This is an easy slow cooker recipe. This dish ranks as one of my family's favorite Sunday meals. Serve over cooked rice, using sauce as a gravy. My family is picky so I cut the green pepper and celery in larger pieces so I can pick them out before I serve the meal. It doesn't change the flavor, but my kids don't complain about the icky green stuff.

Advertisement

Ingredients

8
Original recipe yields 8 servings
The ingredient list now reflects the servings specified
Ingredient Checklist

Directions

Instructions Checklist
  • Season ribs with salt and pepper to taste. In a large skillet, over medium-high heat, brown ribs on all sides.

    Advertisement
  • Place half of the onion, green pepper, and celery in the bottom of a slow cooker. Place half of the ribs on top the vegetables, then repeat layering with the remaining vegetables and ribs. In a medium bowl, stir together the tomato sauce, brown sugar, vinegar, lemon juice, and Worcestershire sauce. Pour mixture over the top of the ribs.

  • Cover, and cook on High for 1 hour. Reduce to Low, and cook for another 8 to 9 hours.

Partner Tip

Try using a Reynolds® slow cooker liner in your slow cooker for easier cleanup.

Nutrition Facts

441.6 calories; 29.9 g protein; 11.8 g carbohydrates; 119.9 mg cholesterol; 583.5 mg sodium. Full Nutrition

Reviews (52)

Read More Reviews

Most helpful positive review

Rating: 4 stars
01/24/2004
Be sure to trim fat from ribs before browning and cooking. I didn't think to do that and they came out kinda of greasy. Sauce was kind of thin and runnier than I expected but very tasty and easy to make. The meat does just fall apart. Read More
(49)

Most helpful critical review

Rating: 3 stars
11/02/2004
GOOD. I USUALLY BOIL THE SPARE RIBS FIRST POUR TWO BOTTLES OF OUR FAVORITE BARBEQUE SAUCE OVER TOP OF THEM AND SLOW COOK UNTIL THEY FALL APART. WHAT I LIKED ABOUT THIS RECIPE WAS THE GREEN PEPPERS AND ONIONS. I CAN'T SAY WE CARED MUCH FOR THE TOMATO GRAVY. EVERYONE ASKED ME TO GO BACK TO MY ORIGINAL RECIPE ONLY ADD THE VEGGIES. SERVED THE RIBS WITH BAKED POTATOES (WASH POKE HOLES SPRAY TIN FOIL WITH BUTTER SPRAY AND SPRINKLE PRETZEL SALT IN THE BUTTER. WRAP TIN FOIL TIGHTLY AROUND POTATO AND PLACE IN OVEN ON 350 FOR 2 HOURS---YUMMY) AND SALAD. FILLING HALFTIME DINNER! Read More
(77)
71 Ratings
  • 5 star values: 27
  • 4 star values: 20
  • 3 star values: 14
  • 2 star values: 6
  • 1 star values: 4
Rating: 4 stars
01/24/2004
Be sure to trim fat from ribs before browning and cooking. I didn't think to do that and they came out kinda of greasy. Sauce was kind of thin and runnier than I expected but very tasty and easy to make. The meat does just fall apart. Read More
(49)
Rating: 3 stars
11/01/2004
GOOD. I USUALLY BOIL THE SPARE RIBS FIRST POUR TWO BOTTLES OF OUR FAVORITE BARBEQUE SAUCE OVER TOP OF THEM AND SLOW COOK UNTIL THEY FALL APART. WHAT I LIKED ABOUT THIS RECIPE WAS THE GREEN PEPPERS AND ONIONS. I CAN'T SAY WE CARED MUCH FOR THE TOMATO GRAVY. EVERYONE ASKED ME TO GO BACK TO MY ORIGINAL RECIPE ONLY ADD THE VEGGIES. SERVED THE RIBS WITH BAKED POTATOES (WASH POKE HOLES SPRAY TIN FOIL WITH BUTTER SPRAY AND SPRINKLE PRETZEL SALT IN THE BUTTER. WRAP TIN FOIL TIGHTLY AROUND POTATO AND PLACE IN OVEN ON 350 FOR 2 HOURS---YUMMY) AND SALAD. FILLING HALFTIME DINNER! Read More
(77)
Rating: 1 stars
01/26/2004
Oh my goodness. I just wasted 6 lbs of Ribs on this. I suggest a minor adjustment to the amount of vinigar. Like maybe 1 1/2 tbsp.? Read More
(66)
Advertisement
Rating: 4 stars
01/24/2004
Be sure to trim fat from ribs before browning and cooking. I didn't think to do that and they came out kinda of greasy. Sauce was kind of thin and runnier than I expected but very tasty and easy to make. The meat does just fall apart. Read More
(49)
Rating: 3 stars
02/18/2009
i haven't tried this particular recipe (that's the reason for the 2 star rating) but i wanted to share a tip on slow cookers. whenever i have meat(either chicken ribs roast etc) that i want to keep out of grease i wad up pieces of aluminum foil and place in the bottom of the cooker. the meat sits on top of the pieces and cooks great and all the grease goes in the bottom. you might want to spray the foil with cooking spray if you think it might stick to the meat. Read More
(39)
Rating: 4 stars
01/13/2004
I make it the day before and put it in the refrigerator over night. All the fat comes up to the top and I take it off and it is delicious. Also tastes great over egg noodles. Read More
(26)
Advertisement
Rating: 4 stars
07/24/2003
Definitely trim the fat from the ribs! Otherwise your sauce will be too greasy. After 10 hours in the slow-cooker the meat was very tender. I wasn't that impressed with the sauce. It was pretty runny. Next time I think I will strain out the meat and veggies when they are done and put the juice into a saucepan and thicken with some cornstarch. I did like serving it with the rice. Read More
(21)
Rating: 5 stars
05/06/2003
This is a great recipe.... I added a touch of Kraft Barbecue sauce to give a little more taste than just the tomato sauce. My husband loved it and so did I....EASY Read More
(21)
Rating: 4 stars
03/04/2003
My friends and I enjoyed this. However I prefer to cook a batch of cornbread to serve with the ribs. The sauce soaks into the bread and the slight sweetness of the cornbread is a great compliment! Read More
(20)
Rating: 5 stars
04/14/2011
If one reads the author s recipe description then I would not change a thing. It was delicious the meat just fell off the bones and the sauce complemented perfectly the rice I had on the side. I could understand that if you were expecting a thick BBQ sauce as the end result some may have been disappointed. I actually used St Louis Style pork ribs. Having the other half with my wife tonight and can t stop thinking of how good it will be! Read More
(19)