113 Ratings
  • 5 star values: 53
  • 4 star values: 46
  • 3 star values: 10
  • 2 star values: 4
  • 1 star values: 0

A mixture of chicken, salsa, onion and cheese rolled up in biscuit dough, then baked hot and fresh.

Becke
Advertisement

Ingredients

3
Original recipe yields 3 servings
The ingredient list now reflects the servings specified

Directions

  • Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C). Bring a saucepan of lightly salted water to a boil. Add chicken breasts, and boil until easily shredded, about 20 minutes.

    Advertisement
  • Saute onion in a medium saucepan until soft. Remove from heat and stir in salsa, then stir in cheese until melted. Add chicken and mix all together.

  • Roll out biscuits individually, adding a little of the chicken mixture to each one; then roll up, secure with toothpicks and place on a lightly greased cookie sheet.

  • Bake at 350 degrees F (175 degrees C) for about 10 minutes, or until biscuits are golden and hot.

Nutrition Facts

827 calories; 43 g total fat; 141 mg cholesterol; 2173 mg sodium. 59 g carbohydrates; 51 g protein; Full Nutrition


Reviews (78)

Read All Reviews

Most helpful positive review

Rating: 5 stars
09/09/2003
These were extremely tasty! I used a 16oz can of "Grands" biscuits and I still had over half of the chicken mixture left so I made "wraps" with tortillas and froze them for quick lunches. Read More
(27)

Most helpful critical review

Rating: 3 stars
07/22/2003
i used "grand" style biscuits boiled chicken breast tenders and "medium" salsa. i also added garlic salt pepper and sour cream to the mixture. this was enough to eat as a decent dinner since the biscuits were larger. but i'd suggest using tortillas instead like others have mentioned since this tastes just like a chicken enchilada or chicken taco. very easy and quick dish to assemble. Read More
(14)
113 Ratings
  • 5 star values: 53
  • 4 star values: 46
  • 3 star values: 10
  • 2 star values: 4
  • 1 star values: 0
Rating: 5 stars
09/09/2003
These were extremely tasty! I used a 16oz can of "Grands" biscuits and I still had over half of the chicken mixture left so I made "wraps" with tortillas and froze them for quick lunches. Read More
(27)
Rating: 4 stars
09/09/2003
i always have a hard time with the folding over of the biscuits. they always end up lookig messy. so instead i pressd the biscuits in muffin tins baked for a few minutes until they started puffing up..then i took them out pressed them into the muffin tins again. when they were about 4 minutes from being done i added the chicken salsa and cheese. the only regret i have is i didnt make enough. Read More
(20)
Rating: 4 stars
08/11/2004
Pretty good. My 6-year-old loved it! I only used 1 cup of cheese in the sauce and next time I would use a Mexican blend or something that melts better than Cheddar. I ended up flattening my biscuits (regular size not Grands) and putting them in greased muffin cups. Spoon in filling sprinkle with cheese and bake. Read More
(16)
Advertisement
Rating: 3 stars
07/22/2003
i used "grand" style biscuits boiled chicken breast tenders and "medium" salsa. i also added garlic salt pepper and sour cream to the mixture. this was enough to eat as a decent dinner since the biscuits were larger. but i'd suggest using tortillas instead like others have mentioned since this tastes just like a chicken enchilada or chicken taco. very easy and quick dish to assemble. Read More
(14)
Rating: 5 stars
10/24/2004
I cooked my chicken in 1 cup chicken broth and seasoned it with chili powder cumin and salt and cooked till very tender. I was afraid the mixture might end up a bit dry so I added 2 tbsp. flour to the onion as it cooked then added a can of undrained diced green chilis 1/2 cup sour cream the cheese and salsa. I added the shredded chicken back to this mixture and used this as my filling. I flattened the bisquits put some filling down the center and rolled them like little burritos securing with a toothpick. Everyone thought they were great. Good warmed up as leftovers too. Read More
(12)
Rating: 5 stars
07/16/2003
This is a great recipe! Very quick & easy! My 1 year old even loved it! I'm going to try this recipe again but this time I'm going to try the chicken mixture in flour tortillas (enstead of biscuits) and add jack cheese to it. Then they will be chicken soft tacos! Read More
(12)
Advertisement
Rating: 5 stars
06/23/2003
This is delicious! I had about 1/3 of the chicken mixture left when I ran out of biscuits - maybe I didn't flatten them enough? If you make everything on a smaller scale they would be great as appetizers. Read More
(10)
Rating: 3 stars
07/22/2003
My husband son and I loved this recipe but I found it very difficult to put the chicken/cheese/salsa mixture in the biscuit. I even flattened the biscuit more! Next time I will just use flour tortillas like others have suggested! (I didn't add the onion since the salsa had enough in it!) Thank you for a wonderful tasting recipe! (I used Grand Biscuits) Read More
(8)
Rating: 4 stars
07/16/2003
Thanks for the recipe! It's very simple & my family loved it. I'll definitely make this again. Note: I couldn't help but play with the ingredients just a little... I added a heaping spoon of sour cream to the chicken mixture plus some cilantro & poultry seasoning. Read More
(8)