The best chicken salad you may ever eat. Serve with crackers or on bread for a sandwich.

Advertisement

Ingredients

6
Original recipe yields 6 servings
The ingredient list now reflects the servings specified

Directions

  • Whisk together the mayonnaise, yogurt, ginger, lime rind, salt and pepper.

    Advertisement
  • In a mixing bowl, combine the snow peas, chicken, onion and water chestnuts.

  • Pour dressing over salad and mix gently. Cover and refrigerate until chilled.

Nutrition Facts

305 calories; 20.5 g total fat; 65 mg cholesterol; 263 mg sodium. 6.6 g carbohydrates; 22.8 g protein; Full Nutrition


Reviews (9)

Read More Reviews

Most helpful positive review

Rating: 5 stars
07/27/2004
I didn't have vanilla yogurt nor a lime so I substituted lime yogurt instead and it was delicious. Read More
(19)

Most helpful critical review

Rating: 2 stars
07/06/2005
Was Ok. One would think with the snappy ingredients that the flavor would be more bold. Might need more ginger/lime etc. Read More
(15)
13 Ratings
  • 5 star values: 7
  • 4 star values: 4
  • 3 star values: 1
  • 2 star values: 1
  • 1 star values: 0
Rating: 5 stars
07/27/2004
I didn't have vanilla yogurt nor a lime so I substituted lime yogurt instead and it was delicious. Read More
(19)
Rating: 4 stars
12/28/2005
This was pretty good and a nice variation from traditional chicken salad. I did use only a 1/4 cup of yogurt and then added a 1/2 cup of Miracle Whip. The chicken was herb-roasted from the night before and this added a wonderful flavor. I would definitely make this again. I served it in lettuce wraps. Read More
(17)
Rating: 2 stars
07/06/2005
Was Ok. One would think with the snappy ingredients that the flavor would be more bold. Might need more ginger/lime etc. Read More
(15)
Advertisement
Rating: 3 stars
03/12/2005
Mixed reviews at our house: I would recommend using very high-quality yogurt as it is a predominant flavour. The combination and volume of yogurt and mayonnaise can be a bit much for some people but the snow peas and chicken go well together. Read More
(13)
Rating: 4 stars
04/29/2003
Very Good! I used the dressing from another salad in Allrecipes Sesame Pasta Chicken Salad. It is a sweet and sour type dressing. I will definitely fix this again. Read More
(13)
Rating: 5 stars
02/10/2007
Wow this probably IS the best chicken salad I've ever had! I used green onion instead and I used lime juice instead of the zest. I suggest adding a bit more lime if you like; I did and it turned out really nice! Read More
(12)
Advertisement
Rating: 5 stars
09/01/2009
Served to friends for lunch on lettuce along with Panzanella (tomato) Salad from allrecipes.com Big hit. Easy and nutritious. Read More
(6)
Rating: 5 stars
02/21/2015
This was a hit at my house. We added radishes instead of water chestnuts due to them not being available in my area. I used plain yogurt instead of vanilla. The falavours were delicate and fresh. I ended up doubling the ginger and lime zest but it was delicious as written. Just great! Thank you Barrett for your recipe we will be using it often. Read More
(1)
Rating: 4 stars
05/28/2018
This was a nice twist to the traditional chicken salad. I didn't serve it with crackers or on a sandwich. I just had it plain and tossed some crackers in it for an extra crunch. I've used water chestnuts and loved the lime zest for a kick. I do have enough for leftovers since I had half a salad. Read More