
  • 1 star values: 87

Cubed chicken breast cooked in the slow cooker with a simple, creamy sauce mixture. This is so good, and so easy to make on a busy day. Serve over hot cooked rice, if desired.

Advertisement

Ingredients

4
Original recipe yields 4 servings
The ingredient list now reflects the servings specified

Directions

  • Put chicken, margarine and dressing mix in slow cooker; mix together and cook on low for 5 to 6 hours.

    Advertisement
  • Add cream cheese and soup, mix together and cook on high for another 1/2 hour or until heated through and warm.

Partner Tip

Try using a Reynolds® slow cooker liner in your slow cooker for easier cleanup.

Nutrition Facts

456 calories; 31 g total fat; 136 mg cholesterol; 1603 mg sodium. 9.5 g carbohydrates; 33.4 g protein; Full Nutrition


Reviews (3150)

Read More Reviews

Most helpful positive review

Rating: 5 stars
02/11/2006
This turned out to be a great recipe -- whole family enjoyed it. I like many other reviewers was a bit skeptical of combining the chicken w/nothing more than 1/8 c margerine and the dry salad dressing mix but figured there must be a reason or Judi would not have submitted it this way so I resisted the urge to add the canned soup in the beginning. I did add a splash of red wine that I had on hand but other than that there was very little liquid. Also used Good Seasons Mild Italian dressing mix since my kids don't like highly spiced food. I turned the crockpot on low and cooked for about 7 hours and of course the house smelled incredible. The chicken chunks were golden brown and had a roasted taste and appearance something that wouldn't have occurred had I added the soup at the beginning. I then added a can of reduced fat cream of chick soup and a brick of red. fat cream cheese. Plopped the brick in whole covered then stirred after it had softened. Turned out so delicious and in no way reduced fat tasting! My 6-year old daughter ate so many "appetizer bites" out of the pot she was full by dinner time! Very creamy and rich tasting and the dressing mix provides just the right amount of seasoning. We served over noodles -- delicious! Very easy tasty recipe -- and seems "fancy" enough for company. Putting this in my Favorites folder. Read More
(2327)

