101 Ratings
  • 5 star values: 72
  • 4 star values: 14
  • 3 star values: 6
  • 2 star values: 7
  • 1 star values: 2

A creamy corn, cream cheese, and onion casserole that's a holiday winner!

Advertisement

Ingredients

8
Original recipe yields 8 servings
The ingredient list now reflects the servings specified

Directions

  • Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C).

    Advertisement
  • In a medium size bowl, cream together butter and cream cheese. Mix in whole kernel corn, cream-style corn, chiles, chopped onions, and 1/2 can of the French-fried onions. Pour mixture into a 1 quart casserole dish.

  • Bake in a 350 degrees F (175 degrees C) oven for 15 minutes. Remove from oven and sprinkle the remaining French-fried onions over the top of the casserole. Return to the oven and bake an additional 15 minutes.

Nutrition Facts

335 calories; 24.1 g total fat; 39 mg cholesterol; 534 mg sodium. 28.1 g carbohydrates; 3.7 g protein; Full Nutrition


Reviews (71)

Read All Reviews

Most helpful positive review

Rating: 5 stars
02/23/2009
Utterly delicious! The only thing I changed was halving the butter to 2 Tablespoons. This was still so creamy & rich I could've further reduced or left out the butter and it would still be as tasty. Since we prefer a higher ratio of vegetable to fat I'll probably add more corn & green chile next time. To those contemplating whether to make this or not definitely do! I would try this with frozen or fresh corn & with Neufchatel a lower-in-fat cream cheese. These few changes won't compromise the delicious factor. --- UPDATE: I tried this again with only these changes to the recipe: I used Neufchatel cream cheese so the texture still was very creamy. I left out ALL the butter; I wouldn't suggest doing that as we did miss the rich extra-buttery taste. So if you want a lower in fat version do try Neufchatel & use only half the butter=perfect!
(42)

Most helpful critical review

Rating: 1 stars
01/24/2003
My family did not like this one. I wont make it again sorry.
(2)
101 Ratings
  • 5 star values: 72
  • 4 star values: 14
  • 3 star values: 6
  • 2 star values: 7
  • 1 star values: 2
Rating: 5 stars
02/23/2009
Utterly delicious! The only thing I changed was halving the butter to 2 Tablespoons. This was still so creamy & rich I could've further reduced or left out the butter and it would still be as tasty. Since we prefer a higher ratio of vegetable to fat I'll probably add more corn & green chile next time. To those contemplating whether to make this or not definitely do! I would try this with frozen or fresh corn & with Neufchatel a lower-in-fat cream cheese. These few changes won't compromise the delicious factor. --- UPDATE: I tried this again with only these changes to the recipe: I used Neufchatel cream cheese so the texture still was very creamy. I left out ALL the butter; I wouldn't suggest doing that as we did miss the rich extra-buttery taste. So if you want a lower in fat version do try Neufchatel & use only half the butter=perfect!
(42)
Rating: 5 stars
10/17/2003
Sooooooooooo fattening but I swear it's worth every calorie! (I've never used french fried onions before and was horrified when I read the nutrition information) I left out the green chilis in consideration of my 2 year old. I think this would have been very good either way. I did think it could use a bit of salt. I just sprinkled a little on top of my serving and that was fine but next time I think I'll try adding 1/4 tsp. Note: In spite of the fat DON'T skip the french fried onions as they definitely add texture and flavor.
(23)
Rating: 3 stars
02/03/2011
VERY creamy/soupy-didn't care for the texture just too cream-cheesy. Glad I tried it but probably won't make again. Sorry:(
(20)
Advertisement
Rating: 5 stars
12/22/2005
My husband made this for his office potluck and I had a little nibble of it. I loved it! We agree with the previous reviewer that said that it does not fit in a 1 quart dish. We also only used about 1/2 the french fried onions because to use the full amount seemed like too much to both of us. We will definately be making this for Christmas dinner this week!
(18)
Rating: 5 stars
01/24/2003
This dish was excellent. I skipped the green chiles although I would add them if I were serving this dish with a Mexican meal. I also skipped the fried onions because I was not in the mood for too much onion flavor. Great recipe!
(12)
Rating: 4 stars
02/24/2005
My family really loved this one - I will make it again. It is definitely very creamy and even a little runny but the flavor is nice especially if you use "sweet" canned corn. One thing to note: the recipe says to cook this in a 1 quart casserole dish but the mixture does NOT fit in a 1 quart dish! I used a 2 quart dish which worked just fine.
(12)
Advertisement
Rating: 4 stars
04/11/2003
Pretty good. My youngest said this is one of her favorite things to eat now. I did omit the green chilies since my two girls are a bit picky and wouldn't have touched it if they saw it in there. An interesting alternative to the green bean casserole.
(10)
Rating: 5 stars
03/20/2003
Creamy and delicious! This vanished very quickly from the dinner table. It is simple to make and will become one of my staple recipes.
(8)
Rating: 5 stars
12/01/2003
I just found this recipe and made it for both a work Thanksgiving and a family Thanksgiving. It's been a while since I received so many compliments on a baked dish. The only complaint was there was not enough! I did add garlic--you can never have too much garlic! I also substituted 1/2 of the french onions with the cheddar flavored onions.
(8)