Moist, flavorful chicken with potatoes, onions, bell peppers, and mushrooms cooked on the grill in foil packs, makes clean-up a breeze!

Advertisement

Ingredients

4
Original recipe yields 4 servings
The ingredient list now reflects the servings specified

Directions

  • Preheat an outdoor grill for medium-high heat.

    Advertisement
  • Stir together the vegetable oil, cider vinegar, garlic powder, black pepper, salt, basil, and thyme in a bowl; set aside.

  • Lay out 4 12x12 inch squares of aluminum foil. Place 1 chicken breast in the center of each square, top with potatoes, onions, bell peppers, and mushrooms. Ladle 1/4 of the sauce on each and fold the foil around the ingredients to form four sealed packets.

  • Grill the packets on the preheated grill for 30 to 40 minutes, until the internal temperature of the chicken breasts reaches 170 degrees F (75 degrees C).

Partner Tip

Reynolds® Aluminum foil can be used to keep food moist, cook it evenly, and make clean-up easier.

Nutrition Facts

720 calories; 30.7 g total fat; 65 mg cholesterol; 379 mg sodium. 79 g carbohydrates; 34.5 g protein; Full Nutrition


Reviews (44)

Read More Reviews

Most helpful positive review

Rating: 5 stars
09/01/2008
I wrote a previous review for this recipe saying my hubby & I enjoyed it but still thought it could use more flavor. I made this several times experimenting with the seasonings and made it again for our labor day cookout using Italian seasoning in place of the basil and thyme. Everyone raved over it. I tripled the marinade recipe for 6 chicken breasts putting the breasts in one bag with 1/3rd of the marinade. I nuked the potatoes for a few minutes in the micro because I found on other occasions that everything else was ready and the potato'e were still not cooked. That solved that problem. I added broccoli and fresh mushrooms to the vegetable mixture and put them all in another large plastic bag with a third of the marinade. I let everything marinate for 3-4 hrs then placed all in a large aluminun foil container poured the last of the marinade over all sprinkled with parmesean cheese covered and put it in the fridge until it was time to put it on the grill. 35 min. grilling time was perfect chicken was done and the veggies were still crisp tender. Read More
(114)

Most helpful critical review

Rating: 2 stars
07/27/2007
I will not prepare this again. It was too bland. Read More
(3)
50 Ratings
  • 5 star values: 27
  • 4 star values: 17
  • 3 star values: 5
  • 2 star values: 1
  • 1 star values: 0
Rating: 5 stars
09/01/2008
I wrote a previous review for this recipe saying my hubby & I enjoyed it but still thought it could use more flavor. I made this several times experimenting with the seasonings and made it again for our labor day cookout using Italian seasoning in place of the basil and thyme. Everyone raved over it. I tripled the marinade recipe for 6 chicken breasts putting the breasts in one bag with 1/3rd of the marinade. I nuked the potatoes for a few minutes in the micro because I found on other occasions that everything else was ready and the potato'e were still not cooked. That solved that problem. I added broccoli and fresh mushrooms to the vegetable mixture and put them all in another large plastic bag with a third of the marinade. I let everything marinate for 3-4 hrs then placed all in a large aluminun foil container poured the last of the marinade over all sprinkled with parmesean cheese covered and put it in the fridge until it was time to put it on the grill. 35 min. grilling time was perfect chicken was done and the veggies were still crisp tender. Read More
(114)
Rating: 4 stars
06/22/2007
We made this last night -- first time I've cooked an unreviewed recipe. I gave this four stars for flavor but think if I made it again I would double the seasoning. The packets were good but not quite seasoned enough. Great flavor and our boys appreciated how eas it was to clean up! Read More
(31)
Rating: 4 stars
07/03/2007
one of the first dishes that I made from this website after looking for something new that was quick and easy on the grill which this was both! After reading the other reviews I did make a minor change. Instead of putting the chicken breast right onto the foil I first dipped it in the mixture stabbing it a few times with a fork to get the flavoring inside the chicken as well. This worked out WONDERFULLY well creating a flavorful and moist chicken. This is definately something that will be made again and again. I can't wait to share it with friends. Read More
(29)
Advertisement
Rating: 4 stars
04/19/2011
YUM!! The chicken was amazing! After reading tons of reviews here's what i did: I used red wine vinegar instead of cider vinegar because thats all I had and I used Italian seasoning instead of the basil and thyme. I poked some holes in the chicken and soaked it in the marinade as another person suggested (I can't imagine making this without doing this) I also put the potatoes in the microwave for a couple minutes as someone else suggested. The potatoes still didn't cook all the way and the veggies were way overcooked...but the chicken turned out GREAT! So next time I think i'll cook the potatoes in a seperate foil pack; making sure they cook all the way. And i'll add the veggies halfway through cooking the chicken. Read More
(16)
Rating: 4 stars
07/12/2010
I made this for dinner last night and my family loved it! A few variations I made: 1. I used a bottled garlic & herb marinade instead of the suggested oil vinegar spices to marinate the chicken 2. I substituted chicken breasts for 2 chicken drumsticks (skin removed) 3. I chose fresh yellow summer squash zucchini small red potatoes sweet vidalia onions yellow and red bell peppers 4. I spooned a little of the marinade over the top of the chicken/veggies then seasoned with garlic salt freshly ground pepper and topped with fresh basil 5. I double wrapped each packet in heavy duty foil to keep all the juices in 6. Grilled the packets for 40 mins turning often Chicken and veggies were cooked perfectly and delicious! Read More
(15)
Rating: 5 stars
08/21/2007
I made this camping. It was a hit with everyone including the little ones and clean up was so nice!! I used white wine instead of vinegar (not a big vinegar fan) and herbs de provence instead of the herbs listed. What a keeper! Read More
(12)
Advertisement
Rating: 5 stars
05/19/2008
This is AMESOME!!!! I change something to fit what I had in the Kitchen: instead of cider vinager i used soy sauce adn instead of thyme i added a little bit of parsley. My husband and I both agreed that we could easliy eat this over and over again! I can not wait to try this tomorrow with turkey breats!! I HIGHLY recomend! Great Recipe Read More
(12)
Rating: 3 stars
07/01/2007
I really want to make this recipe work because I like so many things about it--one dish meal healthy easy cooking and clean-up. I increased the spices as others suggested but that only benefited the vegetables. If I try this recipe again I will ladle some sauce on the meat then add the vegetables and ladle on some more sauce. The vegetables were very good but the chicken was very plain and for some reason dry. I don't know what I did wrong but the chicken was not as moist as I expected it to be. I left them on the full 40 minutes because the chicken breasts were kind of thick. Must have been too long but the potatoes were just done and some weren't thoroughly cooked. However I do think the recipe has potential and that's why I gave it three stars. Read More
(11)
Rating: 4 stars
06/29/2007
Very easy and great for summer. The only change I would make is that I would double the seasoning. The flavor was great. Read More
(9)