Most helpful critical review

Rating: 1 stars
06/23/2003
I don't think it was the recipe. I just discovered that I don't like chicken stroganoff. Read More
(16)
4204 Ratings
  • 5 star values: 2539
  • 4 star values: 1112
  • 3 star values: 318
  • 2 star values: 148
  • 1 star values: 87
Rating: 4 stars
01/21/2006
This is one of my favorite easy "busy-day" crockpot recipes. I make it Weight Watchers friendly by omitting the butter adding mushrooms and 1/2 cup of water and substituting FF cream cheese and Reduced Fat soup. I serve it over whole wheat noodles or brown rice. Only 5 points per serving plus the points for the noodles or rice. Read More
(3375)
Rating: 5 stars
02/11/2006
This turned out to be a great recipe -- whole family enjoyed it. I like many other reviewers was a bit skeptical of combining the chicken w/nothing more than 1/8 c margerine and the dry salad dressing mix but figured there must be a reason or Judi would not have submitted it this way so I resisted the urge to add the canned soup in the beginning. I did add a splash of red wine that I had on hand but other than that there was very little liquid. Also used Good Seasons Mild Italian dressing mix since my kids don't like highly spiced food. I turned the crockpot on low and cooked for about 7 hours and of course the house smelled incredible. The chicken chunks were golden brown and had a roasted taste and appearance something that wouldn't have occurred had I added the soup at the beginning. I then added a can of reduced fat cream of chick soup and a brick of red. fat cream cheese. Plopped the brick in whole covered then stirred after it had softened. Turned out so delicious and in no way reduced fat tasting! My 6-year old daughter ate so many "appetizer bites" out of the pot she was full by dinner time! Very creamy and rich tasting and the dressing mix provides just the right amount of seasoning. We served over noodles -- delicious! Very easy tasty recipe -- and seems "fancy" enough for company. Putting this in my Favorites folder. Read More
(2327)
Rating: 5 stars
05/27/2006
This is the best recipe EVER!! I can't tell you how thrilled I was with how it turned out. I cut down the chicken to 2 very large chicken breasts because my crock pot is only 1 1/2 quarts and it's just me eating (I don't like tons of leftovers) but I left all the other amounts for the sauce the same. I cooked the soup (Campbell's 98% Fat Free) margarine and dressing mix plus 1/4 cup of white wine with the chicken from the beginning then added 4 tablespoons of 1/3 less fat cream cheese (Neufchatel cheese) and about half a cup of fat free cream cheese. It was fabulous- EXACTLY like Angel Chicken Pasta on this web site which I love and is my favorite recipe in the world only less fat much much less preparation and fewer dishes that don't have anything burned or stuck on! I think I'll be making this often now thank you so much Judi! Update a while later: this is also awesome with pork chops instead of chicken and I use no butter and half the cream cheese. Read More
(1115)
Advertisement
Rating: 5 stars
01/26/2005
This was the most delicious dinner. I used frozen chicken breasts straight from the freezer to the pot and followed advice from other reviewers: Skipped the margarine used half of 0.7 oz pkg Italian dressing mix (will use even less next time) 1 can Healthy Request Crm of Chicken soup and 1 can Healthy Request Crm of Mushrom soup thinned with about 3/4 c. milk. I let it cook for about five hours until it was moist and tender falling apart. Shredded the chicken and then I added 4 oz. 1/3 less-fat cream cheese and about 1/2 c. of sour cream. I let it cook in the crockpot for another 45 minutes to let the flavors blend. Served it over whole wheat egg noodles and it was heavenly. Read More
(738)
Rating: 5 stars
11/15/2008
Typically I make the recipe exactly as written the first time but I didn't have any cream of chicken soup... so I used cream of mushroom - YUM! My picky picky Hubby who doesn't like "white" foods loved this. My 5-year-old daughter gave it two thumbs and a big toe up!:-) I'm sure no one will read this review but I wanted to put it out there anyway... definitely shred the chicken then there isn't too much sauce and don't be afraid to thin it with some milk. Delicious! THANK YOU! Read More
(550)
Rating: 5 stars
08/02/2005
This was FABULOUS!!!! I was in a dinner slump and just joined allrecipes a few days ago. Picked out this recipe after reading all the reviews. I did alter the recipe somewhat after reading the reviews--I put the 98% fat free cream of chicken soup the butter (yes I used butter!) 1/2 of the Italian dressing mix packet 1/4 cup white cooking wine and 1/4 cup chicken broth (I used Herb Ox) in the crock pot and mixed it up. I threw in the frozen chicken breasts and cooked on low for 5 hours. I then shredded the chicken in the crock pot added softened 4 oz. Neufchatel cheese and about 1/3 cup of fat free sour cream. It cooked for half an hour on high. When I tasted it I thought it tasted almost exactly like a pasta dish I always get at the local Italian Restaurant minus the spiciness. To add a little kick I threw in some chilipiquin peppers that are growing in my back yard. Served it over wheat egg noodles. EVERYONE in the family loved it!!!!!! THANK YOU! Read More
(398)
Advertisement
Rating: 5 stars
08/06/2003
I love this recipe! I did make a few changes to it. I add the soup into the mixture in the morning with the chiken. When I get home I turn the slow cooker on high and add the sour cream while the egg noodles are cooking! I make this all the time. It is so easy and tastes great. Read More
(388)
Rating: 5 stars
01/27/2011
This recipe is excellent just the way it is. I always go by the recipe first and rate it. There is no need to add the soup first. The margarine and juices from the chicken are plenty as it is. I get a bit bummed to see people rate these recipes a 5 star but yet there are two paragraphs to how they alter it. Therefore it really is no longer "this" recipe. I can see changing it to less fat or sodium. Read More
(333)
Rating: 4 stars
08/30/2003
This was delicious although I made some variations based on the similar Slow Cooker Beef Stroganoff (which I loved) on this site. I added a chopped onion used only half of the Italian dressing mix packet (0.7 oz.) healthy choice cream of chicken soup and only half of the cream cheese. I also added about 1/4 cup of milk. These changes made the end result less thick caloric and salty. It was wonderful! Read More
(263)