Chicken fried rice, just like they serve in the restaurants! A stir fry with chicken, rice, soy sauce and veggies like peas, carrots, celery and bell peppers. This is something my sister just sort of whipped up one day. It's very good!

sal
Advertisement

Ingredients

7
Original recipe yields 7 servings
The ingredient list now reflects the servings specified

Directions

  • Heat oil in a large skillet over medium heat. Add onion and saute until soft, then add chicken and 2 tablespoons soy sauce and stir-fry for 5 to 6 minutes.

    Advertisement
  • Stir in carrots, celery, red bell pepper, pea pods and green bell pepper and stir-fry another 5 minutes. Then add rice and stir thoroughly.

  • Finally, stir in scrambled eggs and 1/3 cup soy sauce, heat through and serve hot.

Nutrition Facts

425 calories; 9.5 g total fat; 134 mg cholesterol; 1060 mg sodium. 47.5 g carbohydrates; 34.7 g protein; Full Nutrition


Reviews (278)

Read More Reviews

Most helpful positive review

Rating: 5 stars
01/17/2006
Lovely meal. Must use rice that has been fully chilled or it will clump together. Also it needs some garlic and additional spices to give it that authentic chinese flavor. Read More
(258)

Most helpful critical review

Rating: 1 stars
11/01/2004
I don't normally give items one star but I didn't like this rice at all. Its hard to get the same taste as a restaraunt. I will keep looking. Read More
(6)
398 Ratings
  • 5 star values: 191
  • 4 star values: 153
  • 3 star values: 35
  • 2 star values: 10
  • 1 star values: 9
Rating: 4 stars
10/10/2008
This is a good base recipe. However with my in-laws being Chinese and owning a Chinese/Vietnamese Restaurant for a few years I have picked up a few tips that I thought I would share with you. I cubed 3 uncooked chicken breast into little pieces and seasoned it with salt pepper garlic powder onion powder and a tablespoon of oyster sauce (found in the international aisle of your local supermarket--and don't worry it doesn't taste like oysters). Heat up 2 TBS of butter with 1 TBS of sesame oil then add 3 cloves of minced garlic with the chicken. Cooked until no longer pink then I add about 4 sticks of thinly sliced Chinese sausage (found in asian markets). Cook for 1-2 minutes. Add 4 scrambled eggs to the meat. Cook for 3-4 minutes then add a 16oz bag of frozen peas/carrots mixture. I mix in about 7 cups of cooked Jasmine rice (must be cold). Add soy sauce (about 1/4 Cup) and stir fry until light golden brown. Stir in chopped green onions and sprinkle in black pepper to taste. Voila authentic Chinese Fried Rice in about 15 mins. Hope this helps... ENJOY! Read More
(3021)
Rating: 4 stars
03/10/2007
This is a good foundation for fried rice. Be SURE to use sesame oil - not regular oil - since that is one of the basic flavors of Chinese cooking. Add garlic ginger sesame seeds and salt and pepper. Also - make sure that your rice is cooled before you mix it in otherwise it will become a think starchy mess. If you want a sweeter flavor add some teriyaki or stir-fry sauce to taste. Use a wok! This is a great recipe to have fun with. Read More
(553)
Rating: 5 stars
01/17/2006
Lovely meal. Must use rice that has been fully chilled or it will clump together. Also it needs some garlic and additional spices to give it that authentic chinese flavor. Read More
(258)
Advertisement
Rating: 5 stars
01/25/2004
My family loved this one. I used a freshly cooked batch of rice so the end product was a little sticky. Next time I would use left over rice. I sauted grated carrots and celery first then added the chicken for a softer texture. Read More
(81)
Rating: 5 stars
01/25/2004
Excellent recipe except I omitted the eggs and green pepper and used scallions instead of regular onion. I also added about a teaspoon of Hoisin sauce (found in the Asian section of your local grocery store). Gave it a really good flavor. I will definitly make it again! I forgot to mention that I added a 1/2 teaspoon of fresh grated ginger root also. It made all the difference. Read More
(61)
Rating: 5 stars
08/14/2005
really tasty. i used brown rice and bean sprouts instead of celery. excellent gave me some great ideas for some other stir frys. the snow pea pods were the highlight of the dish. Read More
(41)
Advertisement
Rating: 5 stars
01/25/2004
I used this recipe as a cooking and "shopping for ingredients" training opportunity. (twelve year-old kids) I fixed this as the main meal and Gyoza (Japanese dumplings) for an appetizer. The kids (and parents) loved this! I cooked it all in one large wok. I like a little extra "Bam!" as Emeril would say. So I added about two tablespoons of schechwan sauce. The chicken was cooked in olive oil over a med-high heat. The chicken shredded as the dish neared completion. This will definitely be fixed again. Read More
(35)
Rating: 4 stars
03/03/2005
This recipe is very delicious and fast and easy to make. My very picky 2-year-old ate tons of it. I omitted the eggs and added broccoli to mine. It was perfect. One thing to make sure you do is wait to add the pea pods until the last couple minutes because they turn brown and mushy if you cook them too long. I waited until it was time to add the rice which was just right. Read More
(30)
Rating: 5 stars
04/03/2006
i tried it with my husband and it was good. You can't tell if it was made at a restaurent. Read More
(27)