569 Ratings
  • 5 star values: 321
  • 4 star values: 159
  • 3 star values: 66
  • 2 star values: 15
  • 1 star values: 8

Linguini is mixed with pieces of tender chicken and broccoli flowerets and coated with a rich, satiny Alfredo sauce featuring Campbell's(R) Condensed Cream of Mushroom Soup to make a quick and fabulous dish.

Advertisement

Ingredients

4
Original recipe yields 4 servings
The ingredient list now reflects the servings specified

Directions

  • Cook linguine according to package directions. Add broccoli for last 4 minutes of cooking time. Drain.

    Advertisement
  • Heat butter in skillet. Cook chicken until browned, stirring often.

  • Add soup, milk, cheese, black pepper and linguine mixture and heat through. Serve with additional Parmesan cheese.

TIP

*Or substitute spaghetti for linguine.

Serve with a mixed green salad topped with grape tomatoes and balsamic vinaigrette. For dessert serve pear halves.



Reviews (405)

Read All Reviews

Most helpful positive review

Rating: 5 stars
05/07/2008
This was a lot better tasting than I thought it would be (honestly it was just as good as other more time-intensive recipes for alfredo that I've made at home.) I used less chicken and used the breast of a rotisserie chicken just because that's what I had left over. This was pretty convenient since using the already-cooked chicken cut the preparation time in half. I liked this dish with less chicken and when I make it next time I will add more broccoli as I didn't think it had enough. The cook time for the broccoli was perfect - it was still nice and bright green with just a slight crunch to it. I personally thought this was fine with the cream of mushroom (I hate mushrooms but I hardly noticed the tiny little pieces in there) but I think this dish could be done with just about any type of cream soup. Read More
(397)

Most helpful critical review

Rating: 1 stars
11/22/2010
No one in my family cared for this. I didn't make any changes to the recipe. It was very bland needed more broccoli. Mostly the alfredo base was just lacking flavor. The cream of mushroom soup wasn't cutting it. Read More
(3)
569 Ratings
  • 5 star values: 321
  • 4 star values: 159
  • 3 star values: 66
  • 2 star values: 15
  • 1 star values: 8
Rating: 5 stars
05/07/2008
This was a lot better tasting than I thought it would be (honestly it was just as good as other more time-intensive recipes for alfredo that I've made at home.) I used less chicken and used the breast of a rotisserie chicken just because that's what I had left over. This was pretty convenient since using the already-cooked chicken cut the preparation time in half. I liked this dish with less chicken and when I make it next time I will add more broccoli as I didn't think it had enough. The cook time for the broccoli was perfect - it was still nice and bright green with just a slight crunch to it. I personally thought this was fine with the cream of mushroom (I hate mushrooms but I hardly noticed the tiny little pieces in there) but I think this dish could be done with just about any type of cream soup. Read More
(397)
Rating: 5 stars
06/29/2008
I absolutely love this recipe. I made one small alteration by adding about 2 oz of cream cheese to the soup mixture. Maybe not for the low-fat conscious but the addition makes it ten times better! Read More
(300)
Rating: 5 stars
07/24/2008
This was a big hit with my family. I changed it a little instead of just plain cream of mushroom I used cream of mushroom w/ roasted garlic and a half a can of regular. it was really good. i also used frozen broccoli and cauliflower. My husband loved it. He ate 2 gigantic plates full Read More
(209)
Advertisement
Rating: 5 stars
07/15/2008
I was really impressed with this dish! It had such a true alfredo flavor for something that was not a true high fat alfredo sauce. It was quite simple and quick to make with very little mess. I used frozen broccoli spears and to saute the chicken I used half butter half olive oil for a great burst of flavor! I increased the parmesan to 3/4 cup also. I will definately make this dish again. Read More
(113)
Rating: 2 stars
01/11/2008
What is up with people adding mushrooms to everything! Mushrooms don't belong in alfredo. Alfredo should be creamy and cheesy. Read More
(98)
Rating: 4 stars
09/25/2008
I'm a college student on a fixed food budget who is still getting the hang of cooking. This recipe was a good quick meal that I had time to make while studying. While I am not a fan of mushrooms the Campbell's Condensed Cream of Mushroom soup (I used the healthy request variety) proved to be a very handy ingredient. Overall the recipe made a delicious meal but personally I would add 1/4 tbsp of garlic powder to the recipe to give it more of an Alfredo taste. Read More
(75)
Advertisement
Rating: 4 stars
04/11/2008
I made this tonight for dinner and made it with shrimp and scallops instead of the chicken. I added a can of diced tomatoes with chilis and it was wonderful. I think the chicken would be just as good. Read More
(51)
Rating: 4 stars
12/02/2007
Very good and very easy to make. I think next time I would use less cheese and a little more broccoli to make it lighter. We added french bread and white wine to make it an easy meal! Read More
(48)
Rating: 4 stars
04/14/2008
Excellent! I saw this recipe advertised in Martha Stewart magazine and it looked very easy and good. I offered to make dinner for my boyfriend and told him I wanted to try this. I used penne instead of the linguine at his request. The dish was great. I added extra parmesan black pepper and red pepper flakes on top for the perfect spice. I also made the broccoli on the side. I definately will be making this again. It was easy and most of the ingredients are staples in your pantry. Read More
(47)