I usually make this as an appetizer. Always a hit. It's so easy and quick. Great for potluck, although it's never enough!

Gallery

Recipe Summary

prep:
20 mins
cook:
1 hr 40 mins
total:
2 hrs
Servings:
4
Yield:
4 servings
Advertisement

Ingredients

4
Original recipe yields 4 servings
The ingredient list now reflects the servings specified
Ingredient Checklist

Directions

Instructions Checklist
  • Preheat oven to 325 degrees F (165 degrees C). Line a baking sheet with aluminum foil and spray lightly with cooking spray.

    Advertisement
  • Bring the rice vinegar, soy sauce, sugar, and ginger slices to a simmer over medium-high heat.

  • Meanwhile, place rib pieces into a large bowl, and season to taste with garlic salt and pepper. Toss with a little flour to coat, then toss with ginger sauce. Place ribs onto prepared baking sheet in an even layer.

  • Bake in preheated oven for 45 minutes, then turn ribs over, and bake an additional 45 minutes, until tender. Sprinkle with sesame seeds to serve.

Nutrition Facts

777 calories; protein 46.7g; carbohydrates 34.6g; fat 49.7g; cholesterol 180.1mg; sodium 1124.1mg. Full Nutrition
Advertisement

Reviews (21)

Read More Reviews

Most helpful positive review

Rating: 5 stars
01/01/2007
These ribs should be renamed OhYes spareribs. Made these last night for New Years Eve dinner along with a baked potato & crab salad just wonderful. The only thing I did different was to loosely cover the ribs with foil the first 45 minutes of cooking. I used the left over drippings to drizzle over ribs. This recipe is a KEEPER! Thank you Luz2bake Read More
(25)

Most helpful critical review

Rating: 1 stars
07/07/2008
My husband made these tonight & he said the sauce smelled great when preparing but we both agree it didn't follow onto the ribs. It was real blah. I ended up putting some BBQ sauce on my meat to add flavor. Read More
(3)
26 Ratings
  • 5 star values: 19
  • 4 star values: 3
  • 3 star values: 1
  • 2 star values: 2
  • 1 star values: 1
Rating: 5 stars
01/01/2007
These ribs should be renamed OhYes spareribs. Made these last night for New Years Eve dinner along with a baked potato & crab salad just wonderful. The only thing I did different was to loosely cover the ribs with foil the first 45 minutes of cooking. I used the left over drippings to drizzle over ribs. This recipe is a KEEPER! Thank you Luz2bake Read More
(25)
Rating: 5 stars
05/25/2011
Used this recipe for chicken thighs. It is super. Had some left over that I thinned down a bit and used as a sandwich condiment. Read More
(15)
Rating: 5 stars
01/05/2008
Very good. A nice alternative to regular BBQ. Sticky sweet and tart. The sauce is delicious. I shaved the ginger and used more than called for because I love ginger - so good! In my oven next time I will cook at a lower temp for longer. Cook only the amount that will be eaten. While very delicious hot and fresh these are terrible reheated the next day. Read More
(13)
Advertisement
Rating: 5 stars
06/15/2007
I just have to add and laugh ono in Hawaii means delicious. But yes it is a yes. These are a no brainer yummy treat. If you want to make it for a meal I buy whatever sparerib I have (I'm not in Hawaii and the small sizes aren't as available) and just cook a little longer if it is a larger piece. Read More
(8)
Rating: 5 stars
01/02/2007
I agree with Luv2Bake. These are definitely a great addition to any New Years Eve Party or appetizer buffet.I served extra sauce on the side. Nothing but rave reviews from my guests. Read More
(8)
Rating: 5 stars
10/18/2011
Excellent! I used 1.5 pound of pork spareribs (just the two of us tonight). Instead of garlic salt I used two fresh garlic cloves chopped and grated the ginger as well. I heated up the sauce then poured it over the ribs to bake at 325 degrees. I covered the baking pan with foil tightly the first 45 minutes then turned it over to the other side for another 45 minutes. There was a wonderful aroma filling up my house while the ribs were baking. I sprinkled the ribs with toasted sesame seeds before serving. The meat was tender not tough and full of flavor. The sauce itself has a nice balance of slight sweetness with subtle tang in each bite. The sauce also baked right into the meat making it so savory juicy sticky sweet and finger licking ONOlicious! I did not want to waste the sauce so I reserved it to pour over the ribs and rice. I served with Green Bean and Mushroom Medley also from this site. Read More
(7)
Advertisement
Rating: 5 stars
07/26/2007
Excellent. Asked the butcher to cut the spareribs twice for bite-size pieces. Perfect - definitely a keeper! So easy too! Read More
(5)
Rating: 5 stars
09/21/2010
Delicious. Used regular baby back ribs - didn't change a thing except for cooking time of 325 for one hour each side. A great change from the bbq ribs. It was a hit. Read More
(5)
Rating: 5 stars
06/25/2007
These were delicious! I was confused about "bite size" spare ribs...maybe they're available in Hawaii like one reviewer mentioned. I used regular spare ribs and they were great! Read More
(4)
Rating: 1 stars
07/07/2008
My husband made these tonight & he said the sauce smelled great when preparing but we both agree it didn't follow onto the ribs. It was real blah. I ended up putting some BBQ sauce on my meat to add flavor. Read More
(3)
Advertisement