128 Ratings
  • 5 star values: 58
  • 4 star values: 47
  • 3 star values: 13
  • 2 star values: 8
  • 1 star values: 2

This casserole combines the flavors of sour cream, cream cheese and creamy chicken and mushroom soups, all topped with buttery, round crackers. Super easy to make - not the prettiest looking dish, but tastes great and kids love it! My sister-in-law gave this to me a few years back.

Advertisement

Ingredients

6
Original recipe yields 6 servings
The ingredient list now reflects the servings specified

Directions

  • In a large saucepan over medium low heat combine the chicken, cream of mushroom soup, cream of chicken soup, cream cheese, sour cream and 2/3 of the cracker crumbs. Mix well and cook until all blended together and cream cheese has melted.

    Advertisement
  • Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C).

  • Transfer casserole mixture into a lightly greased 9x13 inch baking dish and top with remaining cracker crumbs.

  • Bake at 350 degrees F (175 degrees C) for about 15 minutes or until crackers turn golden brown. Spoon into bowls and enjoy!

Nutrition Facts

382 calories; 24.7 g total fat; 88 mg cholesterol; 863 mg sodium. 14.3 g carbohydrates; 24.7 g protein; Full Nutrition


Reviews (101)

Read All Reviews

Most helpful positive review

Rating: 5 stars
06/01/2006
In Cleveland TN there is a diner called "Earl's Restaurant" where the local college students eat chicken casserole religiously - every Tuesday and Thursday. For four years I was amongst them and we sang the glory of the Earl's girls and thier creamy casserole. Maybe you had to have been there to understand. But this is the recipe. This is exactly it and the cream cheese is the difference. Serve it with mashed potatoes and brown gravy yeast rolls green beans and corn. Wash it down with sweet iced tea. Thank you!
(60)

Most helpful critical review

Rating: 1 stars
09/25/2007
I totally don't get the rave reviews. There wasn't really anything good to say about this recipe. The kids ate it but not without a little complaining. Dh couldn't even finish his portion. Definitely won't be making this one again.
(1)
128 Ratings
  • 5 star values: 58
  • 4 star values: 47
  • 3 star values: 13
  • 2 star values: 8
  • 1 star values: 2
Rating: 5 stars
06/01/2006
In Cleveland TN there is a diner called "Earl's Restaurant" where the local college students eat chicken casserole religiously - every Tuesday and Thursday. For four years I was amongst them and we sang the glory of the Earl's girls and thier creamy casserole. Maybe you had to have been there to understand. But this is the recipe. This is exactly it and the cream cheese is the difference. Serve it with mashed potatoes and brown gravy yeast rolls green beans and corn. Wash it down with sweet iced tea. Thank you!
(60)
Rating: 5 stars
12/30/2005
This is really a nice easy one-dish recipe for a family dinner at home. Like another reviewer I remember my mom making something similar to this. For the most part I prepared this dish as directed but made some minor changes. I steamed some broccoli and added to the recipe when I did the chicken. After I poured the mixture into the oven proof dish I added a layer of grated cheese a layer of breadcrumbs and then a few pats of butter over the top. I also increased the cook time to 30 minutes to make sure it was nice and hot and just let the ingredients simmer well. I served it over Angel Hair Pasta and it was loved by the entire family. My husband took the left overs to work then next day. I will definetly be making this one again.
(58)
Rating: 4 stars
08/29/2005
This was a very tasty casserole but very rich. A little goes a long way! I made a few changes: first prior to putting on the cracker crumb topping I sprinkled some sharp cheddar cheese. Then I sprinkled on the remaining cracker crumbs. I sprinkled on a handful of canned plain bread crumbs too to make sure it would get crispy and not mushy. Lastly I dotted some butter on top to make it turn golden brown. I had to add about 5-10 minutes on to the cooking time to brown the bread crumbs. I served this over egg noodles (as this tastes a lot like a chicken stroganoff) and steamed asparagus. Delicious my boyfriend loved it (he ate it 3 times in two days) which means I'll definitely be making it again!
(41)
Advertisement
Rating: 5 stars
03/22/2007
You have to try this!! I changed things around a bit. I put uncooked thin chicken cutlets in a greased pan to start. Pre cook a package of your favorite stuffing and set aside. In a pot cook 1 can of cream of mushroom 3/4 cup sourcream and a 1/2 container of cream cheese. When this mixture becomes smooth pour over the chicken. Then put stuffing mixture on top. Cook on 350 for 1 hour. You will love this. My husband could not get enough.Serve with noodles and biscuits. Trust me.
(28)
Rating: 2 stars
02/09/2004
I'm surprised at all the positive reviews for this recipe. It was okay but not very flavorful. I tasted the fat and dairy from the sour cream and cream cheese more than anything. I felt it was very heavy and drowned out any flavor that could have been present in the chicken or soup. The crackers became soggy and did not add texture to the casserole. I added canned mushrooms tarragon poultry seasoning and pepper and that didn't help matters. I agree that this is a very fatty dish. It was very easy to make but I don't think I'll make this again.
(24)
Rating: 4 stars
02/23/2005
This was very easy to make and was very creamy and good however the cracker crumbs didn't really add anything as a topping as they were soggy. I think something a bit crisper or crunchier on top would be good as a contrast to the creaminess. Maybe I would add some cheese on top to brown up a bit.
(16)
Advertisement
Rating: 5 stars
09/19/2005
Excellent recipe. Easily feeds a family of four. I've made this close to twenty times since I first saw the recipe last year. It takes almost no time to prepare and is very easy to make. I've made it with chicken and with turkey and both were excellent. It's a GREAT use for leftover Thanksgiving turkey. While not the prettiest dish to serve it certainly makes up for it in taste. I highly recommend this to everyone.
(11)
Rating: 5 stars
10/03/2005
This recipe is awesome! You need to garnish it with something though. If you serve it over rice or buscuits it completes the meal.
(11)
Rating: 5 stars
09/24/2008
My husband just tasted this dish and said one word: PHENOMENAL. Perfectly creamy and sooooo tasty. I made the recipe as stated but topped the mixture with cheese before layering the cracker crumbs. I used freshly grated Gruyere cheese and shredded Parmesan. Layering the cheese first kept the cracker crumbs crispy when baking in the oven. Other than the cheese I didn't change a thing and it turned out GREAT. I paired the dish with steamed broccoli which was good on the side and also mixed in with the dish.
(10)