227 Ratings
  • 5 Rating Star 155
  • 4 Rating Star 54
  • 3 Rating Star 15
  • 2 Rating Star 2
  • 1 Rating Star 1

This spinach mushroom quiche is fast and easy, thanks to the crescent roll crust and soup mix 'spice packet'.

prep:
25 mins
cook:
30 mins
total:
55 mins
Servings:
6
Max Servings:
6
Advertisement

Ingredients

Directions

  • Preheat oven to 375 degrees F (190 degrees C).

  • Melt margarine in a skillet over medium heat and cook mushrooms, spinach and onions for 5 minutes or until tender, stir continuously. Remove the skillet from heat.

  • In a 9 inch round pan or pie plate coated with non-stick cooking spray arrange crescent roll triangles in a circle, with narrow tips hung over the rim of the pie plate about 2 inches. Press dough onto the bottom and side of the pie plate to fill in any gaps.

  • In a medium bowl stir together the soup mix, half and half cream and eggs. Stir the cheese and cooked vegetables into the egg mixture until blended. Pour into the prepared crust. Fold the points of dough that are hanging over the edge back in over the filling.

  • Bake the quiche for 30 minutes in the preheated oven, or until a knife inserted into the center comes out clean.

Tip

Aluminum foil can be used to keep food moist, cook it evenly, and make clean-up easier.

Nutrition Facts

342.75 calories; 14.97 g protein; 22.77 g carbohydrates; 2.61 g dietary-fiber; 2.3 g sugars; 21.54 g fat; 12.25 g saturated-fat; 177.07 mg cholesterol; 1584.09 IU vitamin-a-iu; 4.26 mg niacin-equivalents; 0.12 mg vitamin-b6; 6.3 mg vitamin-c; 52.54 mcg folate; 226.76 mg calcium; 2.27 mg iron; 24.2 mg magnesium; 258.67 mg potassium; 704.83 mg sodium; 0.07 mg thiamin; 193.89 calories-from-fat; 26 percent-of-calories-from-carbs; 56 percent-of-calories-from-fat; 17 percent-of-calories-from-protein; 31 percent-of-calories-from-sat-fat


Reviews (169)

Read All Reviews

Most helpful positive review

Anonymous
07/21/2003
This quiche came out great. We made some substitutions though. We couldn't find the packaged "herb and lemon soup mix" called for in the recipe so we substituted spices from another quiche recipe (1/2 tsp salt black pepper a pinch of thyme 1/2 tsp. dry mustard and top with paprika).
(139)

Most helpful critical review

Anonymous
03/10/2006
This was a very easy recipe. I liked the idea of using the crescent rolls for the pie crust. But the soup mix was definitely too much. Next time I will use a traditional recipe with regular spices. The soup mix made it too strong and both my husband and I could "taste it the rest of the day" if you get my drift.
(2)
227 Ratings
  • 5 Rating Star 155
  • 4 Rating Star 54
  • 3 Rating Star 15
  • 2 Rating Star 2
  • 1 Rating Star 1
Anonymous
07/21/2003
This quiche came out great. We made some substitutions though. We couldn't find the packaged "herb and lemon soup mix" called for in the recipe so we substituted spices from another quiche recipe (1/2 tsp salt black pepper a pinch of thyme 1/2 tsp. dry mustard and top with paprika).
(139)
Anonymous
02/13/2004
Very good! I omitted the crust and baked them in muffin tins to make 16 mini quiches. They make great leftovers and are easy to take in to work or travel with. Spray with cooking spray and bake about 30 minutes. I've made this recipe with the crescent roll crust before and liked it but it did not make good leftovers because the crescent rolls got a bit soggy.
(102)
Anonymous
02/01/2007
Excellent! My first quiche. Turned out perfectly. Made it for a date with a picky vegetarian and she had seconds and asked to take some leftovers. A couple of notes - used a 9.5in. pie plate and needed 1.5 packs of crescent rolls to cover it. Sauted in olive oil instead of butter. Added a hand full more spinach while sauteing as it reduced considerably. Had to bake it for 45 minutes covered edges of crust with tinfoil after 30 to keep from burning. Turned out perfectly browned and set in the middle. Put a thin layer of the cheese in the bottom over the crust before pouring in the filling. Used about 1/3 of a 1.5oz pack of Knorr garlic and herb seasoning. Could maybe use a little less. Let it cool at least 10 minutes before serving. Very hot in the middle.
(85)
Anonymous
04/26/2003
This was a big hit for Father's Day brunch at our house. Hubby finished the leftovers all by himself!:-) Like several others I used the Lipton Savory Herb soup mix but I only used 2-3 teaspoons of the packet based on others' notes that the entire packet could be too much. This was perfect for our taste. I used baby Portobello mushrooms...quite good. Had to play with the crescent rolls a bit(like others) to get the crust laid out properly and in retrospect would have used the small can (not the "Grands" version) of the crescent rolls--I had quite a bit of excess dough. Our particular dish needed to cook almost 50 minutes to set properly in the middle but it turned out quite well. Reheats well too. Thanks Mindy!
(40)
Anonymous
07/21/2003
I added artichoke hearts and I sprinkled Feta cheese on top. Wonderfull!!! The cresent roll crust compliments the quiche very well! I did have to bake it for about 40min. you can tell it's done when it wont jiggle anymore. Great recipie!
(40)
Anonymous
10/07/2002
WOW! This is one great recipe! I used Garlic/lemon sauce mix since I couldnt fine the lemon herb it called for. The crescent roll dough is a great idea... I have been looking for a good quiche recipe...I will be making this alot!
(37)
Anonymous
11/14/2003
Excellent quiche recipe that I will make again. Not too keen on the crescent rolls but the filling taste wonderful and I will find a substitute for shell.
(28)
Anonymous
09/29/2003
This recipe was fabulous!!! I had a get together with my girlfriends and thought I would make a quiche to munch on. Everyone loved it I even had to give out the recipe. I will definately be adding this recipe to my box - I have a bridal shower coming up and will make it for that occasion as well.
(24)
Anonymous
07/18/2003
I thought this was a great recipe...easy to make. My husband wasn't a big fan of the crescent roll crust but I thought it was good! Next time I will make it with a pie crust instead.
(23)