107 Ratings
  • 5 star values: 65
  • 4 star values: 28
  • 3 star values: 11
  • 2 star values: 3
  • 1 star values: 0

This chicken curry is made with coconut milk and sweetened with pineapple.

Advertisement

Ingredients

4
Original recipe yields 4 servings
The ingredient list now reflects the servings specified

Directions

  • Cook and stir the curry powder and curry paste in a saucepan over medium-low heat until fragrant, about 2 minutes. Pour the coconut milk into the saucepan and mix well. Stir in the fish sauce, brown sugar, and 1 cup chicken stock.

    Advertisement
  • Place the chicken thighs, peas, peppers, and carrots into the saucepan with the curry sauce. Bring the mixture to a boil over medium-high heat, then reduce the heat to low. Simmer until the chicken is cooked though, about 25 minutes.

  • Whisk together 1 tablespoon of cornstarch with 2 tablespoons of cold chicken stock. Stir cornstarch mixture into the curry. Mix the pineapple into the curry and cook until the sauce thickens, about 5 minutes.

Nutrition Facts

409 calories; 28.4 g total fat; 69 mg cholesterol; 868 mg sodium. 18.3 g carbohydrates; 23.1 g protein; Full Nutrition


Reviews (88)

Read All Reviews

Most helpful positive review

Rating: 5 stars
07/26/2007
I submitted this recipe so keep in mind the rating is biased...unfortunately the editors took out my notes from the original submission but I think there are a couple of things that will help prepare this. 1) Curry paste is a mixture of curry powder ghee lemongrass and other spices. It can be found commercially at places like Amazon or high end grocery stores like Bristol-Farms in San Francisco. Any color/flavor of curry will do as per your preference. They even have variety packs you can get. 2) One can substitute lite coconut milk and it is 60% less calories and fat and tastes the same (also available at places like Amazon). 3) Add 1 tablespoon or more curry paste depending on your spice level desired. 1 T is about low-medium spice. If you over-spice add more brown sugar (this only works to a limiting degree). 4) Prepare and stir in rice or cellophane noodles for added texture. Also can be served over rice or with naan. 5) Mix up the vegetables. Add cubed potatoes beans mushrooms or whatever. Frozen vegetables can easily be added. Read More
(180)

Most helpful critical review

Rating: 2 stars
09/10/2008
I did not care for this. It was way to bland. Unless you got a pineapple in your bite it was completely flavorless. I even added some thai basil and that didn't even help the flavor much. I did as someone else said and used a little less fish sauce and maybe that is some of the problem...but I can't imagine adding that back would do to much. Sorry I will NEVER make this again! Read More
(4)
107 Ratings
  • 5 star values: 65
  • 4 star values: 28
  • 3 star values: 11
  • 2 star values: 3
  • 1 star values: 0
Rating: 5 stars
07/26/2007
I submitted this recipe so keep in mind the rating is biased...unfortunately the editors took out my notes from the original submission but I think there are a couple of things that will help prepare this. 1) Curry paste is a mixture of curry powder ghee lemongrass and other spices. It can be found commercially at places like Amazon or high end grocery stores like Bristol-Farms in San Francisco. Any color/flavor of curry will do as per your preference. They even have variety packs you can get. 2) One can substitute lite coconut milk and it is 60% less calories and fat and tastes the same (also available at places like Amazon). 3) Add 1 tablespoon or more curry paste depending on your spice level desired. 1 T is about low-medium spice. If you over-spice add more brown sugar (this only works to a limiting degree). 4) Prepare and stir in rice or cellophane noodles for added texture. Also can be served over rice or with naan. 5) Mix up the vegetables. Add cubed potatoes beans mushrooms or whatever. Frozen vegetables can easily be added. Read More
(180)
Rating: 5 stars
12/14/2009
Great recipe! Tastes like restaurant curry. It is important to TRIPLE the curry paste and curry powder. I first made it with the recipe proportions and it was bland. To fix the batch I repeated the first step of cooking the paste and powder in a saucepan and just added that to the first batch and the taste was perfect! I used the Thai Kitchen red curry paste. Read More
(32)
Rating: 5 stars
02/10/2008
I LOVE this recipe! I have added straw mushrooms before or substituted chicken for tofu and chickenbroth for vegetable broth. It is still delicious! (when substituting tofu: drain tofu put between paper towels and put weights on top. I usually use canned goods inside of a pan. After an hour cut the tofu into triangles and sprinkle yellow thai curry on both sides. Fry in 2tbls of olive oil and add to the dish when it is in the last 5 minutes of cooking.) Read More
(22)
Advertisement
Rating: 5 stars
03/05/2009
I LOVED LOVED LOVED this - tasted just like when we were in Thailand (or the closest I've come since then anyway). Thank you for sharing! The only change I made was to substitute chicken breasts for the thighs - and I followed the advice above and added an extra tsp of curry paste. AWESOME. I will definitely be making this again! Read More
(9)
Rating: 3 stars
09/08/2011
I'm not sure what kinds of Thai curry some of these 5 star reviewers have had but based on what my mother's Thai friends have made for me this doesn't even come close - lol. That said it's not a bad recipe. Just not the kind of thai curry that I'm used to. It was way too bland for my liking and I don't think I will be making it again. Read More
(8)
Rating: 5 stars
08/14/2007
This was my first attempt with this type of food and I followed the recipe. I will use a bit more paste next time because I prefer med/spicy but this was easy and VERY good! Read More
(8)
Advertisement
Rating: 5 stars
08/13/2008
Very good curry chicken!! Thanks so much for this recipe. Used chicken breasts because that is what I had on hand. I followed the recipe exactly & it was perfect. Served over brown rice. Next time I may leave the pineapple out just because I think it would be just as good without it. Also made Fresh Spring Rolls with Thai Dipping Sauce & Sukhothai Pad Thai from this website. They were good together although it was alot to prepare at once. TRY THIS RECIPE!!! AWESOME! Read More
(6)
Rating: 5 stars
07/17/2008
My husband is a "don't do anything to the meat just leave it alone" kind of guy so whenever I get a thumbs up on a creative recipe it's a keeper! This was great! Didn't have peas subbed fresh mushrooms and topped with cilentro upon serving. Thanks for the great recipe! Read More
(6)
Rating: 5 stars
01/26/2009
Nice mix of spice and sweet...even after I added more...and more green curry paste and powdered curry late in the game. I used bean sprouts brocolli shitake mushrooms green pepper carrot green onion and sweet onion and cabbage I had on hand. I added a little of the juice from the canned pineapple mixed with cornstarch as well as having added the cornstarch per directions. I cooked Orzo to use in lieu of rice. Probably could have added the Orzo when simmering as far as that goes. It was too much work de-fatting the thighs...I'll use boneless skinless thighs next time...or tenders...or breasts. Season to taste is the best idea of course. Read More
(5)