81 Ratings
  • 5 star values: 67
  • 4 star values: 12
  • 2 star values: 1
  • 3 star values: 1

When life gives you a bunch of limes, make lime curd! This twist on traditional lemon curd uses limes instead. Use it as a cake filling, or any other way you desire.

Sarah
Advertisement

Ingredients

8
Original recipe yields 8 servings
The ingredient list now reflects the servings specified

Directions

  • Place the sugar, butter, lime juice, lime zest in the top of a double boiler; stir over medium-high heat until butter melts. Mix 2 tablespoons hot lime mixture into the eggs and stir to blend.

    Advertisement
  • Reduce heat to medium until water simmers. Slowly whisk egg mixture into the lime mixture. Cook over the double boiler until lime mixture thickens and coats the back of a wooden spoon, 20 to 25 minutes. Cool slightly and spoon into a clean, glass jar. Cover and refrigerate.

Nutrition Facts

172 calories; 7 g total fat; 62 mg cholesterol; 59 mg sodium. 27.2 g carbohydrates; 1.7 g protein; Full Nutrition

Reviews (61)

Read All Reviews

Most helpful positive review

Rating: 5 stars
05/19/2008
This curd was absolutely delicious! To make it as a filling for Key Lime Cake I substituted 1.5 Tbsp of lime juice for lemon juice and to make sure it would hold up as a thick filling I sprinkled in one tsp. of flour while heating. Wonderful Recipe!
(51)

Most helpful critical review

Rating: 2 stars
11/12/2013
This was REALLY tart I mean so tart that it had a bite in the back of your throat - and I only used key limes. I am currently attempting to make it usable by adding in a T more butter some simple syrup and another egg yolk.
(2)
81 Ratings
  • 5 star values: 67
  • 4 star values: 12
  • 2 star values: 1
  • 3 star values: 1
Rating: 5 stars
05/19/2008
This curd was absolutely delicious! To make it as a filling for Key Lime Cake I substituted 1.5 Tbsp of lime juice for lemon juice and to make sure it would hold up as a thick filling I sprinkled in one tsp. of flour while heating. Wonderful Recipe!
(51)
Rating: 5 stars
01/10/2008
Really good! I used it as a topping for some mini-cheesecakes but I think I might make an entire pie out of it!
(31)
Rating: 5 stars
03/05/2008
Very very good! I've been looking for a lime curd recipe and this one is definitely it! I love that it is so simple and made with things I already have at home. Highly recommended!
(31)
Advertisement
Rating: 5 stars
06/08/2009
This was great. I usually make lemon curd but had a bowl full of key limes in the house. I had great success with putting my immersion blender into the eggs in a bowl prior to adding them to the lime juice mixture. No need to put through a sieve with this technique. I added one drop of green food color and this was perfection!
(15)
Rating: 5 stars
07/28/2010
This is a great lime curd recipe (and I've tried a few). Many recipes call for egg yolks only but this was smooth and just creamy enough. A little grated ginger adds a nice twist.
(15)
Rating: 5 stars
02/01/2010
This was absolutely delicious and so easy! I needed some lime curd to add some pizazz to a key lime cake that I had made. I slathered in between two key lime cake rounds and then topped the whole thing with a sugary lime glaze. I love key lime pie and this is the next best thing if you can't have pie!
(11)
Advertisement
Rating: 5 stars
07/15/2009
This was a super easy receipe. The taste was great. The only thing I did was pour thru a strainer after cooking. It gives it a more finished look!
(11)
Rating: 5 stars
05/08/2011
Served this on fresh homemade English muffin toast. Amazing!! I couldn't believe how easy this was. I'll never buy lime curd again. FYI - the natural color of this curd is not green - more a shade of yellow. Used 1 drop of green food coloring to lean it toward green which was more of an experiment than anything else and really not necessary.
(9)
Rating: 5 stars
06/03/2011
This turned out fantastic!! I recently went to Paris and fell in love with French Macaroons. I wanted to try making them when I came home. Since I had a million limes on hand I thought I would try a lime curd as the filling. The result was a perfect combination of the delicate sweet French Macaroon with the bright tartness of this lime curd. Perfection!!!
(7)