52 Ratings
  • 5 star values: 31
  • 4 star values: 11
  • 3 star values: 3
  • 2 star values: 4
  • 1 star values: 3

This Vietnamese dish is adapted with Thai flavors. These spring rolls make an excellent appetizer or light entree. Colorful, crunchy vegetables contrast nicely with the soft, translucent wrapper.

Advertisement

Ingredients

4
Original recipe yields 4 servings
The ingredient list now reflects the servings specified

Directions

  • Combine 1 cup peanut sauce, ginger, garlic, and 1 teaspoon soy sauce in a bowl. Add the chicken and mix until the chicken is coated. Place in refrigerator to marinate for 30 minutes.

    Advertisement
  • Heat 1 teaspoon peanut oil in a wok or skillet over medium heat. Cook the snow peas, bean sprouts and green onion in the oil until heated but still crisp, 3 to 4 minutes. Transfer to a large bowl. Mix in the watercress and cilantro. Use a vegetable peeler to have long slices of carrot into the watercress mixture. Drizzle 1 teaspoon soy sauce into the watercress mixture; toss to coat.

  • Heat 1 teaspoon of oil to the wok or skillet. Cook the marinated chicken until no longer pink inside, about 10 minutes.

  • Fill a large bowl with hot water. Dip wrappers one at a time into the water for about 2 seconds each. As wrappers are removed from the water, fill each with 2 large spoonfuls of the chicken and a small handful of the watercress mixture. Fold in two opposite ends of the wrapper to meet the filling. Then fold the bottom of the wrapper over the top of the filling and roll. Serve with 1/2 cup peanut sauce for dipping.

Nutrition Facts

595 calories; 30.5 g total fat; 71 mg cholesterol; 647 mg sodium. 40.5 g carbohydrates; 46.9 g protein; Full Nutrition


Reviews (36)

Read All Reviews

Most helpful positive review

Rating: 5 stars
03/24/2008
Very easy to make. Found the spring roll wrappers at the grocery store in the organic foods section--they were a lot easier to use than the clear-ish looking rice paper wrappers from the Asian food aisle. Made these for a lunch for a group of people--got excellent reviews. Very fresh taste. Read More
(39)

Most helpful critical review

Rating: 1 stars
06/27/2011
This was just like the real thing! I didn't have watercress so I used chard instead. You could probably use lettuce spinach or any leafy green. I paired this with Indonesian satay. Read More
(3)
52 Ratings
  • 5 star values: 31
  • 4 star values: 11
  • 3 star values: 3
  • 2 star values: 4
  • 1 star values: 3
Rating: 4 stars
02/17/2010
For those of you unfamiliar with Thai and Vietnamese cuisine their springrolls are not crispy like Japanese or Chinese springrolls. The meat(if any) is cooked before being rolled in the wrapper. The veggies are normally raw or(rarely) lightly steamed. They're like a little salad in a wrapper. I love them in summer. In Thai cooking springrolls use a rice paper wrapper and is eaten raw eggrolls use a thin wonton(wheat paper) wrapper and is eaten fried. What may have confused some of you is that the recipe just says springroll wrappers. The chinese ones are wheat and are not meant to be dipped in water but fried. The thai and vietnamese ones are rice stiff and meant to be softened in water and eaten raw. In my area the package just says rice paper nothing about springrolls. Read More
(93)
Rating: 5 stars
03/24/2008
Very easy to make. Found the spring roll wrappers at the grocery store in the organic foods section--they were a lot easier to use than the clear-ish looking rice paper wrappers from the Asian food aisle. Made these for a lunch for a group of people--got excellent reviews. Very fresh taste. Read More
(39)
Rating: 5 stars
04/15/2009
They were amazing I followed the recipe almost to a tee. The only thing I did differently is I put everything in the marinate over night then put them in the wrappers the next day and cooked them in the oven at 350 for 7 minutes. They were delicious. Read More
(34)
Advertisement
Rating: 5 stars
02/18/2009
I made these for a dinner party and everyone loved them! I split the marinade in two and used half (pre-cooked frozen) shrimp and half chicken. I also used arugula instead of watercress (due to availability) - I only needed 5 oz not a whole pound! I kept everything else the same and prepared it exactly as instructed. I was doubtful it was going to all come together but they surprised me! Just do what was the recipe says wrap em tight and dip away! I made everyone wrap their own for fun:-) Will DEFINITELY make again! Read More
(23)
Rating: 5 stars
01/20/2010
I love this recipe and have made it many times. Its so versatile! I have added thinly sliced red pepper which looks great too! I use the smallest size of wrapper and find I can make 2 dozen--perfect for appies! Also tastes great with sweet chili thai sauce for dipping. Read More
(19)
Rating: 5 stars
02/16/2010
These were awesome! I did find that using spring roll wrappers were a little better as they are a little thinner. Someone mentioned that it was odd that these weren't fried. Not all spring rolls are fried and some places called the unfried ones summer rolls they aren't made to be crispy as there are crispy components inside the roll. This is also why this recipe is served with peanut sauce the tradition dipping sauce for the non fried variety. Read More
(15)
Advertisement
Rating: 5 stars
08/05/2009
I found this to be a really good recipe. I used arugula as suggested by another review. I served them as is without cooking because the recipe doesn't mention cooking! My husband didn't care for them at all. The next day I deep fried the leftovers and he loved them. I will put in less bean sprouts next time as the flavor is stronger after frying. Now I will make big batches and freeze them.... Read More
(13)
Rating: 5 stars
06/26/2011
Used Todd's Famous Thai Peanut Sauce (AR recipe) for the chicken filling and served it on the side as well. Had a lot of the watercress mixture left over so I'd cut that in half in the future. Recipe said to mix long slices of the carrot into the watercress mixture but I don't see how that would work for the spring roll filling so I did a coarse shred on the carrot. Same comment on the bean sprouts cut them up a bit. Takes a little bit of practice using the rice spring roll wrappers but although they may not have been pretty they tasted great! Read More
(11)
Rating: 4 stars
01/28/2010
These were delicious! I found it a little strange that the recipe made no mention of frying them at the end. So I made them to see what they'd be like and felt they needed frying or they didn't have that crispyness that spring rolls have! Once I fried them they were wonderful and very easy to make. Read More
(9)