This is a quick and easy meal if you have leftover cornbread on hand, or use a packaged mix. The chicken livers are optional, but do give this an authentic Southern flair!

carina
Advertisement

Ingredients

6
Original recipe yields 6 servings
The ingredient list now reflects the servings specified

Directions

  • Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C).

    Advertisement
  • Cut a pocket into the side of each piece of chicken, going to within 1/2 inch of each edge. Season chicken pieces with salt and pepper; set aside.

  • Melt the butter in a large saucepan over medium heat. Add the onion, bell pepper and chicken livers; cook and stir until onion is tender, about 5 minutes. Add the garlic and sage; cook and stir until fragrant, about 1 minute more. Pour in the chicken broth and season with salt and pepper. Bring to a boil, then remove from the heat. Gently stir in the cornbread crumbs and set aside until cool enough to handle.

  • Spoon some of the stuffing into the pocket of each piece of chicken. Arrange them in a 9x13 inch baking dish. Spoon any leftover stuffing into the pan to surround the chicken. Stir together the condensed chicken soup and water; pour over the top off the chicken. Cover with a lid or aluminum foil.

  • Bake in the preheated oven for 45 minutes. Remove the aluminum foil and bake for an additional 10 minutes, or until the center of the stuffed breasts has reached 160 degrees F (70 degrees C) and the chicken has browned on top.

Partner Tip

Reynolds® Aluminum foil can be used to keep food moist, cook it evenly, and make clean-up easier.

Nutrition Facts

370 calories; 14.7 g total fat; 138 mg cholesterol; 946 mg sodium. 26.4 g carbohydrates; 31.6 g protein; Full Nutrition


Reviews (44)

Read More Reviews

Most helpful positive review

Rating: 5 stars
04/22/2008
This was a VERY delicious recipe! I didn't use any bell peppers or the chicken liver(we don't like) and I used cream of mushroom instead of chicken. I also used milk instead of water with the soup and it is definately a keeper. This was the very first time that I have made stuffed chicken and this recipe was quite easy! My husband actually asked for seconds...which isn't too often..LOL Thanks for sharing this great recipe!! Read More
(57)

Most helpful critical review

Rating: 2 stars
01/09/2009
Sorry but this is definitely not a keeper dish for me. I might suggest after filling the chicken to brown it first. I also added some white wine to the soup but it still tasted like can soup over chicken to me. Glad others like it. (I also used some sausage like you mentioned) and still no help for me. Read More
(9)
52 Ratings
  • 5 star values: 36
  • 4 star values: 15
  • 3 star values: 0
  • 2 star values: 1
  • 1 star values: 0
Rating: 5 stars
04/22/2008
This was a VERY delicious recipe! I didn't use any bell peppers or the chicken liver(we don't like) and I used cream of mushroom instead of chicken. I also used milk instead of water with the soup and it is definately a keeper. This was the very first time that I have made stuffed chicken and this recipe was quite easy! My husband actually asked for seconds...which isn't too often..LOL Thanks for sharing this great recipe!! Read More
(57)
Rating: 5 stars
05/19/2008
Hi I'm Carina the author of this recipe and just wanted to say that I made it this weekend with a little cooked bulk Italian sausage in place of the chicken livers and it was a nice change and still very tasty! Read More
(50)
Rating: 4 stars
07/13/2008
This was a pretty good recipe. I didn't have green pepper and did not use chicken livers. The chicken was tender and the stuffing was moist. Thanks! Read More
(31)
Advertisement
Rating: 5 stars
04/22/2010
This was a hit with my family and mother who hates that I cook chicken so much. I didnt have any extra cornbread on hand so I cheated and added Stove top. I just added a half of cup more water to the directions so that it wouldnt dry out while baking. It was a SMASH hit for the family. Read More
(24)
Rating: 5 stars
11/12/2009
This goes to the top of our families list for favorite recipes! No more boring chicken! My husband loved this so much that after he finished his plate he walked over to the pan where a extra piece was and started eating it right out of the pan... classy eh? He said it tasted like something from a 5 star restaurant and I thought so too. The best thing about it is that is is super easy to make if you have cornbread on hand. I would suggest making sweet cornbread the previous day for another dish and using the leftovers for this receipe the next day. The only variance I made was that I tripled the garlic and cut up a whole green pepper instead of half. I also put salt and pepper on the chicken and didn't add the sauce until 10 minutes before it was ready. So yummy... my 9 year old loved it too! Read More
(21)
Rating: 4 stars
04/13/2008
Very good. I made substitutions for what I had on hand: Jiffy corn muffin mix boullion that I made into broth and omitted the peppers. I also poured Knorr gravy mix over the top instead of cream of chicken soup as I don't like the flavor of the soup; next time I'll make a double batch of gravy as it could have used more. Husband and I loved the flavor of the cornbread though I substituted poultry seasoning for sage because I realized I was out of sage while cooking. Will definitely make again! Read More
(18)
Advertisement
Rating: 5 stars
03/01/2011
I have to say that I really do not like stuffing...however I decided to try this for my hubby. I did cheat by using boxed cornbread stuffing and I didn't have cream of chicken soup but did have Turkey gravy so I used it instead. The meal smelled so good while it was cooking and then when I opened the oven door...wow! I could not believe that I really honestly loved this recipe! Our 11 year old picky eater even snarfed down his chicken. It was so incredibly easy and delicious I am sending it to our 20 year old son....he can even do this. Thank you so very much for sharing this with us will go into the families cookbook from here on out. Oh and my hubby LOVED it too!! Thanks again!!! Read More
(11)
Rating: 5 stars
03/03/2008
This was so AWESOME! i added a few spices and left out the peppers b/c i didnt have any. I also used Jiffy corn bread my boyfriend practically had to be pulled away from the table!! I will def make again sometime soon!! Read More
(11)
Rating: 5 stars
03/04/2008
This recipe turned out really well! The chicken was very moist and it tasted like a southern comfort food. My husband loved it and asked me to add it to our "rotation"! Read More
(9)