24 Ratings
  • 5 star values: 15
  • 4 star values: 5
  • 3 star values: 3
  • 2 star values: 1

A tomato and vegetable pork stew that is sure to please any crowd! It is a long cooking process, good for a day when you are staying at/working at home, but WELL worth the invested time.

Advertisement

Ingredients

8
Original recipe yields 8 servings
The ingredient list now reflects the servings specified

Directions

  • Toss together the onion powder, parsley, 1 tablespoon garlic powder, seasoned salt, 1 1/2 tablespoons black pepper, marjoram, cinnamon, and nutmeg in a large, resealable plastic bag. Add the cubed pork, toss until well coated, then seal, and refrigerate overnight.

    Advertisement
  • Preheat oven to 250 degrees F (120 degrees C). Line a 9x9 inch baking dish with half of the spinach leaves.

  • Pack the marinated pork into the baking dish, and cover with the remaining spinach leaves. Cover the pan with aluminum foil, and bake in the preheated oven for 3 hours, or until the pork is tender.

  • Heat the olive oil in a large pot over medium heat. Whisk in the flour, and cook for 15 minutes, stirring frequently until the flour has toasted. Scrape into a heatproof dish, and set aside. Melt the butter in the pot, and stir in the onions and celery. Cook and stir until the onion has softened and turned translucent, about 10 minutes. Add the mushrooms, and cook until tender; stir the flour mixture back into the pot to coat the vegetables.

  • Pour in the beef broth, stewed tomatoes, cooked pork and spinach, bay leaves, red pepper flakes, and 1 teaspoon garlic powder. Simmer 1 1/2 hours.

  • Stir in the butter beans, yellow squash, and zucchini. Simmer 30 minutes until the vegetables are tender. Season to taste with salt and pepper before serving.

Partner Tip

Reynolds® Aluminum foil can be used to keep food moist, cook it evenly, and make clean-up easier.

Nutrition Facts

522 calories; 29.7 g total fat; 82 mg cholesterol; 1611 mg sodium. 38.1 g carbohydrates; 29.3 g protein; Full Nutrition


Reviews (21)

Read All Reviews

Most helpful positive review

Rating: 5 stars
06/29/2008
Excellent. The only change I made was to add the fresh parsley and spinach near the end with the other veggies - the 3-hour oven method with the spinach freaked me out a little... The recipe is a bit long and involved but it is soooo good. I also tossed some of the pork with bowtie pasta parsley and green onion for a couple of pickies.;) Thanks Michelle - its a keeper!
(13)

Most helpful critical review

Rating: 2 stars
11/11/2015
Would have been great if not so spicy. 1 teaspoon of crushed red pepper was too much for us.
(1)
24 Ratings
  • 5 star values: 15
  • 4 star values: 5
  • 3 star values: 3
  • 2 star values: 1
Rating: 4 stars
03/12/2010
I didn't have the time or exactly all the ingredients to do this so I customized it like this: I cubed two large pork chops and tossed them in a bag with the flour and all the spices. Then I cooked them over medium heat till brown. I removed them from the pan and sauteed in butter the onion when the onion was translucent I added the squash and then the spinach and cooked them through. Then I added the meat back in and added the beef broth tomatoes red pepper flakes and a can of mushrooms. I also added 2 cans of great northern beans because that is what I had. Then I let it all simmer in the pot over low heat for about 40 minutes. I served with various cheeses and some crusty bread. Delicious! The whole family four year old included loved it!
(26)
Rating: 5 stars
06/29/2008
Excellent. The only change I made was to add the fresh parsley and spinach near the end with the other veggies - the 3-hour oven method with the spinach freaked me out a little... The recipe is a bit long and involved but it is soooo good. I also tossed some of the pork with bowtie pasta parsley and green onion for a couple of pickies.;) Thanks Michelle - its a keeper!
(13)
Rating: 5 stars
12/16/2010
I mixed everything up in the crock pot & added cooked beef stew meat. Did not use oil butter butter beans squash or zucchini and didn't have bay leaves. Loved the flavour it simmered all day 8hrs! Was absolutely delicious!
(11)
Advertisement
Rating: 5 stars
07/04/2008
Great! Even better the next day. Followed the recipe exactly except for I used navy beans because that's what I had and I used homemade beef stock. I also used boneless pork ribs instead of a roast. They were very very tender. The stew was quite spicy. My red pepper flakes were very fresh. My husband liked it's somewhat unusual flavor very much and wants me to make it again. (I think it was the cinnamon and nutmeg that he noted were unusual flavors in the stew.)
(10)
Rating: 4 stars
01/26/2012
This did take quite a bit of effort. I think it will be better when I try it again with a few changes. First of all following the recipe produces a VERY spicy stew so when you are adding the spices to the pork to sit overnight next time I'd try using only 1 T of pepper and a bit more salt (the pork was extremely peppery that it overpowered any other flavor). Also if you don't like fat make sure you TRIM the fat off the cubes of pork (I used a boneless pork shoulder roast and cut it up). I skipped the 3 hours in the oven thing and just put the pork in a crockpot (minus the spinach which I don't see what its purpose is) on LOW for 3 hours (check to see if it's tender before adding the rest). Then put in olive oil/flour/onion celery/mushroom mixture. Add the beef broth etc. like it says and put it on HIGH for 3 more hours (I added the zucchini at this point as well or it won't cook completely). Add the beans and spinach at the end (30 min on HIGH or 1 hr on LOW). I'd also consider having a separate dish for the kids to eat as this was pretty spicy. I cut back on the crushed red pepper flakes to about 1/4 t. and it was still extremely spicy. And watch that extra pepper you add at the end as it says. Serve with fresh hot bread and it will be a complete meal. I'd make again like I said but with those changes.
(9)
Rating: 5 stars
11/11/2009
I made this over the weekend and WOW it was one of the best stews I have ever ever had. My only regret? There were no leftovers. I'll definitely be doubling next time (it did feed two adults a teenage boy and 3 little kids and no one was left hungry although some of us would have liked more).
(7)
Advertisement
Rating: 4 stars
01/09/2009
Wonderful flavor but a little too time consuming! I ran out of time after toasting the flour so I threw everything in the crock pot for 5 hours on high.
(7)
Rating: 5 stars
01/18/2011
This was GREAT. Even for the non-zuchinni fan in the house we loved it. I used cannellini as this was my on hand bean...this is a keeper. Thanks!
(6)
Rating: 3 stars
01/22/2012
Good. Surprised at how spicy it is. Had to whip up a quick meal for the kids due to this. Husband asked me not to make this again and I will gladly accommodate that request.
(2)